Domains Paul Mas

AOC LimouxWines of MinervoisAOP LanguedocRoussillon wines


At the head of Domains Paul Mas stands an inspired man: Jean Claude Mas. Revealer of terroirs, master in assembling wines, he is today one of the major figures of the wine revival in Languedoc-Roussillon.


Jean-Claude Mas: tirelessly prospecting

It is with his father, Paul Mas, what Jean Claude Mas has forged its acute sense of the terroir. The lines of force of his knowledge take root in his childhood close to the earth. With him, any decision draws its determination from the intuition and inspiration aroused by each unique encounter with the Languedoc and Catalan lands. Because Jean-Claude Mas is a prospector of terroirs. Between Cévennes and Montagne Noire in the north, Pyrenees in the south, he tirelessly surveys the territory of this great vineyard spread all around the Gulf of Lion. His universe is declined in the plural: it is that of Domains Paul Mas. Who says domains says so many vineyards established in the most remarkable appellations of Languedoc and Roussillon. They are just a few like him who work steadily to reveal the terroirs. Among these, he ranks narrowly among the very first. Because the Domains Paul Mas do not bring together far from fifteen estates, enclosures and castles.

Domaines Paul Mas: shine widely

To grasp the spirit of man presupposes first of all knowing the historical domain from which the enterprise of Domains Paul Mas deployed. The core of family history is the Chateau Paul Mas, located in the hamlet of Conas, near Pézenas. Not far from this first domain from which the initial impulse emanates is the Clos Astelia. Established between Montagnac and Villeveyrac, the site chosen as the company's stronghold since 2014 is also the perfect demonstration of a key concept dear to Jean-Claude Mas: that of Rural Luxury. From this unifying center where the spirit of the house is perpetuated, radiate the links to all the Domains Paul Mas. The enumeration of a few is expressed as an inventory à la Prévert which is also a poetry of the soil:

  • Chateau Lauriga, at the foot of Canigou, in Roussillon ;
  • Chateau Jeremiah, on the mineral lands of Corbieres ;
  • Chateau Martinolles, on the effervescent terroir of Limoux ;
  • Chateau Villegly, notorious site of Minervois ; Domaine de la Ferrandiere, where the vines thrive on saline lands;
  • Chateau Oustau Saint André, intimate of Costières de Nîmes;
  • Castle of Crès Ricards, sitting on the Terraces of Larzac ;
  • Domain of Silenus, typical of Montpellier sandstone ;
  • Chateau Mas des Tannes, closely linked to the old wine abbey of Valmagne;
  • Clos Astelia, core of family history.

Côté Mas: to share luxuriously

Every creative winegrower builds his work by distinguishing his relationship to the vine and to the terroirs by a singular signature. For Jean Claude Mas a master slogan sums up the spirit: the Rural Luxury. From this concept was born a brand which unites its expression. Designed as a showcase for the productions and heritage of Domains Paul Mas her name is Mas side. Like the big ones ancient estates who were pioneers of wine luxuriance in Languedoc, Mas side brings together a gourmet restaurant, a tasting cellar and a shop on the Montagnac site. Because the motivation of the winemaker is reflected in the first place by the promotion and mastery of an art of living which elevates rurality to the rank of a luxury. This Rural Luxury is above all driven by a passion for wine where the main beam of Domains Paul Mas is based on the mastery of assemblies. Because if he is a unifier of terroirs, Jean-Claude Mas also stands out as an assembler of great wines whose demanding inspiration was forged from the great Italian oenologist. Giorgio Grai. It is therefore understandable that the production of Domains Paul Mas strives to raise wines from the most famous terroirs of Languedoc and Roussillon to their highest potential.

Domains Paul Mas

Villeveyrac road
34530 Montagnac

phone 04 67 90 16 10

French FR English EN

Domaines Paul Mas

AOC LimouxVins du MinervoisAOP LanguedocVins du Roussillon


À la tête des Domaines Paul Mas se tient un homme inspiré : Jean-Claude Mas. Révélateur de terroirs, maître en assemblage de vins, il est aujourd’hui l’une des figures majeures du renouveau viticole en Languedoc-Roussillon.


