Paraza Castle

Wines of Minervoischateau logo


In the Minervois vineyard, Paraza Castle is a charming residence built on a historic site. The wine estate attached to it has been in operation for several centuries. The Danglas family has been in charge of it since 2006 and signs expressive wines of grape varieties and terroir.


The Castle of Paraza

Le Paraza Castle is a historic XNUMXth century residencee century of which Pierre Paul Riquet was the most famous occupant. He lived there during the construction of the Canal du Midi, named at the time Canal du Roy. The building overlooks the waterway which is now a UNESCO World Heritage Site. The first level of the garden overlooks the vast Aude plain. Seven terraces then cascade down to the canal. The unique location of Paraza Castle in fact today a charming hotel with four suites converted into guest rooms. The wine industry has been established on the estate for several centuries. The Danglas family has been watching over the destiny of this 2006 hectare vineyard since 75. It is developing responsible viticulture there with the label High Environmental Quality (or HVE).

The Paraza vineyard

The vines extend on hillsides over alluvial soil where clay-limestone substrates rub shoulders with veins of siliceous pebbles from the Montagne Noire. On this sunny terroir frequently swept by the mischievous winds of Minervois, the average age of the grape varieties is around thirty years. Reserved for the highest cuvées of the Paraza Castle, the oldest vines announce 65 years of age. If the latter include Syrah, Grenache noir and Mourvèdre by tradition, they have learned to coexist with Merlot, Cabernet franc, Pinot noir, Marselan and Roussane. This rich palette prefigures a taste of winemaking playing with complex effects depending on the vintage. The wines from reasoned yields are made in a 102-meter-long cellar, the volume of which offers good latitude for vinification. The temperature is naturally regulated there by a stone enclosure with thick walls. The deep alley of the vats is prolonged there by a vast cellar where the wines of the domain are appreciated in a neat setting.

Wines of Paraza

Au Paraza Castle the development of fruity and balanced wines motivates the work in the cellar. Range Velvet, in white and red, reflects quite well this search for an elegance matched with the typicities of Minervois. The Red velvet, made from Syrah, Grenache and Mourvèdre, expresses more particularly this southern signature which offers red fruits highlights of spices structured by silky tannins. The expression of power is accentuated with the cuvée Ad Vinam Aeternam. The alliance of Syrah, Grenache and Mourvèdre comes to seek another complexity brought by the aging in oak barrels. As for the strength of the fruit sitting on the breaths of spices and the supple accent of the tannins, it is in In Vino Veritas that she recognizes herself. With Bad rosie, the rosé reveals a fruity and freshness that the vintages Palma de Mallorca relay with even more nuance. Vinified in white and rosé, then mainly aged in barrels, they bear the signature of the entire Danglas family. Because in Palma de Mallorca converge the initials of each first name: Pascal, Annick, Lucile, Matthieu, Antoine. This means that the wines of Château de Paraza are defined by a united quest for elegance and quality. This character is expressed in its highest will with the rare cuvées that are the X and MMV. But they also say themselves in all spontaneity with the collection Oh La La, designed for fun and conviviality.

learn more The wines of Minervois

French FR English EN

Château de Paraza


Dans le vignoble du Minervois, le Château de Paraza est une demeure de charme édifiée sur un site historique. Le domaine viticole qui lui est rattaché est exploité depuis plusieurs siècles. La famille Danglas en assure la destinée depuis 2006 et signe des vins expressifs des cépages et du terroir.


Le Château de Paraza

Le Château de Paraza est une demeure historique du XVIIe siècle dont Pierre Paul Riquet fut le plus célèbre occupant. Il y résida lors de la construction du Canal du Midi, nommé à l’époque Canal du Roy. L’édifice surplombe la voie d’eau aujourd’hui classée au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO. Le premier niveau de jardin domine la vaste plaine de l’Aude. Sept terrasses descendent ensuite en cascade jusqu’au canal. L’implantation unique du Château de Paraza en fait aujourd’hui un lieu hôtelier de charme offrant quatre suites aménagées en chambres d’hôtes. L’activité viticole est implantée sur le domaine depuis plusieurs siècles. La famille Danglas veille depuis 2006 à la destinée de ce vignoble de 75 hectares. Elle y développe une viticulture responsable labellisée Haute Qualité Environnementale.

Le Vignoble de Paraza

Les vignes s’étendent en coteaux sur un sol alluvionnaire où les substrats argilo-calcaire côtoient des veines de galets siliceux issus de la Montagne Noire. Sur ce terroir bien ensoleillé et fréquemment balayé par les vents espiègles du Minervois, la moyenne d’âge des cépages est d’une trentaine d’années. Réservées aux plus hautes cuvées du Château de Paraza, les plus vieilles vignes annoncent quant à elles 65 ans d’âge. Si ces dernières comptent Syrah, Grenache noir et Mourvèdre par tradition, elles ont appris à cohabiter avec les Merlot, Cabernet franc, Pinot noir, Marselan et Roussane. Cette riche palette préfigure un goût de la vinification jouant d’effets complexes selon les cuvées. Les vins issus de rendement raisonné sont élaborés dans un chai de 102 mètres de long dont le volume offre de belles latitudes pour vinifier. La température y est naturellement régulée par une enceinte de pierre aux murs épais. La profonde allée des cuves y est prolongée par un vaste caveau où s’apprécient dans un cadre soigné les vins du domaine.

Les Vins de Paraza

Au Château de Paraza l’élaboration de vins fruités et équilibrés motive le travail au chai. La gamme Velvet, en blanc et rouge, reflète assez bien cette recherche d’une élégance assortie des typicités du Minervois. Le Red Velvet, fait de Syrah, Grenache et Mourvèdre, exprime plus particulièrement cette signature méridionale qui offre aux fruits rouges des rehauts d’épices charpentés par des tanins soyeux. L’expression de la puissance s’accentue avec la cuvée Ad Vinam Æternam. L’alliance des Syrah, Grenache et Mourvèdre vient y chercher une autre complexité amenée par l’élevage en fût de chêne. Quant à la force du fruit assise sur les souffles d’épices et l’accent souple des tanins, c’est dans In Vino Veritas qu’elle se reconnaît. Avec Bad Rosie, le rosé révèle un fruité et une fraîcheur que les cuvées Palma relaient avec encore plus de nuance. Vinifiées en blanc et rosé, puis surtout élevées en fût, elles portent la signature de toute la famille Danglas. Car dans Palma convergent les initiales de chaque prénom : Pascal, Annick, Lucile, Matthieu, Antoine. C’est dire que les vins du Château de Paraza se définissent par une quête solidaire de l’élégance et de la qualité. Ce caractère s’exprime dans sa plus haute volonté avec les cuvées rares que sont la X et la MMV. Mais elles se disent aussi en toute spontanéité avec la collection Oh La La, conçue pour le plaisir et la convivialité.

Cuvées Palma et Ad Vinam - Château de Paraza - Minervois
Château de Paraza – Cuvées Palma, Ad Vinam Æternam et In Vino Veritas

Château de Parazalocaliser Situer sur la carte
1 Rue du Viala
11200 Paraza

telephone 07 78 19 16 41