Wines of Collioure

AOP Collioure and Banyuls Grand Cru
Collioure vineyard
  • Wine Region : Roussillon wines.
  • AOP / AOC: Collioure.
  • Vinifications: red wine, rosé wine, white wine.
  • Main grape varieties: (in red and rosé) Carignan, Grenache, Mourvèdre, Syrah, (in pink) Gray Grenache, (in white) Grenache blanc, Grenache gris, Macabeu, Marsanne, Roussanne, Tourbat, Vermentino.
  • Accessory grape varieties: (in red and rosé) Cinsault, Counoise | (in white) Carignan blanc, Muscat petits grains, Muscat d'Alexandrie.

On Vermilion Coast, at this meeting point where the Pyrenees plunge into the Mediterranean, Greeks and Phoenicians founded the port of Collioure. We owe to their presence the establishment of the first vineyards on the slopes which dominate the city. So Catalan terroir the southernmost part of the Occitanie region, the vines enjoy superb sunshine. They draw their sap from reliefs of brown schists cut into terraces. Locally appointed feixas, they overlook the surroundings of the three other towns of the appellation: Banyuls, Port-Vendres et Cerbère. On the sometimes steep slopes where manual viticulture is practiced, Mediterranean grape varieties typical of the appellation reign. Frequently cohabiting on the same plot, there are Grenache noir, Syrah, Mourvèdre in dominant parts, but also Carignan, Cinsault or Grenaches gris and white. The Collioure wines are produced in red wine, rosé wine and white wine. On the same terroir, the natural sweet wines of Banyuls and Banyuls Grand Cru. Full of sun, they give pride of place to Grenache Noir, which aging and controlled aging pushes to the fullness of its aromas.

Where to find Collioure wines?

Domaine Saint Thomas - Wines from Collioure and Banyuls

Domaine Saint-Thomas

Independent cellar

A wide range of wines from Collioure, Banyuls and Banyuls Grand Cru in Argelès-sur-Mer.

Clos Castell - Wines from Collioure and Banyuls

Clos Castell

Independent cellar

Wines from Collioure and Banyuls worked in the purest expression of the terroir.

Domains and winegrowers of Collioure

Alley of the vats - Terres des Templiers - Banyuls and Banyuls Grand Cru wines

Terres des Templiers

Terres des Templiers perpetuates the know-how of Catalan viticulture for which the wines of Collioure, Banyuls and ...
Read more…
Clos Castell - The terraced vineyard

Clos Castell

Between cellar and garden, from Mas Guillaume to the terraced vineyards that surround it, Clos Castell offers a site and ...
Read more…
Domaine Saint Thomas - Wines of Collioure

Domaine Saint-Thomas

Labeled High Environmental Value, combining its warm welcome with the generosity of its range of wines, Domaine Saint Thomas ...
Read more…


Getting to know Collioure wines better

Summaries of the specificationsPDO Collioure

Geography of the Collioure vineyards

Terroir geology

Clinging to the slopes of the Pyrénées Orientales, the Collioure vineyard is the southernmost in France. He runs between tue i mount, that is to say between "sea and mountain" in Catalan. Suddenly declining from the 917 meters of the Pic de Sailfort to level 0 by the sea, it is spectacular with its very steep slopes. Four port communities occupy the maritime fringes of this vineyard of the " Cote Vermeille »: Cerbère, Banyuls-sur-Mer, Port-Vente, Collioure.

The natural limits ofPDO Collioure are identical to those ofPDO Banyuls with which it merges:

  • Mediterranean Sea to the east;
  • Pyrenean ridges forming a border with Spain to the south;
  • piedmont of Albères and plain of Roussillon to the north;
  • Pyrenean chain to the west.

