Mas Onesime

Faugères - Great wines of natureOrganic wines

Property ofOlivier Villaneuva, Mas Onesime is located in La Liquière on the appellation Faugères. Its production is undoubtedly summed up in its motto: great wine with character.


Independence on the horizon

A meeting with Olivier Villaneuva do not forget. The charisma announces itself from the first words. This impression is always obvious: that of having as an interlocutor a winegrower committed to the passion for his terroir and the requirement to extract great wines from it. The character lends itself to this which interweaves the vitality of Spain through its paternal ancestry with the loving roots in the terroir of Faugères by maternal ancestry. The founding figure of the grandfather watches over it Onesime whose domain perpetuates memory by name. In this story of generations, it is Emmanuel, Olivier's father, who contributed to the extension of an estate which covers around one hundred hectares. Long dedicated to the cooperative, the vines returned to Olivier's hands in 1999 are gradually gaining in independence. First with ten hectares operated in independent cellar, Le Mas Onesime will soon identify about twenty driving under organic label.

The magic of shales

Faugères it is above all a land of schists whose geology sets the limits of the appellation. On this terroir leaning against the foothills of the Espinouse and Caroux massifs, the richness of the plot nuances derives as much from the variation of mineral veins as from the sudden changes in altitude. At Mas Onesime, the vines run on the hillsides which oscillate between 280 and 360m in height. The Cinsault, this Pinot noir from Languedoc, holds a unique place in it. Mainly from old vines, it rubs shoulders with Grenache and Carignan. On this vineyard facing the distant horizon of the sea, the signature is obviously Mediterranean. The voluptuously expressive character of the wines of Mas Onesime is born in the first place from this potential as distinctive as it is singular. The challenge is obviously to access the highest expressions of the terroir. The resulting requirement is summed up in meticulous stance: regulated yields, manual harvesting, gravity vat, aging concentrated on the fruit.

Great wine of character

WhenOlivier Villaneuva describes the desired profile of wines from Mas Onesime the statement is clear: " elegant, fine and deep wines that reflect all the authenticity and minerality of the terroir. The formula is unstoppable and finds its perfect illustration in the tasting. The range of wines is declined in precision and each name is itself an ambassador of the spirit which conceived it. To start with The rebellious, whose full personality is reflected in a non-appellation white wine made from 100% Chardonnay, paired with a rosé wine and a red wine in AOP Faugeres, the first doing honor to Cinsault, the second to the alliance of Cinsault, Carignan, Grenache and Syrah. The Cinsault again, in a single varietal, red wine version and without sulphite, a real song of the fruit of which Olivier Villaneuva has the secret of an aging entirely dedicated to aromatic powers. Then The groove, which traces its profile straight out, all in freshness and complexity inherited from a dominant Grenache, nuanced by Carignan, Syrah and Mourvèdre. The Hidden Paradise finally, flagship of the domain, whose generous nose combines the spontaneity of red fruits with accents of pear and chocolate on the finish. From experience emanates not a conviction but an evidence for which the motto of the house - Mas Onesime, great wine of character - finds its most authentic testimony in the voluptuous experience of each cuvée.

Mas Onesime - Fruit Day

Focus on the cuvée Fruit Day

With Fruit Day, Olivier Villaneuva inaugurates one of his first demonstrative cuvées of his conversion to biodynamic viticulture. A full-fruit 100% Cinsault wine from Faugères, harvested by hand on a shale terroir.

Mas Onesime

4 path of Crouzette
34480 Cabrerolles

phone 04 67 93 63 58

French FR English EN

Mas Onésime

Faugères - Grands vins de natureVins bios

Propriété d’Olivier Villaneuva, le Mas Onésime est situé à La Liquière sur l’AOP Faugères. Sa production se résume sans conteste en sa devise : grand vin de caractère.


L’indépendance en horizon

Une rencontre avec Olivier Villaneuva ne s’oublie pas. Le charisme s’annonce dès les premiers mots. Cette impression relève toujours d’une évidence : celle d’avoir comme interlocuteur un vigneron engagé dans la passion de son terroir et l’exigence d’en extraire de grands vins. Le caractère s’y prête qui entremêle la vitalité de l’Espagne par son ascendance paternelle avec l’enracinement amoureux au terroir de Faugères par l’ascendance maternelle. Sur celle-ci veille la figure fondatrice du grand-père Onésime dont le domaine perpétue par son nom la mémoire. Dans cette histoire de générations c’est Emmanuel, le père d’Olivier, qui a contribué à l’extension d’un domaine qui compte une centaine d’hectares. Longtemps dédiées à la coopérative, les vignes revenues entre les mains d’Olivier en 1999 gagnent progressivement en indépendance. D’abord doté d’une dizaine d’hectares exploités en cave indépendante, Le Mas Onésime en recensera bientôt une vingtaine conduite sous label bio.

La magie des schistes

Faugères c’est avant tout un terroir de schistes dont la géologie fixe les limites de l’appellation. Sur ce terroir adossé aux contreforts des massifs de l’Espinouse et du Caroux, la richesse des nuances parcellaires tient tout autant de la variation des veines minérales que des sursauts de l’altitude. Au Mas Onésime, les vignes courent sur les flancs de coteaux qui oscillent entre 280 et 360m de hauteur. Le Cinsault, ce Pinot noir du Languedoc, y tient une place singulière. Principalement issu de vieilles vignes, il y côtoie Grenache et Carignan. Sur ce vignoble affronté à l’horizon distant de la mer, la signature est d’évidence méditerranéenne. Le caractère voluptueusement expressif des vins du Mas Onésime nait en premier lieu de ce potentiel aussi typé que singulier. L’enjeu est bien évidemment d’accéder aux plus hautes expressions du terroir. L’exigence qui en découle se résume en de minutieux parti-pris : rendements régulés, vendanges manuelles, mise en cuve gravitaire, élevages concentrés sur le fruit.

Grand vin de caractère

Lorsqu’Olivier Villaneuva décrit le profil recherché des vins du Mas Onésime l’énonciation est claire : « des vins élégants, fins et profonds qui reflètent toute l’authenticité et la minéralité du terroir. » La formule est imparable et trouve sa parfaite illustration dans la dégustation. La gamme des vins se décline en précision et chaque nom est lui-même ambassadeur de l’esprit qui l’a conçu. À commencer par L’Insoumis, dont la pleine personnalité se traduit par un blanc hors appellation en 100 % Chardonnay, assorti d’un rosé et d’un rouge en AOP Faugères, le premier faisant honneur au Cinsault, le second à l’alliance des Cinsault, Carignan, Grenache et Syrah. Le Cinsault encore, en monocépage version rouge et sans sulfite, véritable chant du fruit dont Olivier Villaneuva a le secret d’un élevage entièrement dédié aux puissances aromatiques. Puis Le Sillon, qui trace droit son profil tout en fraîcheur et complexité héritées d’un Grenache dominant, nuancé de Carignan, Syrah et Mourvèdre. Le Paradis Caché enfin, fleuron du domaine, dont le nez empli de générosité mêle la spontanéité des fruits rouges aux accents de poire et chocolat en finale. De l’expérience émane non pas une conviction mais une évidence pour laquelle la devise de la maison – Mas Onésime, grand vin de caractère – trouve son plus authentique témoignage dans l’expérience voluptueuse de chaque cuvée.

http://www.masonesime.com/


Mas Onésime
34480 Cabrerolles

telephone 06 20 86 50 35