Occitania Vineyards

Français FR English EN

If the Occitanie wines have so much soul and personality, it is above all because the winegrowers watch over the richness, authenticity and quality of their vineyards.

Vineyards of Occitanie - Wines, vines and winegrowers of the South-West and Languedoc Roussillon
The vineyards of Occitania are spread over the historic areas of Languedoc, Roussillon and the South-West.

Wines from the South-West, wines from Languedoc, wines from Roussillon

60

No less than 60 Appellations
Protected Origin

Protected Geographical Indication

50

More than 50 indications
Protected Geographical

The Occitania vineyards are distributed on the ancestral soils of the south of France where the establishment of vine dates back to Antiquity. From south-west to south-east, from the near Ocean to the shores of the Mediterranean, brushing against the Pyrenees chain then leaning against the foothills of the Massif Central, the wine-growing areas cover an area of ​​263 hectares, including 000 37 for the south-western part and 000 for the south-eastern part. Bringing together the historic regions of Languedoc, Roussillon and South-West, this vast territory is distinguished by a number of wine appellations which has no equivalent at the global level: the Occitanie wines come in around sixty Protected Designations of Origin (AOP) and nearly fifty Protected Geographical Indications (IGP). Benefiting from the proximity of the Pyrenees and the oceanic influences South West, bathed in the Mediterranean climate in Languedoc and Roussillon, the Occitania vineyards today bring together the largest range of appellation wines in the same area. The very high quality level they have acquired also make them ambassadors of incomparable nuances of terroirs, served by the specific character of regional grape varieties and the interweaving of climatic singularities.

Wines from the Southwest or wines from Languedoc & Roussillon? Pyrenees or Mediterranean?

Vineyards of Occitanie - South-West

Southwest vineyards

Taking root on Landes and Atlantic Pyrenees departments borders, the southwest vineyards follow one another to the foothills of the Massif Central. Under oceanic influence and benefiting ...
Read more
Vineyards of Occitanie - south-east

Southeast vineyards

Located in Languedoc and Roussillon natural regions, south-east vineyards cling to the Eastern Pyrenees then unfold facing the Mediterranean Sea, ...
Read more
vine separator

Live from the vineyards of Occitanie

From the south-west to Languedoc via Roussillon
explore the three great terroirs over the seasons
of the largest wine region.

vine separator

Occitania winegrowers : domains in the spotlight

Occitanie ranks first in the world in terms of the extent of wine-growing areas and the large number of appellations grouped together within the same territory. This brings together a remarkable number of Occitan winegrowers which contribute to the wine reputation of South West and Languedoc and Roussillon. Each independent estate, each cooperative group, brings its own signature to the wines of Occitanie. All are determined by the characteristics of their production area as well as by the local and family history which governs the management of the vineyards. Entering each of these stories individually is as much indicative of a human adventure as of a highly qualitative expression of the different Occitania wine terroirs.

vine separator

Wines and winemakers from Occitania on YouTube

vine separator

Wines from Occitanie: an opulence of typicities

The Occitanie wines are distributed in two main types. In Languedoc and Roussillon the Mediterranean signature of the wines is essential and comes in exciting nuances depending on whether the wine-growing areas are located near the sea or backing up against the reliefs of the Pyrenees and the Massif Central. Red wines predominate there, commonly made from Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre and Carignan. White wines for their part often make the reputation of proper appellations such as Picpoul de Pinet or Clairette du Languedoc. In the South West, where oceanic influences dominate, the vineyards are distributed in archipelago. The typicity of the wines is frequently qualified by singular grape varieties such as Tannat in Madiran, Malbec in Cahors or Négrette in Fronton. The terroir of Gaillac would even be the most demonstrative, where the restoration of endemic grape varieties on the vineyard is one of the claimed characteristics of the appellation.

