Clos Castell

Roussillon wines


Between cellar and garden, from Mas Guillaume to the terraced vineyards that surround it, the Clos Castell offers a site and Collioure and Banyuls wines intimately tied to one of the rarest terroirs of Roussillon.


Between chemistry and alchemy

Au Clos Castell, viticulture has been a tradition for three generations. In 1998, it was Jean-Christophe José who took over from the family. Endowed with solid knowledge in chemistry - background conducive to serving the production of wines - he watches over a heritage of vines rooted in the schists of Banyuls-sur-Mer. The domain runs on the slopes which dominate the Mas Guillaume, seat of the ancestral home with centuries-old walls. On this rocky land, Grenaches and Carignans have pride of place. The cup size forges a landscape where the vines in bouquet punctuate the mineral slopes on all sides. Minerality that determines the profile of these wines from a land where two appellations overlap: Collioure et Banyuls. Because the art of the winegrower in these Catalan lands requires dominating the alchemy of dry wines as well as natural sweet wines.

Between the schist and the vine

Below the Clos Castell catch a glimpse Banyuls sur Mer. From these sometimes steep-sided reliefs, the Mediterranean can be guessed more than it is seen. Some days, the wind which sweeps it up to the foam rises strongly among the vines. They have become accustomed to the squall. They have no pretension to grow: they stand well on their low and thick stocks. They draw a sap from the mineral soil that the sun concentrates. The yields are earth-like: not exuberant but strong in character. Here, plant competition is a fight between species. The choice to grass the vineyard imposes a selection of the least invasive endemic plants. Jean-Christophe José is attached to it, with the project of raising the environmental quality of the area.

Between the cellar and the garden

Taste a Collioure or an Banyulsis to savor the radiance of mineral earth and the power of its sap. At Clos Castell also counts the privacy of the cellar and the garden. Because if the Collioure wines keep quiet in the cellar, the Banyuls gain the outside and the terraces. Some seek shade and shelter so that the tannins round out and the bouquets develop. The others call on oxygen and the sun which concentrate their sugars and make their juices more complex. Thus are tasted in the first place red wines and white wines. First a Collioure Red, made from old Grenache and Carignan which develops its bouquet of red fruits and spices in familiar contact with the new wood barrel. Then a Collioure White, where the Grenaches Gris, always in contact with a discreet wood, come to establish their mineral complexity on a marriage of flowers and citrus fruits.

Between the shade and the sun

Au Clos Castell, when the musts are transformed into natural sweet wines, a Banyuls Rimage concentrated on bright notes of cherry and spices. When aging is prolonged in barrels, it generates a Traditional Banyuls, patiently enriched with notes of nuts, cocoa and prunes. If the breeding continues in glass bottles exposed to the sun, comes day one Banyuls-Rancio with accents of caramel and candied oranges. Ultimate elegance is in a Banyuls Grand Cru that it is expressed. Here, the oldest Grenache vines will offer juices of the highest expression after 30 months of oxidative aging. They then reveal their powerful aromatic structures, where morello cherries compete with chocolate, where roasted coffee flirts with fig.

The delicacies of Clos Castell

Clos Castell - Banyuls chocolates

On these slopes where the vines generate concentrated flavors, Jean-Christophe Jose has chosen to explore his Grenaches to all their potential. This is how we also find the Banyuls chocolates white or red, the Saffron jelly with white Banyuls, Confit of Figs with Banyuls and Banyuls Wine Vinegar.

video logo

Clos Castell

Chemin du Mas Guillaume
66650 Banyuls-sur-Mer

French FR English EN

Clos Castell

Vins du Roussillon


Entre chai et jardin, du Mas Guillaume aux vignobles en terrasses qui l’environnent, le Clos Castell offre un site et des vins  de Collioure et Banyuls intimement noués à l’un des plus rares terroirs du Roussillon.


