Laurent Chabert, the Art of Living


Au Chateau l'Hospitalet near Narbonne, the chef Laurent Chabert dedicates his talent to managing the kitchens of the restaurant the art of living whose menu offers a clever marriage between local products and exceptional wines Gérard Bertrand.


The art of living

The name of the establishment sums up the spirit that reigns Chateau l'Hospitalet : the art of living. The brand flowed naturally at the heart of this hotel complex draped in vineyards managed according to the precepts of biodynamics. The soul of the place emanates from a signature: that of Gérard Bertrand, great wine maker. Because it is he himself who confided to Laurent Chabert, the chef of the restaurant, is responsible for building a gastronomic offer to match the cuvées from his finest vineyards. The situation is exceptional and the stake of the same magnitude, served by a natural setting which is that of La Clape, superb wine-growing terroir on the seafront.

The sap of the soil

For a fervent spirit of authenticity and gustatory truth, short circuits are essential. It is the choice made Laurent Chabert who works in his kitchen only with noble and local products. The commitment was accompanied by the creation of a garden on site, where the chef draws and cultivates his herbs and seasonal vegetables. These carry the flavors of a land which is the one shared by the vines. They are the same sap and the same juice to help adjust perfect pairings between wines and flavors. A circle of small producers participates in the seasonal supply of the kitchens. All these resources fuel the inspiration of Laurent Chabert who creatively ensures to perfectly serve the very high expression of Gérard Bertrand wines.

Wines and flavors

À la carte the offer is particularly expressive, inspired by both the sea and the land. Most of the fishing comes from the Ayrolles pond in Gruissan. The menus adapt to arrivals where the majority are wolves, eels or mules. In the favorable season the tuna is also present. Lamb, guinea fowl and young birds come from farms in the southwest, like the beef from Aubrac. Cow, goat or sheep cheeses are selected from the closest terroirs. The dishes are then designed in close relationship with the wines, submitted to the attention of Gérard Bertrand himself. Among the recipes that make the signature of the art of living can be counted the Mediterranean lobsters very well served by a Clos du Temple Rose. Or the Croustillant de Pigeon stuffed with foie gras to which the cuvée The Viala, in Minervois La Livinière, or Forge en Corbieres Boutenac bring perfect resonance. The establishment itself consolidates its reputation by awarding a Michelin plate in 2019.


The Art of Living Restaurant
Chateau l'Hospitalet
Narbonne road
11100 Narbonne

Chateau l'Hospitalet

A domain Gérard Bertrand on the appellation La Clape

Among the wine properties of Gérard Bertrand, Chateau l'Hospitalet located in the heart of the appellation La Clape is also a Mecca for hospitality and the Mediterranean art of living.

French FR English EN

Laurent Chabert, l’Art de Vivre


Au Château l’Hospitalet près de Narbonne, le chef Laurent Chabert voue son talent à diriger les cuisines du restaurant l’Art de Vivre dont la carte décline un savant mariage entre produits locaux et vins d’exception signés Gérard Bertrand.


L’Art de Vivre

Le nom de l’établissement résume l’esprit qui règne au Château l’Hospitalet : l’Art de Vivre. L’enseigne coulait de source au cœur de ce complexe hôtelier drapé de vignobles conduits selon les préceptes de la biodynamie. L’âme des lieux émane d’une signature : celle de Gérard Bertrand, grand faiseur de vins. Car c’est lui-même qui a confié à Laurent Chabert, le chef du restaurant, la responsabilité de construire une offre gastronomique à hauteur des cuvées issues de ses plus beaux vignobles. La situation est d’exception et l’enjeu de même grandeur, servis par un cadre naturel qui est celui de La Clape, superbe terroir viticole de front de mer.

La sève du terroir

Pour un esprit fervent d’authenticité et de vérité gustative, les circuits courts s’imposent. C’est le choix qu’a fait Laurent Chabert qui ne travaille dans sa cuisine que des produits nobles et de proximité. Le parti-pris s’est accompagné de la création d’un jardin sur site, où le chef puise et cultive ses herbes et ses légumes de saison. Ceux-ci portent les saveurs d’une terre qui est celle que partagent les vignes. Ils sont de même sève et de même jus pour concourir à l’ajustement d’accords parfaits entre vins et saveurs. Un cercle de petits producteurs participe à l’approvisionnement saisonnier des cuisines. Toutes ces ressources nourrissent l’inspiration de Laurent Chabert qui veille avec créativité à servir parfaitement la très haute expression des vins Gérard Bertrand.

Des vins et des saveurs

À la carte l’offre est particulièrement expressive, inspirée tout à la fois de la mer et de la terre. La pêche arrive pour l’essentiel de l’étang d’Ayrolles à Gruissan. Les menus s’adaptent aux arrivages où comptent en majorité loups, anguilles ou mulets. À la saison favorable le thon est aussi présent. Agneau, pintades et pigeonneaux proviennent des élevages du sud-ouest comme le bœuf issu de l’Aubrac. Les fromages de vache, de chèvre ou de brebis sont sélectionnés sur les terroirs les plus proches. Les plats sont ensuite conçus en étroite parenté avec les vins, soumis à l’attention de Gérard Bertrand lui-même. Parmi les recettes qui font la signature de l’Art de Vivre se comptent les langoustes de Méditerranée fort bien servies par un Clos du Temple Rosé. Ou encore les Croustillants de Pigeon farcis au foie gras auxquels la cuvée Le Viala, en Minervois La Livinière, ou bien La Forge en Corbières Boutenac apportent parfaite résonance. L’établissement lui-même conforte sa réputation par l’attribution d’une Assiette Michelin en 2019.


Restaurant L’Art de Vivre
Château l’Hospitalet
Route de Narbonne
11100 Narbonne


Château l’Hospitalet

Un domaine Gérard Bertrand sur l’appellation La Clape

Parmi les propriétés viticoles de Gérard Bertrand, le Château l’Hospitalet implanté au cœur de l’appellation La Clape est aussi un haut lieu de l’accueil et de l’art de vivre méditerranéen.