Sauzet Estate

pays-d-oc-55px


To the north of Montpellier, at the foot of the Grotte des Demoiselles, the vineyard of Sauzet Estate blends in with nature, inspiring organic wines mainly produced in IGP Pays d'Oc, all as authentic as they are unique.


Nature as an amphitheater

Going up from Montpellier towards the north towards the Cave of the Demoiselles, we soon reach the village of Saint-Bauzille-de-Putois built on the left bank of the Hérault river. Entering the agglomeration will have been preceded by crossing vast forests backed by the first foothills of Cévennes, just before the cliffs of Thaurac rise. All around, an opulent nature reminds us that the preservation of the landscape is based on the presence of two classified sites Nature 2000 and the census of six natural areas of ecological, faunal and floristic interest. The local issue therefore imposes its stature: a winery established in this preserved environment must produce wines in perfect harmony with the mineral strength and the biodiversity of the site. It is to this remarkable challenge that responds with coherence the joint work of the winegrower Francois Massol and his oenologist Nicolas Moine.

The Domaine de Sauzet vineyard under the Thaurac cliffs.

The vineyard as a landscape

To achieve the Sauzet Estate, it is necessary to turn east from Saint-Bauzille-de-Putois to enter the Montoulieu valley. From then on, the road runs straight between the high cliffs of Thaurac which dominate the landscape from their four hundred meters to the northwest, and the wood of Sauzet which envelops the hilly hills to the southeast. Between these two reliefs, the first parcels of vines come to intersect the hillsides of discreet but omnipresent scrubland. Deployed in gentle waves at the foot of the Thaurac cliff, the vineyard of Sauzet Estate plunges its roots into a very nuanced clay-limestone soil where calcareous scree and clayey sediments coexist in variable densities. The vine, which has managed to blend its twenty-four hectares into the natural landscape, adapts perfectly to the draining character of the soil and the micro-climatic modulations. They are distinguished in particular by the sheets of fresh air which descend from the Cévennes during summer nights and which have the virtue of tempering the diurnal heat of the Mediterranean sun. For the winegrower, they are the guarantee of freshness and temperance that ensure the balance of wines with solar aspirations and rich substance. This singular potential, exceptional in Languedoc, is reminiscent of the fact that the terroir of Sauzet Estate is also adjoining that of Terraces of Larzac.

Domaine de Sauzet - Cuvée MademeM
The wines of the Domaine de Sauzet: cuvée Mrs M, no added sulphites

Each wine as a story

This concentrate of nature that is the terroir of Sauzet Estate is a call to environmental respect but also to the powerful freedom of its expression. This creative freedom, which must be understood as the winegrower's desire to offer his wines the most expressive amplitude, has led him to place his production under the label IGP Pays d'Oc. The flexibility of constraints underlying the spirit of this label, the variety of grape varieties that the appellation authorizes, engage the Sauzet Estate in a protocol of requirement and control, in the vineyard as in the cellar. Each cuvée must be understood as a signature cuvée, each developing a unique and complete personality over the course of its aging. Thus, the wines of Sauzet Estate form a whole world where each label announces a very distinct expression of the terroir, its grape varieties and its vintages. The necessary assurance is that the wine here testifies to a know-how and a will aiming for the most elegant distinction. Whether it enhances the expression of the fruit or whether it focuses on the complexity of the ageing, each cuvée is to taste like a story in itself, difficult to describe in the text. The only faithful revelation is therefore essential, which is that of the tasting of the Yin Yang, Mrs M, or Jeanne & André. As for the evocations of the terroir, they unfold in the poetic simplicity of the Fruit Field, Pebble Field, field of the cross or Tower field. Without forgetting the confidential cuvée Hic and Nunc which imposes itself as a concentrate of know-how where a wide range of emotions is always present.

Sauzet Estate

Road to Montoulieu
34190 Saint-Bauzille-de-Putois

phone + 06 29 35 23 66

French FR English EN

Domaine de Sauzet

pays-d-oc-55px


Au nord de Montpellier, au pied de la Grotte des Demoiselles, le vignoble du Domaine de Sauzet se fond dans une pleine nature, inspiratrice de vins bios majoritairement produits en IGP Pays d’Oc, tous aussi authentiques que singuliers.


