Domain of Saoubis

Armagnacorganic and biodynamic


Whether we speak Armagnac or Liqueur, at Domaine de Saoubis everything is orchestrated by respect for nature and the desire to restore the intact strength of essences and plant aromas. Maurice de Mandelaëre has a mastery of it which is to be tasted with pleasure just as much as it is heard with passion.


An Armagnac in the heart of nature

The Domaine de Saoubis is established in Bas-Armagnac. Its 10 hectare vineyard is surrounded by woods and moors which provide natural protection. Because Maurice de Mandelaëre has been cultivating his vines there according to the principles of biodynamics since 1997. On this island of unspoiled nature, he works to produce Armagnac and liqueurs using the most respectful techniques for the plant and the terroir. Its range of spirits resembles it: sincere and joyful, subtle and heady. His story is as fascinating as his way of distilling Folle Blanche or infusing the organic plants that make the soul of his liqueurs. The Domaine de Saoubis smells of warm welcome and the subtle art of sublimating vines and plants.

Armagnac and Folle Blanche

The grape variety brings together Folle Blanche, Colombard and Baco on a favorable terroir. A unique feature of Domaine Saoubis, the Folle Blanche dominates the surfaces. Demanding diva of the Armagnac vineyards, she indulges herself with Maurice de Mandelaëre in a distillation that pushes free-run juice to its highest expression. His Blanche d'Armagnac imposes itself in all virginity, powerful with its aromatic alcohols that a natural sweetness elegantly tempers. From this very refined purity it inherits its expressive nomination: White diamond. When it marries oak wood it first reveals itself in straw-yellow shards in its early youth. At the Domaine de Saoubis it was then called Opal. When it becomes the fruit of long aging, its dress is a fruity and reasoned amber, free from any cosmetic that would disturb the balance and appearance given by simple nature. Thus, all the Armagnacs of Domaine Saoubis come in a solar robe that no other arrangement has darkened over the ages.

Liqueurs and Bisou

As with Maurice de Mandelaëre, nature is never left out, liqueurs spice things up. Worked by infusion or extraction, refined by a mastered experience of the plant, they sing the fig, the rose, the lemon, the orange. Approaching more powerful expressions, they enlist Linden, Pine, Lavender. Each one combines the aromatic powers of essential oils with the sweetness of organic sugars and the moderate strength of eaux-de-vie. Without forgetting that Saoubis is also the Bisou. A play on words to name a voluptuous liqueur wine which combines the must of the Baco grape variety with a 6-year-old Armagnac. This accent of tenderness, which is also a pleasant form of hospitality, sums up the man and his work. With Maurice de Mandelaëre, everything is orchestrated by respect for nature and the art of restoring in his Armagnacs and liqueurs the intact strength of essences and plant powers.

YouTube
Interview with Maurice de Mandelaà «re on Youtube

Côtes de Gascogne wines

The Côtes de Gascogne vineyard, typical of the Gers and the “wines of the South-West”, is also inseparable from the land of Armagnac.

French FR English EN

Domaine de Saoubis

Armagnacbio et biodynamique


Que l’on parle Armagnac ou Liqueur, au Domaine de Saoubis tout est orchestré par le respect de la nature et la volonté de restituer la force intacte des essences et des arômes végétaux. Maurice de Mandelaëre en possède une maîtrise qui se goûte avec plaisir tout autant qu’elle s’entend avec passion.


Un Armagnac de pleine nature

Le Domaine de Saoubis est établi en Bas-Armagnac. Son vignoble de 10 hectares est entouré de bois et landes qui en assurent la protection naturelle. Car Maurice de Mandelaëre y cultive ses vignes selon les principes de la biodynamie depuis 1997. Sur cet ilot de nature préservée, il œuvre à une production d’Armagnac et de liqueurs selon les techniques les plus respectueuses de la plante et du terroir. Sa gamme de spiritueux lui ressemble : sincère et joyeuse, subtile et capiteuse. Son récit est aussi passionnant que sa manière de distiller la Folle Blanche ou d’infuser les plantes bios qui font l’âme de ses liqueurs. Le Domaine de Saoubis fleure le bon accueil et l’art subtil de sublimer la vigne et le végétal.

L’Armagnac et la Folle Blanche

L’encépagement fait cohabiter Folle Blanche, Colombard et Baco sur un terroir propice. Trait singulier du Domaine Saoubis, la Folle Blanche domine les surfaces. Diva exigeante des vignobles de l’Armagnac, elle se livre chez Maurice de Mandelaëre dans une distillation qui pousse le jus de goutte à sa plus haute expression. Sa Blanche d’Armagnac s’impose en toute virginité, puissante de ses alcools aromatiques qu’une sucrosité naturelle tempère élégamment. De cette pureté très raffinée elle hérite sa nomination expressive : Diamant blanc. Lorsqu’elle épouse le bois de chêne elle se livre d’abord en éclats jaune paille dans sa prime jeunesse. Au Domaine de Saoubis elle se nomme alors Opale. Lorsqu’elle devient le fruit de longs vieillissements, elle corse sa robe d’un ambre fruité et raisonné, exempt de tout cosmétique qui troublerait l’équilibre et l’apparence donnés par la simple nature. Ainsi, tous les Armagnacs du Domaine Saoubis se présentent en robe solaire qu’aucun autre arrangement ne vient assombrir au fil des âges.

Les Liqueurs et le Bisou

Comme avec Maurice de Mandelaëre la nature n’est jamais en reste, les liqueurs corsent le bal. Travaillées par infusion ou extraction, affinées par une expérience maîtrisée de la plante, elles chantent la Figue, la Rose, le Citron, l’Orange. Approchant de plus puissantes expressions, elles enrôlent le Tilleul, le Pin, la Lavande. Chacune allie les puissances aromatiques des huiles essentielles avec la douceur des sucres biologiques et la force tempérée des eaux-de-vie. Sans oublier que Saoubis c’est aussi le Bisou. Un jeu de mot facétieux pour nommer un voluptueux vin de liqueur qui marie le moût du cépage Baco avec un Armagnac de 6 ans. Cet accent de tendresse qui est aussi une forme aimable de l’accueil résume à lui seul l’homme et son œuvre. Avec Maurice de Mandelaëre, tout est orchestré par le respect de la nature et l’art de restituer dans ses Armagnacs et ses liqueurs la force intacte des essences et des puissances végétales.

Domaine de Saoubis - Liqueur de Lavande
Domaine de Saoubis – Liqueur Dame Douce à la Lavande

en savoir + http://www.mandelaere.com/fr/


Domaine de Saoubislocaliser Situer sur la carte
Le Sauby
32800 Ayzieu

telephone +33 (0)5 62 09 92 52
fax +33 (0)5 62 09 97 73
email écrire au Domaine de Saoubis