Montpellier sandstone

Grés de Montpellier vineyard
Grés de Montpellier vineyard
  • Wine Region : Languedoc
  • AOC / AOP: Languedoc - Grés de Montpellier.
  • Winemaking: Red wine.
  • Main grape varieties: Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre.
  • Secondary grape varieties: Cinsault, Carignan.

Location

Classified as AOP since 2003, the appellation Languedoc - Sandstone from Montpellier brings together the vineyards peripheral to the Montpellier agglomeration. Westward it extends to the northern tip of theThau pond where it finds its border with the vineyards of Pinet Popsicle. To the east, it runs from the suburbs of Montpellier to the Vidourle valley. To the south, the Mediterranean forms the horizon while the lands of Pic Saint Loup establish the northern limit. Singularity of Montpellier sandstone, the terroir also includes four other denominations of Languedoc : La Méjanelle, Saint-Christol, Saint-Drezery, Saint-Georges-d'Orques. This inclusion is explained by the extent of the appellation which stretches over a coastal strip of nearly 60 kilometers along the Mediterranean. If some alluvial variations qualify the geology of the vineyard, their common origin resulting from the work of the rivers and the sea consolidated by the climatic coherence prove to be determining of the homogeneity of the wines.

History, climate, terroir

A land suitable for vines since the Roman period, wine production has flourished around the domitian way and Roman port of Lattara. The medieval period, supported by the monastic activity of the abbeys of Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone then of Valmagne, participated in consolidating the sustainable establishment of the vineyard. The Mediterranean climate, regulated by sea winds in the south but protected from the cold by the screen of the Cévennes in the north, contributes favorably to the maturation cycle. In Languedoc, the notion of " sandstone »Describes a stony ground. Forged by the proximity of the Rhône delta, the alluvial terraces where the vineyard takes root are characterized by the density of limestone shards and layers of rolled pebbles that cover the soil. The appellation Montpellier sandstone being reserved for red wines, Grenache, Syrah and Mourvèdre are dominant, intended to be blended at least in pairs to the tune of 70%. Cinsault and Carignan can complete the profile of the cuvées. Favoring a balance between fruits and spices, but of typically southern stature, the wines of Montpellier sandstone are also characterized by their amplitude and silky tannins.

video logo The Grés de Montpellier vineyard

Alexandre thouroude, director of the appellation from 2018 to 2020, explains in three key points the determinants that forge the reputation of the vineyard: its history neighborhoods, are the climate, its stony soils called in sandstone in Occitan.

Where to find Grés de Montpellier wines?

Domaines Paul Mas - Clos Astelia

Domains Paul Mas

At the head of Domaines Paul Mas stands an inspired man: Jean-Claude Mas. Revealer of terroirs, master in...
Read more…
Château Haut-Blanville - Sandstone of Montpellier

Chateau Haut-Blanville

Invested in the Languedoc "Grés de Montpellier" and Languedoc "Pézenas" appellations, Château Haut-Blanville is characterized by a parcel-based approach ...
Read more…

French FR English EN

Grés de Montpellier

Vignoble des Grés de Montpellier
Vignoble des Grés de Montpellier

Situation géographique

Classés en AOP depuis 2003, l’appellation Languedoc – Grés de Montpellier regroupe les vignobles périphériques à l’agglomération montpelliéraine. Vers l’ouest elle s’étend jusqu’à la pointe nord de l’étang de Thau où elle trouve frontière avec les vignobles du Picpoul de Pinet. À l’est, elle court depuis les faubourgs de Montpellier jusqu’à la vallée de la Vidourle. Au sud, la Méditerranée en forme l’horizon tandis que les terres du Pic Saint Loup établissent la limite nord. Singularité des Grés de Montpellier, le terroir englobe également quatre autres dénominations du Languedoc : La Méjanelle, Saint-Christol, Saint-Drezery, Saint-Georges-d’Orques. Cette inclusion s’explique par l’étendue de l’appellation qui s’étire sur une bande côtière de près de 60 kilomètres le long de la Méditerranée. Si quelques variations sur la nature alluvionnaire des sols peut s’y constater, leur origine commune issue du travail des fleuves et de la mer reste garante d’une grande homogénéité des vins.

Histoire, climat, terroir

Terroir propice à la vigne dès la période romaine, la production viticole a trouvé son essor autour de la voie domitienne et du port romain de Lattara. L’époque médiévale, soutenue par l’activité monastique des abbayes de Villeneuve-lès-Maguelone puis de Valmagne, a participé à consolider l’implantation durable de la vigne. Le climat méditerranéen, régulé par les vents marins au sud mais protégé des froideurs par l’écran des Cévennes au nord, contribue favorablement au cycle des maturations. En Languedoc, la notion de « grés » qualifie une terre caillouteuse. Forgées par la proximité du delta du Rhône, les terrasses alluviales où s’enracine le vignoble se caractérisent par la densité des éclats calcaires et les nappes de galets roulés qui recouvrent les sols. L’appellation Grés de Montpellier étant réservée aux rouges, Grenache, Syrah et Mourvèdre s’y trouvent dominants, destinés à être assemblés au moins par deux à hauteur de 70 %. Cinsault et Carignan peuvent compléter le profil des cuvées. Privilégiant équilibre entre fruits et épices, mais de stature typiquement méridionale, les vins des Grés de Montpellier se caractérisent également par leur amplitude et leurs tanins soyeux.

logo video Le vignoble des Grés de Montepellier

Alexandre Thouroude, directeur de l’appellation, expose en trois points clés les déterminants qui forgent la réputation du vignoble : son histoire, son climat, ses sols caillouteux appelés en grés en occitan.

Domaines en vitrine

Vignerons des Grés de Montpellier

Château Haut-Blanville - Grés de Montpellier

Château Haut-Blanville

Investi sur les appellations Grés de Montpellier et Pézenas, le Château Haut-Blanville se caractérise par une approche parcellaire du vignoble ...
Lire La Suite…