Visit the vineyards

Occitania Vineyards

Fabulous wine opulence

THEwine tourism in Occitania is of remarkable interest. Bringing together the production areas of Languedoc, Roussillon and South West, the diversity of the terroirs associated with the wide range of climatic and geographical nuances offer an inexhaustible field of oenological experiences. The Occitania vineyards bring together the most important world resource in terms of wine-growing areas and number of appellations united in the same territory. True heritage of know-how local, loyal and constant, visit the vineyards comes down to immersing yourself in the deep identity of each territory and to approach the wine traditions of the South of France.

Three wine tourism regions

En Occitania, the traditions surrounding the vineyards have slowly been built up over the course of history. They very often determine the underlying identity of territories which are found in natural and climatic regions of exceptional diversity. Three large wine-growing areas distributed between the Roussillon, Languedoc and South West encompass them, within which there are more than sixty appellations classified as PDO

Languedoc

Le Languedoc has no less than 25 appellations classified as AOP. Among these theAOP Languedoc has the particularity of being available in 11 territorial sub-denominations, some of which are comparable to vintages. On this wine heritage which has the southern limit of the Gulf of Lion and the northern border of the Cévennes and the Montagne Noire, it is therefore no less than 36 wine terroirs classified as PDO which are available for visiting vineyards. High-quality red wines are king there. In grape varieties, Grenache, Syrah and Mourvèdre dominate. The white wines are distinguished by specific appellations such as Picpoul de Pinet or Clairette du Languedoc.

Main towns : Carcassonne, Narbonne, Béziers, Montpellier, Nimes.

Roussillon

En Roussillon, on this Catalan land where the Pyrenees range plunges into the Mediterranean, there are 9 appellations classified as PDO. The generic name Coasts of Roussillon coexists with the eight other PDOs, among which stand out the variations in Coasts of Roussillon Villages, true signatures of wine-growing regions. The red wines where Grenache often has the best part are dominant. Distinctive feature of Roussillon wines, added to the range of dry wines are 4 PDOs dedicated to Natural Sweet Wines where there are Banyuls, Maury, Rivesaltes, Muscat de Rivesaltes. Visiting the Roussillon vineyards, the most picturesque of which are terraced on the schist slopes of the Pyrenees, is a reservoir of emotion.

Main towns : Rivesaltes, Perpignan, Collioure.

South West

In the South West, the wine-growing regions are spread over 12 appellations classified as PDOs scattered throughout the archipelago. To these is added theIGP Côtes de Gascogne, particularly renowned for its white wines. The latter shares the same production area as thePDO Armagnac, one of the major spirits of the south of France. The Pyrenees chain to the south and the foothills of the Massif Central to the northeast play with their climatic and landscape influences. To the west, the nearby Ocean pushes the effects of its presence towards inland areas, which is decisive for the grape varieties. These are often indigenous in nature, such as the Tannat in Madiran, the Malbec at Cahors, the Colombard in Cotes de Gascony, the black Manseng to Saint Mont, without speaking about Gaillac where the restoration of native grape varieties contributes to the very identity of the appellation.

Main towns : Gaillac, Toulouse, Montauban, Cahors, Auch, Condom

Wine tourism advice

Un vineyard that interests you ? A designation catches your attention? A winemaker you were pleased ? A wine or a grape arouses your curiosity? We advise you to discover and visit the vineyards of Occitania. We organize with our partners a tailor-made course in estates and castles. We prepare for you meetings with winegrowers that we love. We make a la carte a tasting itinerary adapted to your exploration or discovery project. Do not hesitate to get closer to us, we will be happy to answer you:

Learn more?

Follow live news from Occitania vineyards on Instagram

French FR English EN

Visiter les Vignobles

Vignobles d'Occitanie

Une opulence viticole fabuleuse

L’œnotourisme en Occitanie est d’un intérêt remarquable. Regroupant les zones de production du Languedoc, du Roussillon et du Sud-Ouest, la diversité des terroirs associée à la vaste palette de nuances climatiques et géographiques offrent un champ d’expériences œnologiques inépuisables. Les Vignobles d’Occitanie regroupent la plus importante ressource mondiale en termes de surfaces viticoles et nombre d’appellations réunies sur un même territoire. Véritable patrimoine des savoir-faire locaux, loyaux et constants, visiter les vignobles revient à s’immerger dans l’identité profonde de chaque territoire et d’approcher au plus près les traditions viticoles du sud de la France.

