Terrassous vineyards

Roussillon wines

Resulting from the merger of three cooperatives, Vignobles Terrassous demonstrate that collective initiatives contribute to the optimal expression of a great Roussillon terroir.


A cooperative in the Aspres terroir

Dominated to the west by the Canigou, stretching east to the limits of Perpignan, the Aspres territory is a land where scrubland, vines and cork oak groves thrive. It is also a land of solidarity and Catalan culture where the history of the Terrassous vineyards. This dates back to the year 1932 when the first cooperative was founded in Terrats, near Thuir. It must be said that the region was conducive to the collective enhancement of the vineyard. Indeed, if the Aspres are distinguished by their dry and mineral soil, they have always been a land of wines. The vines are spread there in plots where the nature of the soil and the altitudes can vary. This mosaic distribution makes the alliance of winegrowers a strength and a capital of qualitative resources. The plot varieties and the diversity of the grape varieties also contribute to giving Terrassous vineyards the advantages expected from a great Roussillon terroir.

Collective and high-end patience

Carried by the recent distinction of the vineyard in AOC Côtes du Roussillon Villages Les Aspres, Vignobles Terrassous provide proof that a cooperative alliance has today become a guarantee of quality. First of all because the collective approach requires coordinated and coherent exploitation of the vineyard. Then because benefiting from a wide range of wine resources, the cooperative is able to offer a wide range of wines while favoring plot selections, a guarantee of distinguished cuvées. The range of wines thus covers the entire range of appellations that this region of Roussillon authorizes. This is how, in the first place, the Rivesaltes vintages, aged in oak barrels, and the youngest of which patiently wait for 6 years of age before revealing themselves. Collective patience and the bias to develop Rivesaltes high-end they are the proof. To this first-rate showcase are joined the still wines produced in IGP Côtes Catalanes, AOC Côtes du Roussillon and AOC Côtes du Roussillon Villages les Aspres.

The distinguished wines of Vignobles Terrassous

If natural sweet wines, like Rivesaltes, are often medal-winning and essential signatures of Terrassous vineyards, still wines also aspire to the highest distinctions. The appellation Coasts of Roussillon Villages les Aspres imposes itself there in the foreground. The cuvée The Flat Stones, from the best gravel and schist terroirs, is a demonstrative example: it stands out with a 90/92 rating from the Parker guide. The cuvée Summum, matured for 18 months in oak barrels after long maceration, concentrates all the typicity of old vines grown in goblets on soils offering a mineral typicity. This fine demonstration is found in Côtes du Roussillon rosé, with a Chateau Mossé from a particularly rewarding plot choice served by its beautiful pale pink color. On the aromatic register, it is impossible in Roussillon to miss the muscats with the Dry Muscat by Terrassous, produced in IGP Côtes Catalanes, or the Muscat de Rivesaltes to complete the range of natural sweet wines signed by the Terrassous vineyards.

Coasts of Roussillon villages Les Aspres

This terroir, which forms the first foothills of the Canigou, is made up of terraced soils reserved for the exclusive production of very high quality red wines.

French FR English EN

Vignobles Terrassous


Issus de la fusion de trois coopératives, les Vignobles Terrassous démontrent que les démarches collectives contribuent à l’expression optimale d’un grand terroir du Roussillon.


Une coopérative sur le terroir des Aspres

Dominé à l’ouest par le Canigou, s’étirant vers l’est jusqu’aux limites de Perpignan, le territoire des Aspres est une terre où prospèrent les garrigues, les vignes et les bosquets de chêne liège. Elle est aussi une terre de solidarité et de culture catalane où s’enracine l’histoire des Vignobles Terrassous. Celle-ci remonte à l’année 1932 où fut fondée à Terrats, près de Thuir, la première coopérative. Il faut dire que la région était propice à la valorisation collective du vignoble. En effet, si les Aspres se distinguent par leur terroir sec et minéral, elles ont été depuis toujours une terre de vins. La vigne s’y déploie en parcelles où peuvent varier la nature des sols et les altitudes. Cette distribution en mosaïque fait de l’alliance des vignerons une force et un capital de ressources qualitatives. Les variétés parcellaires et la diversité de l’encépagement contribuent également à conférer aux Vignobles Terrassous les atouts attendus d’un grand terroir du Roussillon.

Patience collective et haut de gamme

Portés par la distinction récente du vignoble en AOC Côtes du Roussillon Villages Les Aspres, les Vignobles Terrassous apportent la preuve qu’une alliance coopérative est aujourd’hui devenue un gage de qualité. D’abord parce que la démarche collective oblige à une exploitation coordonnée et cohérente du vignoble. Ensuite parce que bénéficiant d’une palette étendue de ressources viticoles, la coopérative est en mesure d’offrir une gamme de vins étendue tout en privilégiant des sélections parcellaires, gage de cuvées distinguées. La palette des vins couvre ainsi toute la gamme des appellations que cette région du Roussillon autorise. C’est ainsi qu’en premier lieu se distinguent des Rivesaltes millésimés, élevés en fût de chêne, et dont les plus jeunes attendent patiemment les 6 ans d’âge avant de se dévoiler. De la patience collective et du parti-pris d’élaborer des Rivesaltes haut de gamme ils sont la preuve. À cette vitrine de premier plan se joignent les vins tranquilles produits en IGP Côtes Catalanes, AOC Côtes du Roussillon et AOC Côtes du Roussillon Villages les Aspres.

Les vins distingués des Vignobles Terrassous

Si les vins doux naturels, à l’instar des Rivesaltes, sont des signatures souvent médaillées et incontournables des Vignobles Terrassous, les vins tranquilles aspirent aussi aux plus hautes distinctions. L’appellation Côtes du Roussillon Villages les Aspres s’y impose au premier plan. La cuvée Les Pierres Plates, issue des meilleurs terroirs de cailloux et de schistes, en est un exemple démonstratif : elle se distingue par un 90/92 au guide Parker. La cuvée Summum, élevée 18 mois en fûts de chêne après longue macération, concentre quant à elle toute la typicité de vieilles vignes conduites en gobelet sur des sols offrant une typicité minérale. Cette fine démonstration se retrouve en Côtes du Roussillon rosé, avec un Château Mossé issu d’un choix parcellaire particulièrement gratifiant que vient servir sa belle robe rose pâle. Sur le registre aromatique, impossible en Roussillon de passer à côté des muscats avec le Muscat sec by Terrassous, produit en IGP Côtes Catalanes, ou encore le Muscat de Rivesaltes pour compléter la gamme des vins doux naturels signés par les Vignobles Terrassous.

https://www.terrassous.com/


Vignobles Terrassouslocaliser Situer sur la carte
26, avenue des Corbières
66300 Terrats

telephone +33 (0)4 68 53 02 50