The uprising of the Pyrenean chain created a very tormented landscape. Small amphitheatres alternate with belvederes overlooking the sea. The geological foundations contribute to the coherence of identity: the Collioure vineyard takes root in brown shales with low water retention capacity. Grown in named terraces feixas, the plots of vines rise to an altitude of 400 meters. Descending in steps from the heights to the valleys, they occupy at the bottom of the filtering and stony alluvial bands fed by the rivers which drain the wine-growing area.

Like the whole Roussillon,PDO Collioure enjoys a high annual sunshine rate. It bathes in a mild Mediterranean climate in winter, hot and dry in summer. The average temperature, established at around 15 ° C, is to be modulated according to the altitude. Although the thermal average seems moderate, the vine is subject to significant thermal variations on a daily basis.

Local climate

The altitude interferes just as much with the rainfall which is characterized by an irregular and often violent rain regime. Long periods of summer drought alternate with paroxysmal showers in spring and fall. Erosion and gullying of the soil are precisely at the origin of the development of terraced vines. Another climatic feature is the frequency of winds:

  • the "Tramontana", which blows from the north-west with power and drying action, tends to preserve the vines from diseases while having a destructive impact on the young vine twigs in spring;
  • the sea wind, oriented east / south-east, favors the fresh and humid sea entrances which temper the summer solar heat.

In this climate of strong contrasts, the vines make up most of a landscape where they rub shoulders with meager wooded areas of cork and holm oaks, olive trees, Mediterranean shrubs and moors.

History of the Collioure vineyard

Phoenician counter

On Cote Vermeille, the culture of the vine goes back to the first Phoenician counters which set up in the port of Collioure around the VIIe century BC. The geological morphology and climatic riders of the region very early on imposed cultivation on terraces. Well established at the beginning of the Middle Ages, the development of the vineyard was consolidated under the territorial administration of the Templars. On these steep slopes, the strong runoff of water imposed a unique system of canalization. Throughout the Collioure vineyard radiates a network of named channels knees. Carved out of the schist soils, the plates of which are then ordered to form the architecture, they mark each parcel with fan-shaped furrows. This composition of converging canals which recalls the shape of a rooster's foot is called little gall in Catalan.

Maritime commerce

Port cities contribute to the flourishing trade of Collioure wines. From the XNUMXthe century, the wine-growing activity is supported by Jacques 1er of Mallorca, then by the kings of Aragon, who retrocede to the municipalities a tax levied on imported wines. The high quality of local production is thereby supported. At that time, dry wine is appreciated either naturally sweet, or " fortified »By adding alcohol. With a high alcohol content, it is suitable for " travel »And enjoys a great notoriety in the neighboring courts of Aragon, Castile, or Mallorca. The reputation of Collioure wines later extended to the northern countries to which they were transported by sea via the Strait of Gibraltar.

Lease in complant

In 1659 the Treaty of the Pyrenees annexed the Roussillon to France. The smuggling economy grows to thwart the introduction of taxes. The State threatening to intervene, the Intendant of the Province of Roussillon establishes a compromise. This grants bonuses for planting vines in order to encourage smugglers to become winegrowers. The establishment of the practice of " lease in complant "Or" dead stump »In force in Collioure vineyard since medieval times stimulates the cultivation of the vine. This method of exploitation confers ownership of the vines to a winegrower who does not own the soil. Under this regime, the landowner sells his plot in co-ownership, with as a counterpart the obligation to keep each vine stock alive. Over time, regular replacement of dead feet leads to complant several grape varieties on the same terrace.

Port boom

From the XVIIIe century, trade intensified around the port of Port-Vendres. The railway reaches as far as Collioure before joining up with Spain. The population grows in proportion to the boom in port activity. The practice of " lease in complant »Popularizes access to a piece of vines. The Collioure wine takes its commercial development under the impulse of the traders. In this commercial context, Father Rous developed a small business of mass wine which contributed to the restoration of the church of Banyuls.

