Domaine Capmartin

Côtes de Gascogne winesPacherenc du Vic-BilhMadiran winesOrganic wines


Au Domaine Capmartin, in the Madiran vineyard, a particular style emerges. Vinifying in a spirit which reconciles respect for the environment and a new expression of the terroir, Simon Capmartin gives body to particularly seductive wines.


A new Madiran

If you Madiran vineyard has won its reputation with wines of character, a generation of young winegrowers is revisiting the appellation's usual landmarks. They give the Tannat, the typical grape variety of the terroir, a new dimension full of freshness. Simon Capmartin is one of those. Firstly, because it leads the cultivation of its vines with an ethical commitment: labeled organic since 2013, it pushes environmental respect even further by coming closer to the principles of biodynamics. Then because the landscape evolution in Domaine Capmartin is constant. Biodiversity is a priority. If its vines benefit from a nourishing and protective plant cover, the vineyard is also enriched by protective fringes where the establishment of fruit trees is gradually denser.

Ancestral vines

Le Capmartin domain enjoys a land of 20 hectares spread over hillsides. The clay-limestone soil sees the emergence in places of a mother rock that the ancients exploited in the form of a quarry. A convent later settled on the site and now gives its name to a few cuvées. The wines are included here in three appellations: Madiran, Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh et Cotes de Gascony. The terroir produces well-structured wines, the Capmartin domain containing plots of old vines, some of which date from the pre-phylloxera period. For the reds, the Tannat typical of Madiran there is largely dominant, supported by Cabernet Franc and Sauvignon. For the whites, this Gascon terroir brings together large and small Manseng, small Courbu, Syrah, Chardonnay, Sauvignon gris and white. In order to base the wines on aromatic potential, density, maturation and controlled yields are the rule.

Wines on the fruit

Au Capmartin domain, the aging in vats serves a typicality anchored in the fruit. The three appellations vinified by Simon apply to this bias. The cuvée 100% Tannat, without added sulphites, is the most demonstrative expression. Breaking with common woody alliances in Madiran, it enhances the aromatic bouquet of the grape variety while demonstrating that its tannic reputation can be tamed perfectly. This spontaneous French wine coexists with other cuvées aged in the tradition. TheSpirit of the Convent, a Madiran slowly matured in new oak barrels, is indicative of this style which reconciles fruit and freshness with silky tannins. In Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, the opening is a dry white dominated by the aromatic freshness of Gros Manseng, then delicately accentuated by bursts of citrus fruit of Petit Manseng and the flowery finesse of Petit Courbu. In a soft version, the Cuvee du Couvent made from 100% Petit Manseng combines a rich sparkle of candied fruit with the toasted notes of barrel aging. If we add to the catalog the wines produced in IGP Côtes de Gascogne, we will understand that the Domaine Capmartin enjoys a beautiful expressive amplitude, enhanced by a virtuous environmental approach.

learn more The wines of Madiran

French FR English EN

Domaine Capmartin


Au Domaine Capmartin, dans le vignoble de Madiran, l’heure du renouveau a sonné. Vinifiant dans un esprit qui concilie respect de l’environnement et nouvelle expression du terroir, Simon Capmartin donne corps à des vins particulièrement séduisants.


Un nouveau Madiran

Si le vignoble de Madiran a conquis sa réputation par des vins de caractère, une génération de jeunes vignerons revisite les repères habituels de l’appellation. Ils confèrent au Tannat, le cépage typique du terroir, une nouvelle dimension pleine de fraîcheur. Simon Capmartin est de ceux-là. D’abord parce qu’il mène avec un engagement éthique la culture de ses vignes : labellisé bio depuis 2013, il pousse encore plus avant le respect environnemental en se rapprochant des principes de la biodynamie. Ensuite parce que l’évolution paysagère au Domaine Capmartin est constante. La biodiversité est une priorité. Si ses vignes bénéficient d’un couvert végétal nourricier et protecteur, le vignoble s’enrichit également de franges protectrices où se densifie progressivement l’implantation d’arbres fruitiers.

Des vignes ancestrales

Le domaine Capmartin jouit d’un terroir de 20 hectares déployés en coteaux. Le sol argilo-calcaire voit émerger par endroit une roche mère que les anciens exploitait sous forme de carrière. Un couvent s’installa plus tard sur le site et donne désormais son nom à quelques cuvées. Les vins s’inscrivent ici dans trois appellations : Madiran, Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh et Côtes de Gascogne. Le terroir y produit des vins bien structurés, le domaine Capmartin recelant des parcelles de vieilles vignes dont certaines datent de la période préphylloxérique. Pour les rouges, le Tannat typique du Madiran s’y trouve largement dominant, appuyé par les Cabernets franc et sauvignon. Pour les blancs, ce terroir gascon réunit gros et petit Manseng, petit Courbu, Syrah, Chardonnay, Sauvignon gris et blanc. Afin d’assoir les vins sur les potentiels aromatiques, densité, maturations et rendements maîtrisés y sont de règle.

Des vins sur le fruit

Au domaine Capmartin, l’élevage en cuve sert une typicité ancrée sur le fruit. Les trois appellations vinifiées par Simon s’appliquent à ce parti pris. La cuvée 100% Tannat, sans sulfites ajoutés, en est l’expression la plus démonstrative. Rompant avec les alliances boisées courantes en Madiran, elle exalte le bouquet aromatique du cépage tout en démontrant que sa réputation tannique se dompte parfaitement. Ce vin de France tout en spontanéité cohabite avec d’autres cuvées élevées dans la tradition. L’Esprit du Couvent, un Madiran lentement mûri en fût de chênes neufs, est révélateur de ce style qui concilie fruit et fraîcheur avec des tannins soyeux. En Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, l’ouverture se fait sur un blanc sec dominé par la fraîcheur aromatique du gros Manseng, puis délicatement accentuée par les éclats d’agrumes du petit Manseng et les finesses fleuries du petit Courbu. En version moelleuse, la Cuvée du Couvent élaborée en 100 % petit Manseng marie un riche éclat des fruits confits aux notes toastées d’un élevage en fût. Si l’on rajoute au catalogue les vins produits en IGP Côtes de Gascogne, on comprendra que le Domaine Capmartin jouit d’une belle amplitude expressive, bonifiée par une démarche environnementale vertueuse.

Simon Capmartin - Vignoble de Madiran
Simon Capmartin – Vignoble de Madiran

Domaine Capmartinlocaliser Situer sur la carte
Le Couvent
32400 Maumusson-Laguian

telephone 05 62 69 87 88