Chateau Haut-Blanville

High Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Invested in appellations Languedoc “Grés de Montpellier” et Languedoc “Pezenas”, Chateau Haut-Blanville is characterized by a plot-based approach to the vineyard where each wine applies to express the mineral qualities of the terroir that saw its birth.


A Mediterranean terroir

Le Chateau Haut-Blanville is a family estate founded in 1997 by Béatrice and Bernard Nivollet, recently joined by their daughters Charlotte and Margaux. The vineyard is established on the territory of Saint Pargoire, located west of Montpellier and north of the Etang de Thau. The context announces a typical Mediterranean climate where the proximity of the coastal zone makes the maritime influences dominant. To the north of the appellation stand the foothills of the Terraces of Larzac which act as a barrier to cool winds. The terroir is that of Montpellier sandstone whose name inherited from Occitan refers to predominantly stony soils. A plot established on theAOP Pezenas completes the wine heritage. In fact, on these lowland vineyards, the average temperature is higher than other Languedoc appellations. The ripening of the berries is precocious. They announce wines with a dense profile, endowed with structured tannins which are accompanied by a minerality typical of these soils of sandstone.

Burgundian inspiration

When the Nivollet family acquired the Chateau Haut-Blanville, she imported in Languedoc an approach of the soil inspired by its Burgundian culture. More precisely, it is the principle of the division into climates which prevailed. The vineyard was thus formed by the progressive acquisition of selected plots, giving rise to Mono-plots of Blanville. Five terroirs classified as AOP characterize the estate: Old railway, legends, Charms, Las Combes et peyrals. Behind this simple enumeration already prefigures the profile of wines expressing the uniqueness of each land. The grape varieties themselves come from selections adapted to the individual character of the plots. Their palette is typically Languedoc, dominated by Syrah, Mourvèdre, Grenache and Carignan for the reds, supplemented by Grenache, Marsanne, Roussane, Sauvignon, Rolle (or Vermentino) and Viognier for the whites.

Plot-based cuvées

The Blanville wines are the result of an intimate link woven between terroirs and grape varieties. In strict logic, the cuvées are distinguished according to their plot origin. From the land of peyrals are coming Fullness in Grenache noir or Whispers in majority Syrah while Poets introduced a Mourvèdre version. The Old railway generates the cuvée 1955, also honoring Syrah. Calypso is born from the terroir of Charms of which it also values ​​Syrah here, alongside Black Pearl which is dedicated to Cabernet Sauvignon. Time for each of these reds is a major ally: in Montpellier sandstone breeding requires a minimum patience of one year. AT Chateau Haut-Blanville, where new barrels are often required, aging in the cellar can take two to three years. Expressive of another face of the vineyard of High Blanville, the whites from plot vinification are also present. From the terroir of legends comes from a white wine from Viognier named Garden of Legends. From Charms, the reunion of Viognier, Chardonnay, Marsanne and Roussanne gives substance to Albisson Gardens. As to Garden of Eden, these are Grenache blanc and Roussanne from Old railway which builds the aromatic spirit. In red as in white, the choice of juices is a determining act of the profile of each wine. Fruits of rigorous selections for the definition of plot cuvées, they are also assembled in Blends. They thus open up other perspectives on the wealth of resources offered by the terroirs of Blanville.

YouTube video logo Blanville wines on video

Prev 1 of 1 NEXT
Prev 1 of 1 NEXT

Blanville wines

Chateau Haut-Blanville
Road to Gignac
34230 Saint-Pargoire

French FR English EN

Château Haut-Blanville

AOP Grés de Montpellier

Investi sur les appellations Grés de Montpellier et Pézenas, le Château Haut-Blanville se caractérise par une approche parcellaire du vignoble où chaque vin s’applique à exprimer les qualités minérales du terroir qui l’a vu naître.