Phylloxera crisis

The year 1885 marks the late phylloxera crisis. The disease wipes out much of the Collioure vineyard. However, the Arago law of 1872 supplemented by the Pams law of 1898 confers a particular tax status on naturally sweet wines. The vineyard then specializes in the production of natural sweet wines which eludes the reputation acquired for dry wines. From 1936, thecontrolled designation of origin "Banyuls »Is granted for natural sweet wines. The Collioure wines are then marketed in " natural wines from the Banyuls region Until 1960.

Collioure wine

Three colors: red, rosé and white

The classification in PDO is acquired in 1971 for the red Collioure wine before the recognition of the rosé Collioure wine in 1991 then that of the white Collioure wine in 2003. Since then, the same terroir has been superimposed onPDO Collioure andPDO Banyuls. The red wines draw from the dominant Grenaches a sustained color, a dense nose where spices and ripe fruit are supported. Their richness is consolidated by a tannic structure favorable to aging. Rosé wines develop a fruity bouquet with bursts of freshness. The white wines are articulated around aromas of flowers and honey from which emerges a slight tannic note.

French FR English EN

Vins de Collioure

AOP Collioure et Banyuls Grand Cru
Vignoble de Collioure
  • Région viticole : vins du Roussillon.
  • AOP/AOC : Collioure.
  • Vinifications : vin rouge, vin rosé, vin blanc.
  • Cépages principaux : (en rouge et rosé) Carignan, Grenache, Mourvèdre, Syrah, (en rosé) Grenache gris, (en blanc) Grenache blanc, Grenache gris, Macabeu, Marsanne, Roussanne, Tourbat, Vermentino.
  • Cépages accessoires : (en rouge et rosé) Cinsault, Counoise | (en blanc) Carignan blanc, Muscat petits grains, Muscat d’Alexandrie.

Sur la Côte Vermeille, à ce point de rencontre où les Pyrénées plongent sur la méditerranée, Grecs et Phéniciens fondèrent le port de Collioure. On doit à leur présence l’implantation des premiers vignobles sur les coteaux qui dominent la cité. Sur ce terroir catalan le plus au sud de la région Occitanie, les vignes jouissent d’un ensoleillement superbe. Elles puisent leur sève sur des reliefs de schistes bruns découpés en terrasses. Nommées localement feixas, elles surplombent les alentours des trois autres villes de l’appellation : Banyuls, Port-Vendres et Cerbère. Sur les pentes parfois abruptes où se pratique une viticulture manuelle règnent les cépages méditerranéens typiques de l’appellation. Cohabitant fréquemment sur une même parcelle s’y recensent les Grenache noir, Syrah, Mourvèdre en parts dominantes, mais aussi Carignan, Cinsault ou Grenaches gris et blanc. Les vins de Collioure s’élaborent en vin rouge, vin rosé et vin blanc. Sur le même terroir mûrissent dans les chais les vins doux naturels de Banyuls et Banyuls Grand Cru. Gorgés de soleil, ils font la part belle au grenache noir qu’un élevage et un vieillissement maîtrisé pousse jusqu’à la plénitude de ses arômes.

Domaines de Collioure en vitrine

Domaine Saint Thomas - Vins de Collioure et Banyuls
logo-clos-castell

Domaines et vignerons de Collioure

Allée des cuves - Terres des Templiers - Vins de Banyuls et Banyuls Grand Cru

Terres des Templiers

Terres des Templiers perpétue les savoir-faire de la viticulture catalane qui fait la renommée des vins de Collioure, Banyuls et ...
Lire La Suite…
Clos Castell - Le vignoble en terrasse

Clos Castell

Entre chai et jardin, du Mas Guillaume aux vignobles en terrasses qui l'environnent, le Clos Castell offre un site et ...
Lire La Suite…
Domaine Saint Thomas - Vins de Collioure

Domaine Saint Thomas

Labellisé Haute Valeur Environnementale, conjuguant son accueil chaleureux à la générosité de sa gamme de vins, le Domaine Saint Thomas ...
Lire La Suite…