Find Occitanie wines on Instagram

Over the days and seasons, revealing the richness of the terroirs of Roussillon, Languedoc and South West, the Occitanie wines are also revealed on Instagram in marriage of cuvées and flavors.

vine separator

Vineyards of Occitanie: first organic wine region

Certified organic vineyards in Occitania - Mas Onésime - Faugères
Mas Onésime vineyard - Faugères

Benefiting from a particularly favorable climate, Occitania occupies the first place in the classification of vineyards conducted under organic labeling. Support for virtuous wine initiatives is even one of the first commitments of the local authority. In the South-West as in Languedoc-Roussillon, the number of estates whose wines are officially certified organic or organic conversion keeps growing. If the size of the domains concerned mainly includes small farms of a few hectares managed by independent winegrowers, the dynamic is also driven by large wine-growing structures. Together, all contribute to the reputation of organic wines from Occitanie, available in all the typicities of each terroir and each appellation.

vine separator

Vineyards of High Environmental Value

Vineyards of High Environmental Value
Vineyards certified in High Environmental Value (HVE)

When the Occitania wineries do not benefit from an organic labeling, they often opt for a certification in High Environmental Value (French Environmental Label) (label HVE). This classification, supervised by the Ministry of Agriculture and Food, concerns the entire vineyard or the wines produced by the farm. It guarantees that the vineyards concerned are engaged in environmentally friendly approaches. Control is exercised on several levels of consistency: promoting biodiversity, regulate thephytosanitary intervention, rationalize fertilization and optimize theirrigation. The approach promoting good environmental health in the vineyards of the South-West and Languedoc-Roussillon, HVE certified domains are highlighted on Occitania vineyards.

Les vignobles d’Occitanie

Français FR English EN

Si les vins d’Occitanie ont tant d’âme et de personnalité, c’est avant tout parce que les vigneronnes et les vignerons veillent sur la richesse, l’authenticité et la qualité de leurs vignobles.

Vignobles d'Occitanie - Vins, vignes et vignerons du Sud-ouest et du Languedoc Roussillon
Les vignobles d’Occitanie se déploient sur les aires historiques du Languedoc, du Roussillon et du Sud-Ouest.

Vins du Sud-Ouest, du Languedoc et du Roussillon

60

Pas moins de 60 Appellations
d’Origine Protégée

Indication géographique protégée

50

Plus de 50 Indications
Géographiques Protégées

Les vignobles d’Occitanie s’étendent sur les terroirs ancestraux du sud de la France où l’implantation de la vigne remonte jusqu’à l’Antiquité. Des côtes de l’Océan jusqu’aux rivages de la Méditerranée, entre la chaîne des Pyrénées et les contreforts du Massif Central, les aires viticoles se déploient sur une étendue de 263 000 hectares, dont 37 000 pour la partie sud-ouest et 226 000 pour la partie sud-est. Couvrant les régions historiques du Languedoc, du Roussillon et du Sud-Ouest, ce vaste territoire se distingue par un nombre d’appellations viticoles sans équivalent au niveau mondial : les vins d’Occitanie se déclinent dans une soixantaine d’Appellations d’Origine Protégée (AOP) et près d’une cinquantaine d’Indications Géographiques Protégées (IGP). Bénéficiant de la proximité des Pyrénées et des influences océaniques au Sud-ouest, baignant dans le climat méditerranéen en Languedoc et Roussillon, les vignobles d’Occitanie réunissent aujourd’hui sur un même territoire la plus grande gamme de vins d’appellation. Le très haut niveau qualitatif qu’ils ont acquis en font aussi les ambassadeurs d’incomparables nuances de terroirs servies par le caractère spécifique de cépages régionaux et la variété des influences climatiques.

Pyrénées ou Méditerranée ? Vins du Sud-ouest ou vins du sud-est ?

Vignobles d'Occitanie - Sud-ouest

Vignobles du sud-ouest

Prenant racine aux frontières des Landes et des Pyrénées Atlantiques, les vignobles du sud-ouest se succèdent jusqu’aux contreforts du Massif Central. Sous influence océanique et bénéficiant ...
Lire la suite
Vignobles d'Occitanie - sud-est

Vignobles du sud-est

Implanté sur les régions naturelles du Languedoc et du Roussillon, les vignobles du sud-est s'accrochent aux Pyrénées orientales puis se déploient face à la mer Méditerranée, ...
Lire la suite
separateur de section

En direct des vignobles d’Occitanie

Du Sud-ouest au Languedoc en passant par le Roussillon
explorez au fil des saisons les trois grands terroirs
de la plus grande région viticole.