Un terroir méditerranéen

Le Château Haut-Blanville est un domaine familial fondé en 1997 par Béatrice et Bernard Nivollet, rejoints récemment par leur fille Margaux. Le vignoble est établi sur les terres de Saint Pargoire, situé à l’ouest de Montpellier et au nord de l’étang de Thau. Le contexte annonce un climat typiquement méditerranéen où la proximité de la zone côtière rend dominantes les influences maritimes. Au nord de l’appellation se dressent les contreforts des Terrasses du Larzac qui font barrière aux vents frais. Le terroir est celui des Grés de Montpellier dont le nom hérité de l’Occitan désigne des sols à dominante caillouteuse. Une parcelle établie sur l’AOP Pézenas complète l’ensemble. De fait, sur ces vignobles de plaine, la température moyenne se révèle supérieure aux autres appellations du Languedoc. Les maturations des baies font preuve de précocité. Elles annoncent des vins au profil dense, dotés de tanins structurés qui s’accompagnent d’une minéralité typique de ces sols de grés.

Une inspiration bourguignonne

Lorsque la famille Nivollet a fait l’acquisition du Château Haut-Blanville, elle a importé en Languedoc une approche du terroir inspirée de sa culture bourguignonne. Plus précisément, c’est le principe du découpage en climats qui a prévalu. Le vignoble s’est ainsi constitué par l’acquisition progressive de parcelles sélectionnées, donnant naissance aux Mono-parcellaires de Blanville. Cinq terroirs classés en AOP caractérisent le domaine : le Vieux Chemin de Fer, les Légendes, les Charmes, Las Combes et Peyrals. Derrière cette simple énumération se préfigure déjà le profil de vins venant exprimer la singularité de chaque terre. L’encépagement lui-même relève de sélections adaptées au caractère individuel des parcelles. Leur palette est typiquement languedocienne où dominent les Syrah, Mourvèdre, Grenache et Carignan pour les rouges, complétés par les Grenache, Marsanne, Roussane, Sauvignon, Vermentino ou Viognier pour les blancs.

Des cuvées parcellaires

Les vins de Haut-Blanville sont le fruit d’un lien intime tissé entre terroir et cépage. En stricte logique les cuvées se distinguent selon leur provenance parcellaire. Du terroir de Peyrals viennent Plénitude en Grenache noir ou Murmures en Syrah majoritaire tandis que Poètes introduit une version Mourvèdre. Le Vieux Chemin de Fer engendre la cuvée 1955, faisant également honneur à la Syrah. Calypso naît du terroir des Charmes dont elle valorise ici aussi la Syrah, côtoyée de Perle Noire qui se dédie au Cabernet Sauvignon. Le temps pour chacun de ces rouges est un allié de taille : en Grés de Montpellier les élevages imposent une patience d’un an minimum. À Château Haut-Blanville, où la barrique neuve est souvent de mise, l’affinage au chai peut compter deux à trois ans. Expressifs d’un autre visage du vignoble de Haut Blanville, les blancs issus de vinification parcellaires sont également présents. Du terroir des Légendes provient un blanc de Viognier baptisé Jardin des Légendes. Issus des Charmes, la réunion des Viognier, Chardonnay, Marsanne et Roussanne donne corps aux Jardins d’Albisson. Quant au Jardin d’Éden, ce sont le Grenache blanc et la Roussanne du Vieux Chemin de Fer qui en construise l’esprit aromatique. En rouge comme en blanc, le choix des jus est un acte déterminant du profil de chaque vin. Fruits de sélections rigoureuses pour la définition des cuvées parcellaires, ils s’assemblent également en Blends. Ils ouvrent ainsi d’autres perspectives sur la richesse des ressources offertes par les terroirs de Blanville.

Associé au Château Haut-Blanville siège sur le même site le Château Rieutort, élégant domaine vinicole du XVIIIe siècle. Orienté sur l’accueil œnotouristique, il est doté de 5 suites et d’un ensemble de 6 gites.

https://www.blanville.com/


Château Haut-Blanville
Rieutort
Route de Gignac
34230 Saint-Pargoire

telephone +33 (0) 4 67 25 22 53