Domaine Lerys

Fitou winesWines from CorbièresOrganic wines


À Villeneuve-les-Corbieres, in the heart ofPDO Fitou border of theAOP Corbieres, Alban and Anaïs Izard exploit the Domaine Lerys of which they ensure the heritage as the eighth generation of winegrowers.


First a landscape

Who says Fitou first speaks of one of the oldest AOP of Languedoc recognized since 1948. Its singularity is that it is split into two terroirs, one on the seafront around Leucate, the other in the highlands bordering on the Corbieres. Domaine Lerys is located in the Top Fitou which is characterized by its Carignan and Grenache vines, the oldest of which date back to 1905. The highest plots of the domain culminate at 238 m, a situation which gives this vineyard under Mediterranean influence a potential for freshness that distinguishes it from Fitou on the seafront. Established on a predominantly schist terroir, the wines are endowed with a characteristic mineral potential. And if they draw their specific profiles from the quality of their soils, they also convey the strength of a hilly landscape, where the layers of vines run towards the horizon of the Pyrenees which plunge into the Mediterranean.

A heritage vineyard

Au Domaine Lerys viticulture has been a family tradition for eight generations. After the war, when the economy called for collective solidarity, the family Izard was one of the cooperators. The first vintage bearing the domain's own signature dates from 1993. At that time, the family vineyard consisted of around thirty hectares, today brought to nearly sixty. Under the beneficial influence of the Mediterranean climate, where the regular presence of the wind and the low rainfall favor the natural robustness of the vines, the Domaine Lerys has been converting to organic since 2017. The approach promotes an ancestral vineyard whose average age of plantations hovers around fifty years. In the land of Fitou, the old Carignan and Grenache form the identity of the appellation and are commonly used alongside Syrah and Mourvèdre. They produce wines with well-structured profiles of which the Izard family strives to perpetuate the example.

Wines rooted in the terroir

In the cellar of Domaine Lerys, the parent rock crosses the walls. This shows how much the mineral power of soils is a dominant characteristic of Top Fitou. This strength is transmitted to the wines produced there in the purest exemplary nature of the appellation. It is based primarily on the length of aging which requires waiting until May following the harvest. Because the framework of these wines with dominant notes of black fruits and scents of garrigue is embroidered with a patience that works on the finesse of the tannins. The cuvée Tradition, assembling Carignan and Grenache, is the purest expression. Then when a touch of Syrah complicates the blend, they generate the cuvée Premium. When the old vines of Carignan are in the spotlight, the lasting marriage with Syrah is extended by a barrel aging of eighteen months which gives substance to the cuvée. Fustat. As for the deans of the Carignans, some of whom are over a hundred years old, they concentrate in the cuvée Belor, where their virtue unfolds after a nine-month vatting under marc followed by six months in barrels. If the Fitou are the exemplary production of Domaine Lerys, Corbières wines also respond present in red and white, as well as the Rivesaltes and Muscat de Rivesaltes, inseparable from this great Languedoc terroir.

YouTube video logo The wines of Domaine Lérys, by Alban Izard

Prev 1 of 1 NEXT
Prev 1 of 1 NEXT

Domaine Lerys

13 avenue des Hautes Corbières
11360 Villeneuve les Corbieres

phone 06 32 94 09 84 (Anais) / 06 49 53 27 33 (Alban)

French FR English EN

Domaine Lérys

Vins de FitouVins de Corbières


À Villeneuve les Corbières, au cœur de l’AOP Fitou frontalière de l’AOP Corbières, Alban et Anaïs Izard exploitent le Domaine Lérys dont ils assurent l’héritage au rang de la huitième génération de vignerons.


D’abord un paysage

Qui dit Fitou parle d’abord de l’une des plus anciennes AOP du Languedoc reconnue dès 1948. Sa singularité est d’être scindée en deux terroirs, l’un en front de mer autour de Leucate, l’autre en hautes terres limitrophes aux Corbières. Le Domaine Lérys se situe dans le Haut Fitou qui se caractérise par ses vignes de Carignan et Grenache dont les plus anciennes remontent jusqu’en 1905. Les plus hautes parcelles du domaine culminent à 238 m, situation qui confère à ce vignoble sous influence méditerranéenne un potentiel de fraîcheur qui le distingue des Fitou de front de mer. Implanté sur un terroir à dominante de schistes, les vins s’en trouvent dotés d’un potentiel minéral caractéristique. Et s’ils puisent à la qualité de leurs sols leurs profils spécifiques, ils véhiculent aussi la force d’un paysage vallonné, où les nappes de vignes courent vers l’horizon des Pyrénées qui plongent sur la Méditerranée.

Un vignoble patrimonial

Au Domaine Lérys la viticulture est de tradition familiale depuis huit générations. Après guerre, lorsque l’économie appelait à la solidarité collective, la famille Izard comptait au nombre des coopérateurs. Le premier millésime portant la signature propre au domaine date de 1993. À cette époque le vignoble familial comptait une trentaine d’hectares portés aujourd’hui à près d’une soixantaine. Sous l’influence bénéfique du climat méditerranéen, où la présence régulière du vent et la faiblesse des précipitations favorisent la robustesse naturelle de la vigne, le Domaine Lérys a engagé sa conversion bio depuis 2017. La démarche valorise un vignoble ancestral dont la moyenne d’âge des plantations oscille autour d’une cinquantaine d’années. En terre de Fitou, les vieux Carignan et Grenache forment l’identité de l’appellation et y côtoient couramment Syrah et Mourvèdre. Ils engendrent des vins aux profils bien structurés dont la famille Izard s’applique à perpétuer l’exemplarité.

Des vins enracinés au terroir

Dans le caveau du Domaine Lérys, la roche mère traverse les murs. C’est dire combien la puissance minérale des sols est un caractère dominant du Haut Fitou. Cette force est transmise aux vins qui y sont élaborés dans la plus pure exemplarité de l’appellation. Elle repose en premier lieu sur la durée d’élevage qui impose attente jusqu’au mois de mai suivant la vendange. Car la trame de ces vins aux notes dominantes de fruits noirs se brode avec une patience qui œuvre à la finesse des tanins. La cuvée Tradition, assemblant Carignan et Grenache, en est la plus pure expression. Puis lorsqu’une touche de Syrah vient complexifier l’assemblage, ils engendrent la cuvée Prestige. Lorsque les vieilles vignes de Carignan sont à l’honneur, le mariage durable avec la Syrah se prolonge par un élevage barrique de dix-huit mois qui donne corps à la cuvée Fustat. Quant aux doyens des Carignans dont certains plus que centenaires, ils se concentrent dans la cuvée Belor, où leur vertu se déploie après une cuvaison de neuf mois sous marc relayée par six mois de fût. Si les Fitou sont la production exemplaire du Domaine Lérys, les Corbières répondent également présents en rouge et blancs, ainsi que le Rivesaltes et le Muscat de Rivesaltes, indissociables de ce grand terroir du Languedoc.


Domaine Léryslocaliser Situer sur la carte
13 avenue des Hautes Corbières
11360 Villeneuve les Corbières

telephone 06 32 94 09 84 (Anaïs) / 06 49 53 27 33 (Alban)