separateur de section

Vignerons d’Occitanie : domaines à la une

En se plaçant au premier rang mondial par l’étendue des surfaces viticoles et le nombre d’appellations regroupées au sein d’une même région, celle-ci se distingue par la densité remarquable des vignerons d’Occitanie qui contribuent à la réputation viticole du Sud-Ouest et du Languedoc et du Roussillon. Chaque domaine apporte sa propre signature à des vins déterminés par les typicités de son aire de production tout autant que par l’histoire locale et familiale qui régit la conduite de son vignoble. Entrer individuellement dans chacune de ces histoires se fait tout autant révélateur d’une aventure humaine que d’une expression hautement qualitative des différents terroirs viticoles d’Occitanie.

separateur de section

Vins et vignerons d’Occitanie sur YouTube

La vigneronne du mois : Margaux Nivollet, Domaine Blanville

separateur de section

Vins d’Occitanie : une opulence de typicités

Les vins d’Occitanie se distribuent en deux grandes typicités. En Languedoc et en Roussillon la signature méditerranéenne des vins s’impose et se décline en passionnantes nuances selon que les aires viticoles se trouvent à proximité de la mer ou bien adossées aux reliefs des Pyrénées comme du Massif Central. Les vins rouges y sont majoritaires, issus couramment des Grenache, Syrah, Mourvèdre et Carignan. Les vins blancs quant à eux font souvent la réputation d’appellations propres comme le Picpoul de Pinet ou la Clairette du Languedoc. Dans le Sud-Ouest, où dominent les influences océaniques, les vignobles se distribuent en archipel. La typicité des vins y est fréquemment qualifiée par des cépages singuliers comme le Tannat en Madiran, le Malbec à Cahors ou la Négrette à Fronton. Le terroir de Gaillac en serait même le plus démonstratif, où la restauration de cépages endémiques sur le vignoble est l’un des caractères revendiqués de l’appellation.

Au fil des jours et des saisons, révélateurs de la richesse des terroirs du Roussillon, du Languedoc et du Sud-Ouest, les vins d’Occitanie se dévoilent également sur Instagram en mariage de cuvées et de saveurs.

separateur de section

Vignobles d’Occitanie : première région viticole bio

Vignobles d'Occitanie certifiés bios - Mas Onésime - Faugères
Vignoble du Mas Onésime – Faugères

Bénéficiant d’un climat particulièrement propice, l’Occitanie occupe la première place dans le classement des vignobles conduits sous labellisation bio. Le soutien aux initiatives viticoles vertueuses est même l’un des premiers engagements de la collectivité territoriale. En Sud-Ouest comme en Languedoc-Roussillon, le nombre d’exploitations dont les vins sont officiellement labellisées bio ou en conversion bio ne cesse de croître. Si la taille des domaines concernés regroupe majoritairement de petites exploitations de quelques hectares gérés par des vignerons indépendants, la dynamique est également portée par de grandes structures viticoles. Ensemble, tous contribuent à la réputation des vins bios d’Occitanie, déclinés dans toutes les typicités de chaque terroir et chaque appellation.

separateur de section

Des vignobles de Haute Valeur Environnementale

Vignobles de Haute Valeur Environnementale
Vignobles certifiés en Haute Valeur Environnementale (HVE)

Lorsque les domaines viticoles d’Occitanie ne relèvent pas d’une labellisation bio, il est fréquent qu’ils optent pour une certification en Haute Valeur Environnementale (label HVE). Ce classement, supervisé par le Ministère de l’Agriculture et de l’Alimentation, concerne l’ensemble du domaine viticole ou bien les vins produits par l’exploitation. Il garantit que les vignobles concernés sont engagés dans des démarches respectueuses de l’environnement. Le contrôle s’exerce sur plusieurs niveaux de cohérence : favoriser la biodiversité, réguler l’intervention phytosanitaire, rationaliser la fertilisation et optimiser l’irrigation. La démarche favorisant la bonne santé environnementale des vignobles du Sud-Ouest comme du Languedoc-Roussillon, les domaines certifiés HVE sont mis en valeur sur Vignobles d’Occitanie.

separateur de section
separateur de section