Trois régions œnotouristiques

En Occitanie, les traditions entourant les vignobles se sont lentement constituées au fil de l’Histoire. Elles déterminent bien souvent l’identité profonde de territoires qui se trouvent assis sur des régions naturelles et climatiques d’une diversité exceptionnelle. Trois grandes aires viticoles réparties entre le Roussillon, le Languedoc et le Sud-Ouest les englobent, au sein desquelles se décomptent plus d’une soixantaine d’appellations classées en AOP

Languedoc

Le Languedoc ne compte pas moins de 25 appellations classées en AOP. Parmi celles-ci l’AOP Languedoc a la particularité de se décliner en 11 sous-dénominations territoriales dont certaines sont comparables à des crus. Sur ce patrimoine viticole qui a pour limite sud le Golfe du Lion et comme frontière nord les Cévennes et à la Montagne Noire, ce ne sont donc pas moins de 36 terroirs viticoles classés en AOP qui s’offrent à la visite de vignobles. Les vins rouges hautement qualitatifs y sont rois. En encépagement dominent les Grenache, Syrah et Mourvèdre. Les vins blancs se distinguent par des appellations spécifiques comme Picpoul de Pinet ou Clairette du Languedoc.

Villes principales : Carcassonne, Narbonne, Béziers, Montpellier, Nîmes.

Roussillon

En Roussillon, sur cette terre catalane où la chaîne des Pyrénées vient plonger dans la Méditerranée, se dénombrent 9 appellations classées en AOP. L’appellation générique Côtes du Roussillon cohabite avec les huit autres AOP parmi lesquelles se distinguent les déclinaisons en Côtes du Roussillon Villages, véritables signatures de terroirs viticoles. Les vins rouges où le Grenache a souvent la part belle y sont dominant . Trait distinctif des vins du Roussillon, se rajoutent à la palette des vins secs 4 AOP dédiées aux Vins Doux Naturels où se recensent Banyuls, Maury, Rivesaltes, Muscat de Rivesaltes. Visiter les vignobles du Roussillon dont les plus pittoresques s’étagent en terrasse sur les flancs schisteux des Pyrénées est un réservoir d’émotion.

Villes principales : Rivesaltes, Perpignan, Collioure.

Sud-Ouest

Dans le Sud-Ouest, les terroirs viticoles se répartissent sur 12 appellations classées en AOP disséminées en archipel. À celles-ci se rajoute l’IGP Côtes de Gascogne, particulièrement renommée pour ses vins blancs. Cette dernière partage la même zone de production que l’AOP Armagnac, l’un des spiritueux majeurs du sud de la France. La chaîne des Pyrénées au sud et les contreforts du Massif Central au nord-est jouent de leurs influences climatiques mais aussi paysagères. À l’ouest, l’Océan tout proche pousse vers les terres intérieures les effets de sa présence qui s’avère déterminante pour les encépagements. Ceux-ci sont souvent de nature indigène, comme le Tannat en Madiran, le Malbec à Cahors, le Colombard en Côtes de Gascogne, le Manseng noir à Saint Mont, sans parler de Gaillac où la restauration des cépages autochtones contribue à l’identité même de l’appellation.

Villes principales : Gaillac, Toulouse, Montauban, Cahors, Auch, Condom

Des conseils en œnotourisme

Un vignoble vous intéresse ? Une appellation retient votre attention ? Un vigneron vous a plu ? Un vin ou un cépage éveille votre curiosité ? Nous vous vous conseillons pour découvrir et visiter les vignobles d’Occitanie. Nous organisons avec nos partenaires un parcours sur mesure dans les domaines et châteaux. Nous préparons pour vous des rencontres avec les vignerons que nous aimons. Nous confectionnons à la carte un itinéraire de dégustation adapté à votre projet d’exploration ou de découverte. N’hésitez pas à vous rapprocher de nous, nous aurons plaisir à vous répondre :

En savoir plus ?

Suivez en direct les actualités des Vignobles d’Occitanie sur Instagram

French FR English EN