Chateau Clamens

Wines of FrontonHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Established on the vineyard of Fronton, but producing much more than strictly appellation wines, Chateau Clamens stands out as a demonstrative signature of the richness of its terroir.


Château Clamens in signature

Chateau Clamens is the result of the work of five generations of winegrowers. First engaged in cooperative activity, the estate gradually turned towards the production of its own wines during the XNUMXs. This autonomy has been conquered by Jean-Michel Bégué who still oversees the management of the vineyard. A master of viticultural and wine-growing activities, he now works together with Stefan Heppelmann, who has become the owner of Chateau Clamens in 2012. The alliance of the two men, the perfect technician of wines of Fronton, the other passionate about French wines, directed the estate towards the definition of new cuvées, each presenting itself as a signature and a specific expression of the terroir. Constancy, prestige and elegance could be announced as the motto of choice.

Stefan Heppelmann – Owner of Château Clamens – AOP Fronton

Wines in three colors

À Fronton, the grape variety Négrette is the beating heart of the appellation. AT Chateau Clamens the approach is nuanced by the desire to produce a range of wines much more oriented towards the expression of the vine and the soil. On this soil of boulbènes – these sandy clays typical of the frontonnais – the grape variety offers a palette focused on the production of red and rosé wines which endeavor to push towards their most elegant potential Négrette, Syrah and Cabernet Franc. White wines are also present in the range, made from Chardonnay or Gros Manseng harvested from an associated vineyard. Where other estates make Négrette the mainstay of winemaking, Chateau Clamens stands out first and foremost for its signature wines where rosés, for example, take pride of place. Because Fronton often known for its reds, it is also a great land for rosé wines, as the estate demonstrates.

Julie rosé by Château Clamens

Between Four JU and Characters

The range of wines from Chateau Clamens wants to be clear and distinct in its typicities. The collection of 4 JU is its most emblematic expression. The first name of Jules baptizes a fruity red where the largely dominant Négrette summons a subtle balance by combining with Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet. In a straw dress, Justine announces a Chardonnay whose freshness is adorned with floral accents. Ambassador of rosé, the cuvée Julie unfolds an elegant robe with pale pink transparencies where evocations of citrus fruits and strawberries intertwine. With a nod to nearby Gascony, a 100% Gros Manseng comes to close the series under the name of Juliette with an aromatic amplitude well balanced by the sweet crunch of the fruit. In pure expression of thedesignation Fronton, the domain is also distinguished by a red appropriately named Print. Beneath its deep black silhouette where the golden signature of Chateau Clamens turns out to be a patiently matured wine. Taking advantage of the discreet influence of wood, it gives substance to a wine of Fronton very well demonstrative of the distinctive elegance of the estate.

Focus on the Julie and Caractères cuvées

Chateau Clamens

740 Caillol Road
31620 Fronton

phone 05 61 82 45 32

French FR English EN

Château Clamens


Établi sur le vignoble de Fronton, mais produisant bien plus que des vins de stricte appellation, Château Clamens s’avance comme une signature démonstrative de la richesse de son terroir.

 


 

Château Clamens en signature

Château Clamens est le fruit du travail de trois générations de vignerons. D’abord engagé dans l’activité coopérative, le domaine s’est progressivement orienté vers la production de ses propres vins dans le courant des années quatre-vingt-dix. Cette autonomie a été conquise par Jean-Michel Bégué qui veille toujours à la conduite du vignoble. Maître des activités viticole et vinicole, il travaille aujourd’hui de concert avec Stefan Heppelmann, devenu propriétaire de Château Clamens en 2012. L’alliance des deux hommes, l’un parfait technicien des vins de Fronton, l’autre passionné de vins français, a orienté le domaine vers la définition de nouvelles cuvées se présentant chacune comme une signature et un expression spécifique du terroir. Constance, prestige et élégance pourraient s’annoncer comme devise de choix.

Des vins en trois couleurs

À Fronton, le cépage Négrette est le cœur battant de l’appellation. À Château Clamens l’approche se trouve nuancée par la volonté de produire une gamme de vins beaucoup plus orientée sur l’expression de la vigne et du sol. Sur ce terroir de boulbènes – ces argiles sableuses typiques du frontonnais – l’encépagement se présente comme une palette largement réceptive à la production de vins en trois couleurs. Rouges, blancs et rosés s’appliquent à pousser vers leurs plus élégantes ressources Négrette, Syrah, Cabernet franc, Chardonnay ou encore Gros manseng. Là où d’autres domaines font de la Négrette le pilier des vinifications, Château Clamens se distingue par ce qui s’avance d’abord comme une signature où les rosés, par exemple, prennent une place de choix. Car Fronton souvent connu pour ses rouges est aussi une grande terre à rosés comme en fait démonstration le domaine.

Entre Quatre JU et Caractères

La gamme des vins de Château Clamens se veut claire et distincte dans ses typicités. La collection des 4 JU s’en fait la plus probante expression. Le prénom de Jules baptise un rouge fruité où la Négrette largement dominante convoque un subtil équilibre en s’alliant avec Syrah, Merlot et Cabernet. En robe paille, Justine annonce un Chardonnay dont la fraîcheur se pare d’accents floraux. Ambassadrice du rosé, la cuvée Julie déroule une élégante robe aux transparences rose pâle où tournoient les évocations d’agrumes et de fraises. Faisant clin d’œil à la Gascogne toute proche, un 100% Gros manseng vient clore la série sous le prénom de Juliette avec une amplitude aromatique bien équilibrée par le doux croquant du fruit. En pure expression de l’appellation Fronton, Château Clamens se distingue également par un rouge nommé à bon escient Caractères. Sous sa silhouette de noir profond où s’allume la signature dorée de Château Clamens se révèle un vin d’élevage. Tirant parti de l’influence discrète du bois, il donne corps à un vin de Fronton fort bien démonstratif de l’élégance distinctive du domaine.

https://www.chateauclamens-fronton.com/


Château Clamenslocaliser Situer sur la carte
740 Chemin de Caillol
31620 Fronton

telephone 05 61 82 45 32