Cellar of Saint-Chinian

logo-saint-chinian-schist-limestonepays-d-oc-55px


A historical player in the appellation, the Cave of Saint Chinian is a notorious showcase of local wine production. Its particularity is to combine wines and creation as evidenced by one of its ranges called theCave Art.


An expressive terroir

Each name of Languedoc reveals its singularities. Their identification leaves an indelible imprint in the memory of the wine lover. Saint-Chinian is one of those. Its particularity can be summed up in a duality: the sharing of the terroir between schists and limestones. All that remains is to superimpose the virtues of the Mediterranean climate on the geological partition so that the fate of a great land of wines can then emerge. It is at the heart of this terroir that the Cave of Saint Chinian. Built in the heart of the village in 1937, it now offers a contemporary and creative showcase on the region's wine-making art. Like all cooperative groups in the south of France, it reveals and cultivates a perfectly restored identity. The page of eras focused on the quantitative exploitation of the vine is definitely turned. While the memory is preserved in the cellar infrastructures, it is now dressed in a destiny served by an image of wine rising with art.

A palette of shades

La Cave of Saint Chinian operates a vineyard of 800 hectares spread over the neighboring municipalities of the wine-growing town. The collective exploitation offers a capital of grape varieties largely representative of the appellation. First of all, the Grenache red, Carignan, Syrah ou Mourvedre, dominant for red wines, associated with Cinsault for rosé wines. Secondly Grenache white, Rousanne, Marsanne contribute to the structure of white wines. Without forgetting for each color the variety of secondary grape varieties which offer a flexible palette of nuances in vinification. This is how production concentrated onPDO Saint Chinian also radiates to IGP Pays d'Oc, Pays d'Hérault et Grage Mountains. The vineyard is managed under the regime of reasoned viticulture. At harvest time, mechanization gives way to manual harvesting for half of the vineyard. Because Saint-Chinian is a highly qualitative appellation, where the quality of the harvest must foreshadow the demanding mastery of vinification and aging carried out in the cellar.

A wine gallery

Showcase of the appellation, the Cave of Saint Chinian enhances the expressive amplitude of the terroir. In the first place with the wines produced in accordance with the requirements of the appellation itself. Particularly noticeable is the range Renaud de Valon, from schist terroirs and combining Syrah, Grenache and old Carignan, the whole enhanced by 12 months of aging in oak barrels. The same nuanced blend of Mourvèdre gives substance to Spirit of Renaud de Valon, similarly aged for one year in barrels. Associating Grenache dominating the virtues of Syrah and Mourvèdre, then forging its powerful complexity over 18 months of aging, comes 8 Secrets. These vintages demonstrating the identity of Saint-Chinian coexist with the singular and particularly distinctive series of cuvées stampedCave Art. The visuals are the result of collaborations with contemporary artists. They distinguish a series of wines with nuances of terroir and aging. This is how the collection of cuvées is presented: Miss.Tic, Christian H, Laura Chaplin, Nadai, Alma, YZ and others. In another evocative vein of the wine terroir itself stands out The Song of Garrigue, drawing its character from red sandstones, or The Capitelles. Without forgetting the white wines and rosé wines of more recent existence in the appellation than the range Raoul Mapoul unites in three colors.

The Saint-Chinian appellation is divided between schist reliefs to the northeast and limestone folds to the southwest.

French FR English EN

La Cave de Saint-Chinian

logo-saint-chinian-schiste-calcairepays-d-oc-55px


Acteur historique de l’appellation, la Cave de Saint Chinian est une vitrine notoire de la production viticole locale. Elle a notamment pour singularité d’associer vins et création comme en porte témoignage l’une de ses gammes nommée l’Art en Cave.


Un terroir expressif

Chaque appellation du Languedoc révèle ses singularités. Leur identification laisse une empreinte indélébile dans la mémoire de l’amateur de vin. Saint Chinian est de celles-là. Sa particularité se résume en une dualité : le partage du terroir entre schistes et calcaires. Il ne reste plus qu’à superposer à la partition géologique les vertus du climat méditerranéen pour que se dessine alors le destin d’une grande terre de vins. C’est au cœur de ce terroir que se situe la Cave de Saint Chinian. Bâtie au cœur du village en 1937, elle offre aujourd’hui une vitrine actuelle et créative sur l’art viticole de la région. Comme tous les regroupements coopératifs du sud de la France, elle dévoile et cultive une identité parfaitement restaurée. La page des époques concentrées sur la production quantitative y est définitivement tournée. Si la mémoire en est conservée dans les infrastructures des chais, elle s’habille désormais d’un destin servi par une image du vin qui s’élève avec art.

Une palette de nuances

La Cave de Saint Chinian exploite un vignoble de 800 hectares répartis sur les communes limitrophes du bourg viticole. L’exploitation collective offre un capital de cépages largement représentatif de l’appellation. En premier lieu répondent présents les Grenache rouge, Carignan, Syrah ou Mourvèdre, dominants pour les vins rouges, associés au Cinsault pour les vins rosés. En second lieu Grenache blanc, Roussanne, Marsanne concourent à la structure des vins blancs. Sans oublier pour chaque couleur la variété des cépages secondaires qui offrent une souple palette de nuances en vinification. C’est ainsi que la production concentrée sur l’AOP Saint Chinian rayonne également vers les IGP Pays d’Oc, Pays d’Hérault et Monts de la Grage. La conduite des vignes s’exerce sous le régime d’une viticulture raisonnée. À l’heure des vendanges, la mécanisation cède le pas à la récolte manuelle pour moitié du vignoble. Car Saint Chinian est une appellation hautement qualitative, où la qualité de la vendange doit préfigurer la maîtrise exigeante des vinifications et des élevages conduits à la cave.

Une galerie de vins

Vitrine de l’appellation, la Cave de Saint Chinian valorise l’amplitude expressive du terroir. En premier lieu avec les vins produits dans les exigences de l’appellation elle-même. S’y remarque plus particulièrement la gamme Renaud de Valon, issue des terroirs de schistes et mariant Syrah, Grenache et vieux Carignan, l’ensemble bonifié par 12 mois d’élevage en fûts de chêne. Le même assemblage nuancé de Mourvèdre donne corps à Esprit de Renaud de Valon, pareillement élevé un an en barrique. Associant au Grenache dominant les vertus de la Syrah et du Mourvèdre, puis forgeant sa puissante complexité au fil de 18 mois d’élevage, vient 8 Secrets. Ces cuvées démonstratives de l’identité des Saint Chinian cohabitent avec la série singulière et particulièrement distinctive des cuvées estampillées l’Art en Cave. Les visuels y sont le fruit de collaborations avec des artistes contemporains. Ils distinguent une série de vins tout en nuances de terroirs et d’élevages. Ainsi se présente la collection de cuvées : Miss.Tic, Christian H, Laura Chaplin, Nadai, Alma, YZ et d’autres encore. Dans une autre veine évocatrice du terroir viticole lui-même se remarque Le Chant de Garrigue, tirant son caractère des grès rouges, ou encore Les Capitelles. Sans oublier les vins blancs et les vins rosés d’existence plus récente dans l’appellation que la gamme Raoul Mapoul réunit en trois couleurs.

La Cave de Saint Chinian

Chemin de Sorteilho
34360 Saint-Chinian

Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.