Domain of Chantelle

Cahors wine


In the Cahors vineyard, the path leading to the Domaine de Chantelle first runs between paths of fruit trees before reaching the banks of the Lot. The Cahors wine produced on the property is part of the tradition and typicity of the appellation.


A bucolic charm

Established on the banks of the Lot, the Domaine de Chantelle has 36 hectares of vines. Located in a cove of the river, its geographical location had in the past favored an economy based on inland waterway transport. The waterway allowed flat-bottomed barges to transport Cahors wine to the port of Bordeaux. This historic location gives the Domaine de Chantelle a bucolic charm enhanced by the beautifully restored architecture of the family property. The imprint of the past is maintained even in the cellar where Jean-Claude Brunet, the winemaker, keeps on display a whole collection of objects and tools from the wine tradition.

A spirit of remembrance

Three generations of winegrowers have contributed to the gradual growth of Domaine de Chantelle. When the Brunet family acquired it in the past, the cultivation of fruit trees coexisted with that of vines. The operation also ensured income from fishing as evidenced by the fishponds they found there. This memory of traditions still crosses the atmosphere of the place today. At Domaine de Chantelle, the spirit of an authentic Lot still permeates the winemaking methods. The vines themselves are distributed in small plots throughout the territory of the commune of Caillac. Each has a typical name such as “End of the river” or “Champ de Gleye”. At the estate, Jean-Claude and Lydie Brunet have worked hard to develop an 800 m cellar2 completed by a long aging room in oak barrels. The Cahors wine they produce is part of a woody tradition, well suited to the character of the Malbec grape.

A traditional Cahors

The range of Domaine de Chantelle wines is simple and precise. It has a 100% Malbec rosé as well as a variation around variously worked reds. The cuvée Tradition is typically expressive of red fruits and candied notes conferred by the alliance of Malbec and Merlot. With the cuvée Revelation, the grapes ripened in 3e terrace express a more powerful nose, accompanied by more marked tannins that cold maceration has tempered. While the cuvée Passion, extracted from old vines also exposed in 3e terrace, combines its notes of black fruits and spices with the toasted effects of aging in new barrels. Latest addition to the range, the A1638 bears the name of the cadastral plot where the most beautiful vines flourish. This promising cuvée highlights a 100% Malbec directly vinified then aged in barrels. Elegantly presented in a wooden case and under wax seal, the cuvée A1638 looks like a reconciliation in the purest tradition of the power of the aromas and the sweetness of the tannins.

 
Domaine de Chantelle - Cahors wine - Cuvée A1638
Domaine de Chantelle - Cuvée A1638 - 100% Malbec

Cahors wines

The Cahors vineyard draws its specificity
of a native grape variety from the South-West: Malbec, more commonly called Côt in the appellation.

French FR English EN

Domaine de Chantelle


Sur le vignoble de Cahors, le chemin qui mène au Domaine de Chantelle court d’abord entre des allées d’arbres fruitiers avant de parvenir jusqu’aux rives du Lot. Le vin de Cahors produit sur la propriété s’inscrit dans la tradition et la typicité de l’appellation.


Un charme bucolique

Établi sur les rives du Lot, le Domaine de Chantelle compte 36 hectares de vignes. Situé dans une anse de la rivière, son emplacement géographique avait favorisé par le passé une économie assise sur la batellerie. La voie fluviale permettait en effet aux gabares à fond plat d’acheminer le vin de Cahors jusqu’au port de Bordeaux. Cette implantation historique confère au Domaine de Chantelle un charme bucolique que rehausse l’architecture joliment restaurée de la propriété familiale. L’empreinte du passé est entretenue jusque dans le caveau où Jean-Claude Brunet, le vigneron, tient exposée toute une collection d’objets et d’outils issus de la tradition viticole.

Un esprit du souvenir

Trois générations de vignerons ont contribué à l’essor progressif du Domaine de Chantelle. Lorsque la famille Brunet en fit l’acquisition par le passé, la culture d’arbres fruitiers cohabitait avec celle de la vigne. L’exploitation s’assurait également de revenus issus de la pêche comme en témoignait les viviers qu’ils y trouvèrent. Cette mémoire des traditions traverse encore aujourd’hui l’ambiance des lieux. Au Domaine de Chantelle l’esprit d’un Lot authentique imprègne toujours les méthodes de vinification. Les vignes elles-mêmes sont réparties en petites parcelles sur tout le territoire de la commune de Caillac. Chacune porte un nom typique comme « Bout de la rivière » ou encore « Champ de Gleye ». Au domaine, Jean-Claude et Lydie Brunet se sont appliqués à développer un chai de 800 m2 que complète une longue salle d’élevage en fûts de chêne. Le vin de Cahors qu’ils produisent s’inscrit dans une tradition du boisé, bien seyant au caractère du cépage Malbec.

Un Cahors de tradition

La gamme des vins du Domaine de Chantelle est simple et précise. Elle compte un rosé 100% Malbec ainsi qu’une variation autour de rouges diversement travaillés. La cuvée Tradition est typiquement expressive des fruits rouges et des notes confites que confère l’alliance du Malbec et du Merlot. Avec la cuvée Révélation, les raisins mûris en 3e terrasse expriment un nez plus puissant, assorti de tanins plus marqués que la macération à froid est venue tempérer. Tandis que la cuvée Passion, extraite des vieilles vignes également exposées en 3e terrasse, marie ses notes de fruits noirs et d’épices aux effets toastés d’un élevage en fûts neufs. Dernière-née de la gamme, la A1638 porte le nom de la parcelle cadastrale où s’épanouissent les plus belles vignes. Cette cuvée prometteuse valorise un 100% Malbec directement vinifié puis vieilli en barrique. Élégamment présentée en écrin de bois et sous cachet de cire, la cuvée A1638 s’annonce comme une conciliation en plus pure tradition de la puissance des arômes et de la douceur des tanins.

Domaine de Chantelle - Vin de Cahors - Cuvée A1638
Domaine de Chantelle – Cuvée A1638 – 100% Malbec

http://www.domaine-chantelle.fr/


Domaine de Chantellelocaliser Situer sur la carte
1 Place de l’Église
46140 Caillac

telephone 05 65 20 04 66


visiter les Vignobles d'Occitanie