La nature comme amphithéâtre

En remontant depuis Montpellier vers le nord en direction de la Grotte des Demoiselles, on atteint bientôt le village de Saint-Bauzille-de-Putois bâti sur la rive gauche de l’Hérault. L’entrée dans l’agglomération aura été précédée par la traversée de vastes forêts adossées au premiers contreforts des Cévennes, juste avant que ne se dressent les falaises du Thaurac. Tout autour, une opulente nature rappelle que la préservation du paysage est assise sur la présence de deux sites classés Natura 2000 et le recensement de six zones naturelles d’intérêt écologique, faunistique et floristique. L’enjeu local impose dès lors sa stature : un domaine viticole établi dans cet environnement préservé se doit d’engendrer des vins en parfait accord avec la force minérale et la biodiversité du site. C’est à ce remarquable enjeu que répond avec cohérence le travail conjoint du vigneron François Massol et de son œnologue Nicolas Moine.

Le vignoble du Domaine de Sauzet sous les falaises du Thaurac.

Le vignoble comme paysage

Pour parvenir au Domaine de Sauzet, il est nécessaire de bifurquer vers l’est depuis Saint-Bauzille-de-Putois pour s’engager dans la vallée de Montoulieu. Dès lors, la route file droit entre les hautes falaises du Thaurac qui dominent de leurs quatre-cents mètres le paysage par le nord-ouest, et le bois de Sauzet qui enveloppe au sud-est les mamelons collinaires. Entre ces deux reliefs, les premières parcelles de vignes viennent entrecouper des coteaux de garrigues discrètes mais omniprésentes. Déployé en vagues douces au pied de la falaise du Thaurac, le vignoble du Domaine de Sauzet plonge racines dans un sol argilo-calcaire très nuancé où cohabitent en densités variables éboulis calcaires et sédiments argileux. La vigne qui a su fondre ses vingt-quatre hectares dans le paysage naturel s’accommode parfaitement du caractère drainant des sols et des modulations micro-climatiques. Elles se distinguent en particulier par les nappes d’air frais qui descendent des Cévennes durant les nuits estivales et qui ont la vertu de tempérer les ardeurs diurnes du soleil méditerranéen. Pour le vigneron, elles sont le gage de la fraîcheur et de la tempérance qui assurent l’équilibre de vins aux aspirations solaires et à la riche matière. Ce potentiel singulier, exceptionnel en Languedoc, n’est pas sans rappeler que le terroir du Domaine de Sauzet est aussi mitoyen de celui des Terrasses du Larzac.

Domaine de Sauzet - Cuvée MademeM
Les vins du Domaine de Sauzet : cuvée Madame M, sans sulfites ajoutés

Chaque vin comme un récit

Ce concentré de nature qu’est le terroir du Domaine de Sauzet est un appel au respect environnemental mais aussi à la puissante liberté de son expression. Cette liberté créative, qui doit s’entendre comme une volonté du vigneron d’offrir à ses vins la plus juste amplitude expressive, l’a conduit à placer sa production sous le label IGP Pays d’Oc. La souplesse des contraintes qui en sous-tend l’esprit, la variété des cépages que l’appellation autorise, engagent le Domaine de Sauzet dans un protocole d’exigence et de maîtrise, à la vigne comme au chai. Chaque cuvée doit s’entendre comme un cuvée signature, chacune développant au fil de son élevage une personnalité singulière et entière. Ainsi, les vins du Domaine de Sauzet forment tout un monde où chaque étiquette annonce une expression bien distincte du terroir, des ses cépages et de ses millésimes. L’assurance qui s’impose est que le vin ici témoigne d’un savoir-faire et d’une volonté visant la plus élégante distinction. Qu’elle valorise l’expression du fruit ou bien qu’elle s’attache à la complexité de l’élevage, chaque cuvée se déguste comme une histoire en soi, difficilement descriptible par le texte. S’impose dès lors la seule révélation fidèle qui est celle de la dégustation du Yin Yang, de Madame M, ou du Jeanne & André. Quant aux évocations du terroir elles se déploient dans la simplicité poétique du Champ aux Fruits, du Champ des Cailloux, du Champ de la Croix ou du Champ de la Tour. Sans oublier la confidentielle cuvée Hic et Nunc qui s’impose comme un concentré de savoir-faire où une large palette d’émotions est toujours au rendez-vous.

Domaine de Sauzet

Route de Montoulieu
34190 Saint-Bauzille-de-Putois

telephone 06 29 35 23 66

French FR English EN