Entre chimie et alchimie

Au Clos Castell, la viticulture est de tradition depuis trois générations. En 1998, c’est Jean-Christophe Jose qui a pris la relève familiale. Doté de solides connaissances en chimie – bagage propice à servir l’élaboration des vins – il veille sur un patrimoine de vignes enracinées dans les schistes de Banyuls-sur-Mer. Le domaine court sur les coteaux qui dominent le Mas Guillaume, siège du foyer ancestral aux murs centenaires. Sur cette terre rocailleuse les Grenaches et les Carignans ont la part belle. La taille en gobelet forge un paysage où la vigne en bouquet ponctue de toutes parts les pentes minérales. Minéralité qui détermine le profil de ces vins issus d’un terroir où se superposent deux appellations : Collioure et Banyuls. Car l’art du vigneron en ces terres catalanes requiert de dominer l’alchimie des vins secs comme des vins doux naturels.

Entre le schiste et la vigne

En contrebas du Clos Castell s’entrevoit Banyuls-sur-mer. Depuis ces reliefs parfois encaissés, la Méditerranée se devine plus qu’elle ne s’aperçoit. Certains jours, le vent qui la balaie jusqu’à l’écume remonte fort parmi les vignes. Celles-ci se sont accoutumées à la bourrasque. Elles n’ont pas de prétention à grandir : elles se tiennent bien calées sur leurs ceps bas et épais. Elles puisent profondément dans le sol minéral une sève que le soleil concentre. Les rendements ressemblent à la terre : peu exubérants mais forts de caractère. Ici, la concurrence végétale est un combat entre espèces. Le choix d’enherber le vignoble impose une sélection des plantes endémiques les moins envahissantes. Jean-Christophe Jose s’y attache, portant pour projet d’élever la qualité environnementale du domaine.

Entre le chai et le jardin

Déguster un Collioure ou un Banyuls, c’est savourer l’éclat d’une terre minérale et la puissance de sa sève. Au Clos Castell compte aussi l’intimité du chai et du jardin. Car si les vins de Collioure se tiennent tranquilles à la cave, les Banyuls gagnent l’extérieur et les terrasses. Les uns recherchent l’ombre et l’abri pour que s’arrondissent les tanins et se développent les bouquets. Les autres appellent l’oxygène et le soleil qui concentrent leurs sucres et complexifient leurs sucs. Ainsi se dégustent en premier lieu les vins secs. D’abord un Collioure Rouge, fait de vieux Grenache et Carignan qui développe son bouquet de fruits rouges et d’épices au contact familier du fût de bois neuf. Ensuite un Collioure Blanc, où les Grenaches Gris, toujours au contact d’un bois discret, viennent assoir leur complexité minérale sur un mariage de fleurs et d’agrumes.

Entre l’ombre et le soleil

Au Clos Castell, lorsque les mouts sont mutés en vins doux naturels, s’invite d’abord un Banyuls Rimage concentré sur des notes éclatantes de cerise et d’épices. Lorsque le vieillissement se prolonge en barrique, il engendre un Banyuls Traditionnel, patiemment enrichi de notes de noix, de cacao, de pruneaux. Si l’élevage se poursuit en bonbonnes de verre exposées au soleil, vient au jour un Banyuls Rancio aux accents de caramel et oranges confites. L’élégance ultime c’est dans un Banyuls Grand Cru qu’elle s’énonce. Ici, les plus vieilles vignes de Grenache vont offrir des jus de la plus haute expression après 30 mois d’élevage oxydatif. Ils révèlent alors leurs puissantes structures aromatiques, où la griotte le dispute au chocolat, où le café torréfié flirte avec la figue.

Les Gourmandises du Clos Castell

Clos Castell - Chocolats au BanyulsSur ces coteaux où la vigne engendre des concentrés de saveur, Jean-Christophe Jose a choisi d’explorer ses Grenaches dans tous leurs potentiels. C’est ainsi que l’on trouve aussi au domaine les Chocolats au Banyuls blanc ou rouge, la Gelée de Safran au Banyuls blanc, le Confit de Figues au Banyuls et le Vinaigre de Vin au Banyuls.

https://closcastell.fr/


Clos Castelllocaliser Situer sur la carte
Chemin du Mas Guillaume
66650 Banyuls-sur-Mer

telephone 06 07 36 80 45


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.