Lo Domeni

Cahors wineOrganic wines


If on the Cahors vineyard Lo Domeni should be classified among the small surface areas, the wines produced there by Pierre Pradel are particularly demonstrative of all the nuances which make up the potential richness of the Malbec grape variety.


The advent of the cellar

Lo Domeni has 7 hectares of vines cultivated in organic conversion. Since 2004, Pierre Pradel has been at the head of this family estate. Previously his father was manager of Château Lagrézette whose silhouette dominates the horizon of the vineyard. The harvest at that time was not vinified at the property. It was not until 2006 that the vinification was now carried out in the Lo Domeni cellar. Pierre Pradel's high standards, his taste for the sincere expression of Cahors wine, have led him to produce vintages that demonstrate the resources of the Malbec grape variety.

The sincerity of the vine

In Lo Domeni, the spirit of winemaking is not in the blending. The vines are planted with 100% Malbec. No concession is made to arranged marriages: the wines of Pierre Pradel speak pure Cahors. His desire to establish his wines in a register of great sincerity led him to two determined acts: first to subscribe to an organic approach whose label is announced for 2019, then to vinify only from indigenous yeasts. . A logical consequence follows from his approach: the nuances of his cuvées exploit the plot selections and vinifications seeking full respect for the fruit.

The truth in wine

In a vinification entirely devoted to the Malbec grape variety, it is both the quality of each vineyard plot and the work it engenders in the cellar that contribute to the expressive variations of Malbec. As for authenticity, the use of indigenous yeasts in fermentation guarantees it. The cuvée The closed opens the first chapter of Pierre Pradel's style. From the youngest vines, worked in delicate pumping-over, it is an opening on the natural qualities of Malbec, well fixed on the fruit. The Vendemia, more sophisticated, calls first for manual harvests. It is then vinified in oak casks and worked by manual punching down, in longer fermentations. The final cuvée will result from a blend resulting from a second phase of vinification divided between barrels and cement vats. The wine reveals itself under denser aromas and melted tannins. The V to finish is the most demonstrative cuvée of Lo Domeni. Worked in punching down and manual pumping over, aged in barrels, it gives the Malbec its structural strength which reconciles the density of the fruit with the controlled base of tannins.

Cahors wines

The Cahors vineyard draws its specificity
of a native grape variety from the South-West: Malbec, more commonly called Côt in the appellation.

French FR English EN

Lo Domeni


Si sur le vignoble de Cahors Lo Domeni est à classer parmi les domaines de petite surface, les vins qu’y produit Pierre Pradel sont particulièrement démonstratifs de toutes les nuances qui font la richesse potentielle du cépage Malbec.


L’avènement du chai

Lo Domeni compte 7 hectares de vignes cultivées en conversion bio. Depuis 2004 c’est Pierre Pradel qui est à la tête de ce domaine familial. Auparavant son père fut régisseur du Château Lagrézette dont la silhouette domine l’horizon du vignoble. Les vendanges à cette époque n’étaient pas vinifiées à la propriété. Il a fallu attendre 2006 pour que la vinification soit désormais faite dans le chai de Lo Domeni. L’exigence de Pierre Pradel, son goût pour l’expression sincère du vin de Cahors, l’ont amené à produire des cuvées bien démonstratives des ressources du cépage Malbec.

La sincérité de la vigne

À Lo Domeni, l’esprit de la vinification n’est pas à l’assemblage. Les vignes sont plantées de 100% Malbec. Aucune concession n’est faite à des mariages arrangés : les vins de Pierre Pradel parlent le pur Cahors. Sa volonté d’établir ses vins dans un registre de grande sincérité l’ont conduit à deux actes déterminés : d’abord s’inscrire dans une démarche bio dont le label est annoncé pour 2019, ensuite ne vinifier qu’à partir de levures indigènes. Une conséquence logique découle de sa démarche : les nuances de ses cuvées exploitent les sélections parcellaires et des vinifications recherchant le plein respect du fruit.

La vérité dans le vin

Dans une vinification entièrement consacrée au cépage Malbec, c’est à la fois la qualité de chaque parcelle de vigne et le travail qu’elle engendre au chai qui contribuent aux variations expressives du Malbec. Quant à l’authenticité, le recours aux levures indigènes en fermentation s’en porte garant. La cuvée Le Clos ouvre le premier chapitre du style de Pierre Pradel. Issue des vignes les plus jeunes, travaillée en remontages délicats, elle est une ouverture sur les qualités naturelles du Malbec, bien fixées sur le fruit. Le Vendémia, plus sophistiqué, en appelle d’abord aux vendanges manuelles. Il est ensuite vinifié en foudre de chêne et travaillé par pigeage manuel, en fermentations plus longues. La cuvée finale résultera d’un assemblage issu d’une deuxième phase de vinification répartie entre fûts et cuve ciment. Le vin s’y révèle sous des arômes plus denses et des tanins fondus. Le V pour finir est la cuvée la plus démonstrative de Lo Domeni. Travaillée en pigeages et remontages manuels, élevée en barriques, elle donne au Malbec sa force structurelle qui concilie la densité du fruit avec l’assise maîtrisée des tannins.


Lo Domenilocaliser Situer sur la carte
159 Route des Vignes Vieilles
46140 Caillac

telephone 06 07 90 67 80


visiter les Vignobles d'Occitanie