Mieux connaître les vins Collioure

Résumés du cahier des charges de l’AOP Collioure

Géographie du vignobles de Collioure

Géologie du terroir

Accroché aux pentes des Pyrénées Orientales, le vignoble de Collioure est le plus méridional de France. Il court entre mar i mont, c’est-à-dire entre « mer et montagne » en catalan. Déclinant brutalement des 917 mètres du Pic de Sailfort jusqu’au niveau 0 en bord de mer, il est spectaculaire par ses coteaux très pentus. Quatre communes portuaires occupent les franges maritimes de ce vignoble de la « Côte Vermeille » : Cerbère, Banyuls-sur-Mer, Port-Vendre, Collioure.

Les limites naturelles de l’AOP Collioure sont identiques à celles de l’AOP Banyuls avec laquelle elle se confond :

  • Mer Méditerranée à l’est ;
  • crêtes pyrénéennes formant frontière avec l’Espagne au sud ;
  • piémont des Albères et plaine du Roussillon au nord ;
  • chaîne pyrénéenne à l’ouest.

Le soulèvement de la chaîne pyrénéenne a créé un paysage très tourmenté. De petits amphithéâtres alternent avec des belvédères qui surplombent de la mer. Les assises géologiques contribuent à la cohérence identitaire : le vignoble de Collioure s’enracine dans des schistes bruns à faible capacité de rétention d’eau. Cultivées en terrasses nommées feixas, les parcelles de vignes s’élèvent jusqu’à 400 mètres d’altitude. Dévalant en escaliers des hauteurs jusqu’aux vallées, elles occupent au plus bas des bandes alluvionnaires filtrantes et caillouteuses alimentées par les cours d’eau qui drainent la zone viticole.

À l’instar de l’ensemble du Roussillon, l’AOP Collioure bénéficie d’un taux d’ensoleillement annuel élevé. Il baigne dans un climat méditerranéen doux en hiver, chaud et sec l’été. La température moyenne, établie aux alentours de 15°C, est à moduler selon l’altitude. Bien que la moyenne thermique paraisse modérée, la vigne est soumise au quotidien à d’importants écarts thermiques.

Climat local

L’altitude interfère tout autant avec la pluviométrie qui se caractérise par un régime de pluies irrégulier et souvent violent. Les longues périodes de sécheresse estivale alternent avec les averses paroxystiques du printemps et de l’automne. L’érosion et le ravinement des sols sont précisément à l’origine de l’aménagement des vignes en terrasses. Un autre trait climatique est la fréquence des vents :

  • la « Tramontane », qui souffle du nord-ouest avec puissance et action desséchante, tend à préserver la vigne des maladies tout en ayant une incidence destructrice sur les jeunes rameaux de vignes au printemps ;
  • le vent marin, d’orientation est/sud-est, favorise quant à lui les entrées maritimes fraîches et humides qui viennent tempérer les ardeurs solaires estivales.

Sous ce climat à forts contrastes, la vigne compose l’essentiel d’un paysage où elle côtoie de maigres espaces boisés de chênes lièges et chênes verts, d’oliviers, d’arbustes méditerranéens et de landes.

Histoire du vignoble de Collioure

Comptoir phénicien

Sur la Côte Vermeille, la culture de la vigne remonte aux premiers comptoirs Phéniciens qui s’implantent sur le port de Collioure autour du VIIe siècle avant notre ère. La morphologie géologique et les avenants climatiques de la région imposent très tôt la culture en terrasses. Bien établi au début du Moyen- Âge l’aménagement du vignoble se consolide sous l’administration territoriale des Templiers. Sur ces pentes abruptes, le fort ruissellement des eaux a imposé en effet un système de canalisation singulier. Sur tout le vignoble de Collioure rayonne un réseau de rigoles nommées agouilles. Creusées dans les sols de schistes dont les plaques ensuite ordonnancées forment l’architecture, elles marquent chaque parcelle de sillons en éventail. Cette composition de canaux convergents qui rappelle la forme du pied de coq se nomme peu de gall en catalan.

