Pelvillain vineyards

Cahors wineCôtes du Lot winesHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Established for several generations in the AOP Cahors terroir, Didier Pelvillain is the conductor of Vignobles Pelvillain. It produces on three different terroirs demonstrative wines of all the resources of the Cahors wine and the Malbec grape that characterizes it.


Three areas

The history of Vignobles Pelvillain is above all part of a family epic. The oldest records trace the use of land to five previous generations. The real wine revolution took place in the 2013s. This period marks the construction of the first cellar. It imposed itself with the development of the vineyard, which first established itself on the Château de Cénac then on the Château du Port. In 52, the Domaine du Théron was added to this initial potential. Today, Vignobles Pelvillain has XNUMX hectares of vines, divided into around sixty plots. The whole meshes a territory twenty kilometers long and ten wide, between Luzech and Puy-l'Évêque.

Three terroirs

The uniqueness of Vignobles Pelvillain is based on the resources offered by these three terroirs. Their division foreshadows varied specificities on an appellation where the Malbec grape variety is largely dominant. Because Cahors wine is first and foremost Malbec, to which the mosaic of Lot lands, structured between terraces and hillsides, gives a whole range of expressive variations. This is the case with the Vignobles Pelvillain where each of the three estates brings a singularity inscribed in the wine. the Cenac Castle occupies a plateau of brown clay and white or red sand, surmounted by ridges of limestone rocks. the Port Castle, established on the third terrace, is distinguished by its red clays and pebbles. As to Domaine Theron, it reveals cooler lands, made of ocher sands and ferruginous stones intersected by discrete sheets of clay.

Three wines

Didier Pelvillain is the prime contractor for winemaking. His personality infuses his wines with controlled qualities, demonstrating the potential of the three vineyards. Those of the Domaine du Théron are essential on two scales. With the cuvée Exposure, the choice of a vinification without sulfite delivers a Malbec full of crunch and a sincerity without veil. The fruit is preserved there in all power, well off from its original aromas reminiscent of blackcurrant and liquorice. With the Great Reserve from the same domain, Malbec becomes more complex. It will seek out the well-balanced tensions of a woody note which gives the ripe fruit an elegant toasted effect. Under the label Port Castle, we will find a Cahors wine more centered on the tradition of the appellation. The more insistent tannins on this terroir call for more sustained barrel aging. Amplitude, elegance and finesse then converge. The Château de Cénac is the cradle of the cuvée Eulalie. It is the top of the range of Vignobles Pelvillain, characterized by a wine with woody accents, just as voluminous as it is coated with sweetness. All these wines are also characterized by a singular minerality. Also present in the whites, it is the charm and the persistence on the finish of the cuvées Inspiration, made from Chardonnay or Gros Manseng.

video logo Didier Pelvillain presents his three estates

Prev 1 of 1 NEXT
Prev 1 of 1 NEXT

Cahors wines

The Cahors vineyard draws its specificity
of a native grape variety from the South-West: Malbec, more commonly called Côt in the appellation.

French FR English EN

Vignobles Pelvillain


Établi depuis plusieurs générations sur le terroir de l’AOP Cahors, Didier Pelvillain est le chef d’orchestre des Vignobles Pelvillain. Il produit sur trois terroirs différents des vins démonstratifs de toutes les ressources du Vin de Cahors et du cépage Malbec qui le caractérise.


Trois domaines

L’histoire des Vignobles Pelvillain s’inscrit avant tout dans une épopée familiale. Les archives les plus anciennes font remonter l’exploitation des terres jusqu’à cinq générations antérieures. La véritable révolution viticole s’est effectuée dans les années soixante-dix. Cette époque marque la construction de la première cave. Elle s’imposa avec l’essor du vignoble qui s’établit d’abord sur le Château de Cénac puis sur le Château du Port. À ce potentiel initial s’est rajouté en 2013 le Domaine du Théron. Les Vignobles Pelvillain ce sont aujourd’hui 52 hectares de vignes, découpés en une bonne soixantaine de parcelles. L’ensemble maille un territoire de vingt kilomètres de long et de dix de large, entre Luzech et Puy-l’Évêque.

Trois terroirs

La singularité des Vignobles Pelvillain repose sur les ressources offertes par ces trois terroirs. Leur découpage préfigure des spécificités variées sur une appellation où le cépage Malbec est largement dominant. Car le vin de Cahors, c’est d’abord le Malbec, auquel la mosaïque des terres lotoises, structurée entre terrasses et coteaux, confère toute une palette de variations expressives. Il en est ainsi sur les Vignobles Pelvillain où chacun des trois domaines apporte une singularité inscrite dans le vin. Le Château de Cénac occupe un plateau d’argiles brunes et de sables blanc ou rouge, surmonté en crêtes de rochers calcaires. Le Château du Port, établi en troisième terrasse, se distingue par ses argiles rouges et ses galets. Quant au Domaine du Théron, il révèle des terres plus fraîches, faites de sables ocres et de pierres ferrugineuses que des nappes discrètes d’argile entrecoupent.

Trois vins

Didier Pelvillain est le maître d’œuvre de la vinification. Sa personnalité insuffle à ses vins des qualités maîtrisées, bien démonstratives du potentiel des trois vignobles. Celles du Domaine du Théron s’imposent à deux échelles. Avec la cuvée Mise à Nu, le choix d’une vinification sans sulfite livre un Malbec plein de croquant et d’une sincérité sans voile. Le fruit s’y trouve préservé en toute puissance, bien loti de ses arômes originels aux évocations de cassis et réglisse. Avec la Grande Réserve du même domaine, le Malbec se complexifie. Il va chercher les tensions bien équilibrées d’un boisé qui apporte au fruit mûr un élégant effet toasté. Sous l’étiquette Château du Port, on trouvera un vin de Cahors plus centré sur la tradition de l’appellation. Les tanins plus insistants sur ce terroir appellent un élevage en fût plus soutenu. Amplitude, élégance et finesse s’y trouvent alors convergentes. Le Château de Cénac quant à lui est le berceau de la cuvée Eulalie. Elle est le haut de gamme des Vignobles Pelvillain, caractérisée par un vin aux accents boisés, tout autant volumineux qu’enrobé de douceur. Tous ces vins se caractérisent également par une minéralité singulière. Présente aussi dans les blancs, elle fait le charme et la persistance en finale des cuvées Inspiration, issues du Chardonnay ou du Gros manseng.

en savoir + Vignobles Pelvillain : médailles 2018

Vignobles Pelvillain - Vins de Cahors
Les cuvées des Vignobles Pelvillain – (l’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé)

http://www.vignoblespelvillain.com/


Vignobles Pelvillainlocaliser Situer sur la carte
Lieu-dit Circofoul – R.D.9
46140 Albas

telephone 05 65 20 13 13