Jean-Claude Mas : prospecter inlassablement

C’est auprès de son père, Paul Mas, que Jean-Claude Mas a forgé son sens aiguë du terroir. À son enfance proche de la terre prennent racines les lignes de force de son savoir. Chez lui, toute décision puise sa détermination dans l’intuition et l’inspiration qu’éveillent chaque rencontre singulière avec les terres languedociennes et catalanes. Car Jean-Claude Mas est un prospecteur de terroirs. Entre Cévennes et Montagne Noire au nord, Pyrénées au sud, il arpente inlassablement le territoire de ce grand vignoble déployé tout autour du Golfe du Lion. Son univers se décline au pluriel : il est celui des Domaines Paul Mas. Qui dit domaines dit autant de vignobles implantés dans les plus remarquables appellations du Languedoc et du Roussillon. Ils ne sont que quelques-uns comme lui qui œuvrent avec constance à la révélation des terroirs. Parmi ceux-là, il compte au rang étroit des tout premiers. Car les Domaines Paul Mas ne rassemblent pas loin d’une quinzaine de domaines, clos et châteaux.

Domaines Paul Mas : rayonner largement

Saisir l’esprit de l’homme suppose d’abord de connaître le domaine historique à partir duquel l’entreprise des Domaines Paul Mas s’est déployée. Le noyau de l’histoire familiale c’est le Château Paul Mas, situé sur le hameau de Conas, près de Pézenas. Non loin de ce premier domaine d’où émane l’impulsion initiale se trouve le Clos Astélia. Établi entre Montagnac et Villeveyrac, le site choisi comme fief de l’entreprise depuis 2014 est aussi la parfaite démonstration d’un concept-clé cher à Jean-Claude Mas : celui du Luxe Rural. À partir de ce centre fédérateur où se perpétue l’esprit de la maison, rayonnent les liens vers l’ensemble des Domaines Paul Mas. L’énumération de quelques-uns s’énonce comme un inventaire à la Prévert qui est aussi une poésie du terroir :

  • Château Lauriga, au pied du Canigou, en Roussillon ;
  • Château Jérémie, sur les terres minérales des Corbières ;
  • Château Martinolles, sur le terroir effervescent de Limoux ;
  • Château Villegly, site notoire du Minervois ; Domaine de la Ferrandière, où les vignes prospèrent sur des terres salines ;
  • Château Oustau Saint André, intime des Costières de Nîmes ;
  • Château des Crès Ricards, assis sur les Terrasses du Larzac ;
  • Domaine du Silène, typique des Grés de Montpellier ;
  • Château Mas des Tannes, étroitement lié à l’ancienne Abbaye viticole de Valmagne ;
  • Clos Astélia, noyau de l’histoire familiale.

Côté Mas : partager luxueusement

Tout vigneron créateur construit son œuvre en distinguant son rapport à la vigne et aux terroirs par une signature singulière. Pour Jean-Claude Mas un slogan maître en résume l’esprit : le Luxe Rural. De ce concept est née une marque qui en fédère l’expression. Conçue comme une vitrine des productions et du patrimoine des Domaines Paul Mas elle s’intitule Côté Mas. À l’instar des grands domaines antiques qui furent pionniers de la luxuriance viticole en Languedoc, Côté Mas regroupe sur le site de Montagnac un restaurant gastronomique, une cave de dégustation et une boutique. Car la motivation du vigneron se traduit en premier lieu par la promotion et la maîtrise d’un art de vivre qui élève la ruralité au rang d’un luxe. Ce Luxe Rural est avant tout porté par une passion du vin où la poutre maîtresse des Domaines Paul Mas repose sur la maîtrise des assemblages. Car s’il est un rassembleur de terroirs, Jean-Claude Mas s’impose aussi comme un assembleur de grands vins dont l’exigeante inspiration s’est forgée auprès du grand œnologue italien Giorgio Grai. Il se comprend dès lors que la production des Domaines Paul Mas s’attache à élever jusqu’à leur plus haut potentiel les vins issus des plus fameux terroirs du Languedoc et du Roussillon.

Domaines Paul Mas

Route de villeveyrac
34530 Montagnac

telephone 04 67 90 16 10

French FR English EN