Commerce maritime

Les villes portuaires contribuent au commerce florissant des vins de Collioure. Dès le XIIIe siècle, l’activité viticole est soutenue par Jacques 1er de Majorque, puis par les rois d’Aragon, qui rétrocèdent aux communes une taxe perçue sur les vins importés. La haute qualité de la production locale s’en trouve soutenue. À cette époque, le vin sec s’apprécie soit naturellement doux, soit « fortifié » par adjonction d’alcool. Doté d’un taux d’alcool élevé, il se prête au « voyage » et jouit d’une grande notoriété dans les cours voisines d’Aragon, de Castille, ou de Majorque. La réputation des vins de Collioure s’étend plus tard aux pays du nord vers lesquels il sont acheminés par voie maritime en empruntant le détroit de Gibraltar.

Bail à complant

En 1659 le traité des Pyrénées annexe le Roussillon à la France. L’économie de contrebande se développe pour contrecarrer l’instauration de taxes. L’État menaçant d’intervenir, l’Intendant de la Province du Roussillon établit un compromis. Celui-ci octroie des gratifications à la plantation de vignes afin d’inciter les contrebandiers à devenir vignerons. L’instauration de la pratique du « bail à complant » ou à « souche morte » en vigueur dans le vignoble de Collioure depuis l’époque médiévale stimule la culture de la vigne. Ce mode d’exploitation confère la propriété des pieds de vignes à un vigneron qui n’en possède pas le sol. Sous ce régime, le propriétaire foncier cède sa parcelle en copropriété, avec pour contrepartie l’obligation d’entretenir vivant chaque pied de vigne. Au fil du temps, le remplacement régulier des pieds morts conduit à complanter plusieurs cépages sur une même terrasse.

Essor portuaire

À partir du XVIIIe siècle, le commerce s’intensifie autour du port de Port-Vendres. Le chemin de fer parvient jusqu’à Collioure avant de faire jonction avec l’Espagne. La population grandit proportionnellement à l’essor de l’activité portuaire. La pratique du « bail à complant » popularise l’accès à un lopin de vigne. Le vin de Collioure prend son essor commercial sous l’impulsion des négociants. Dans ce contexte commercial, l’abbé Rous développe un petit négoce de vin de messe qui contribue à la restauration de l’église de Banyuls.

Crise du phylloxera

L’année 1885 marque la crise tardive du phylloxera. La maladie anéantit une grande partie du vignoble de Collioure. Cependant, la loi Arago de 1872 complétée par la loi Pams de 1898 confèrent un statut fiscal particulier aux vins naturellement doux. Le vignoble se spécialise alors dans la production de vins doux naturels qui élude la réputation acquise pour les vins secs. Dès 1936, l’appellation d’origine contrôlée « Banyuls » est accordée pour les vins doux naturels. Les vins de Collioure sont alors commercialisés en « vins natures du terroir de Banyuls » jusqu’en 1960.

Vin de Collioure

Trois couleurs : rouge, rosé et blanc

Le classement en AOP est acquis en 1971 pour le vin de Collioure rouge avant que ne suive la reconnaissance du vin de Collioure rosé en 1991 puis celle du vin de Collioure blanc en 2003. Depuis se superposent sur le même terroir l’AOP Collioure et l’AOP Banyuls. Les vins rouges tirent des Grenaches dominants une couleur soutenue, un nez dense où s’épaulent épices et fruits mûrs. Leur richesse est consolidée par une structure tannique favorable au vieillissement. Les vins rosés développent un bouquet fruité avec éclats de fraîcheur. Les vins blancs s’articulent autour des arômes de fleurs et de miel d’où émerge une légère note tannique.