Domaine Saint Martin


Close to the medieval city of Carcassonne classified Grand Site of Occitanie, the Domaine Saint Martin is an emblematic family property of theIGP City of Carcassonne and more specifically the viticultural qualities that characterize the appellation.


A bucolic environment

About ten kilometers south of Carcassonne, towards Limoux, is the small village of Leuc. After the town you meet a small road on the left which winds through the heart of a valley bordered by vines. Dug over time immemorial by the Saint Martin stream, it stretches to a wooded island where you can discover the cellar, cellar and family home. Near the site stands a wind turbine whose stature announces from a distance the proximity of the buildings. the domain saint martin thus forms an enclave enclosed in a modest valley on the sides of which rise with density the surfaces of vines. On the heights, the wooded peaks set their limit from a reasonable altitude of about two hundred meters This folded landscape of valleys and hills, where the plots of vines coexist with Mediterranean vegetation as in Corbieres neighbours, gives a bucolic identity to this typical terroir of theIGP City of Carcassonne.

Henri Cases (left) and the entire Domaine Saint Martin team

Climate convergence

Henry Cases is the name of the winemaker. Like his twin brother Philippe who manages a vineyard on a neighboring land, Henri manages the family heritage in the position of heir to the fourth generation. At domain saint martin, the vines extend over one hundred and fifty hectares spread over sunny hillsides. The predominantly clay-limestone soils are interspersed with gravelly layers. On this western terroir of Languedoc, the well-ventilated climate is divided between oceanic and Mediterranean influences. Witnesses to the climatic crossbreeding, the southwestern grape varieties coexist with the southeastern grape varieties. This mix is ​​a local singularity that can also be found on the land bordering the Cabardès and Malepere. Thus, at domain saint martin, the red wines come from Merlot and Cabernets as well as Syrah and Carignan. To the list are added Marselan, Caladoc or Pinot noir. On these southern lands where the cool nights compensate for the daytime heat, white wines are also present. They come primarily from Chardonnay, which is particularly well suited to these terroirs, supplemented by Sauvignon.

Rosé Saint Martin and cuvée 1919 – Domaine Saint Martin – IGP Cité de Carcassonne wines

Singular cuvées

Red wines are the majority as it should be in Languedoc. Each cuvée is unique in the story that motivates it. Among those, Thank you! vinified in 100% Marselan recounts in watermark the happy outcome of a perilous event that marked the life of the winemaker. The vintage 1919, a skilful balance between a majority Merlot and the complementary notes of Marselan, Syrah, Carbernet and Caladoc, commemorates the centenary of the estate by bearing the joint signature of the twin brothers, Henri and Philippe Cases. the Dream of Joe, which celebrates the memory of great-grandfather Joseph, brings to the fore the double oceanic and Mediterranean influence by seeking the optimal balance between Syrah and Cabernet Franc. On summer tables, the freshness potential of the terroir is revealed with the Saint-Martin rosé, resulting from the original marriage of Caladoc and Chenanson. This freshness, which is one of the expressive potentials of Domaine Saint Martin, is expressed even more precisely with the Dream of Joe in its white wine version, a cuvée in pure Chardonnay aged on fine lees and slightly woody.

Domaine Saint Martin

11250 Leuc

phone + 06 29 30 28 15

French FR English EN

Domaine Saint Martin


Proche de la cité médiévale de Carcassonne classée Grand Site d’Occitanie, le Domaine Saint Martin est une propriété familiale emblématique de l’IGP Cité de Carcassonne et plus précisément des qualités viticoles qui caractérisent l’appellation.


Un environnement bucolique

À une dizaine de kilomètres au sud de Carcassonne, en direction de Limoux, se trouve le petit village de Leuc. Passée l’agglomération se rencontre sur la gauche une petite route qui sillonne au cœur d’un vallon bordé de vignes. Creusé au fil de temps immémoriaux par le ruisseau de Saint Martin, il s’étire jusqu’à un ilot arboré où se découvrent chai, caveau et maison familiale. À proximité du site s’élève une éolienne dont la stature annonce à distance la proximité des bâtiments. Le domaine Saint Martin forme ainsi une enclave enserrée dans une modeste vallée sur les flancs de laquelle s’élèvent avec densité les surfaces de vignes. Sur les hauteurs, les sommets boisés leur fixent limite depuis une altitude raisonnable d’environ deux-cents mètres Ce paysage plissé de vallons et collines, où les parcelles de vignes cohabitent avec une végétation méditerranéenne comme en Corbières voisines, confère une identité bucolique à ce terroir typique de l’IGP Cité de Carcassonne.

Henri Cases (à gauche) et toute l’équipe du Domaine Saint Martin

Une convergence climatique

Henri Cases est le nom du vigneron. Comme son frère jumeau Philippe qui gère pour sa part un vignoble sur un terroir voisin, Henri assure la gestion du patrimoine familial en position d’héritier de la quatrième génération. Au domaine Saint Martin, les vignes s’étendent sur cent-cinquante hectares déployés sur des coteaux bien ensoleillés. Les sols à dominante argilo-calcaire sont entrecoupés de nappes graveleuses. Sur ce terroir occidental du Languedoc, le climat bien ventilé se partage entre influences océaniques et méditerranéennes. Témoins du métissage climatique, les cépages du sud-ouest cohabitent avec les cépages du sud-est. Cette mixité est une singularité locale que l’on retrouve également sur les terroirs limitrophes du Cabardès et de la Malepère. Ainsi, au domaine Saint Martin, les vins rouges sont issus des Merlot et Cabernets tout autant que des Syrah et Carignan. À la liste se rajoutent Marselan, Caladoc ou Pinot noir. Sur ces terres méridionales où les fraîcheurs nocturnes compensent les chaleurs diurnes, les vins blancs sont aussi présents. Ils sont issus en premier lieu du Chardonnay qui se plait particulièrement sur ces terroirs, complété par le Sauvignon.

Rosé Saint Martin et cuvée 1919 – Domaine Saint Martin – Vins IGP Cité de Carcassonne

Des cuvées singulières

Les vins rouges sont majoritaires comme il se doit en Languedoc. Chaque cuvée est singulière par le récit qui la motive. Parmi celles-ci, Merci ! vinifiée en 100% Marselan relate en filigrane l’heureuse issue d’un événement périlleux qui a marqué la vie du vigneron. La cuvée 1919, savant équilibre entre un Merlot majoritaire et les notes complémentaires de Marselan, Syrah, Carbernet et Caladoc, commémore le centenaire du domaine en portant signature conjointe des frères jumeaux, Henri et Philippe Cases. Le Rêve de Jo, qui célèbre la mémoire de l’arrière-grand-père Joseph, projette au premier plan la double influence océanique et méditerranéenne en recherchant l’équilibre optimal entre Syrah et Cabernet franc. Sur les tables de l’été, le potentiel de fraîcheur du terroir se révèle avec le rosé Saint Martin, issu du mariage original du Caladoc et du Chenanson. Cette fraîcheur qui est l’un des potentiels expressifs du Domaine Saint Martin s’exprime encore plus précisément avec le Rêve de Jo dans sa version vin blanc, une cuvée en pur Chardonnay élevé sur lies fines et légèrement boisé.

Domaine Saint Martin

11250 Leuc

telephone 06 29 30 28 15

French FR English EN