Domain Rotier

Gaillac winesOrganic wines


In Cadalen, in the Gaillac vineyard, Domain Rotier is equally distinguished by its terroir of serious than by its labeling in organic viticulture. The attentive work of the vine, the mastery of the grape varieties, give substance to wines of appellation with careful breeding.


Terroir

The reputation of Domain Rotier on the terroir of Gaillac is the fruit of patient work carried out by two generations of winegrowers. Today these are Alain Rotier and his brother-in-law Francis Marre who together watch over the vineyard. The first is concentrated on running the cellar, the second takes more particular care of the vines. These flourish on a floor of serious that the Tarn has deposited layer by layer in time immemorial. These silty gravels, with draining properties, have called for the establishment of appropriate grape varieties. Typical of theGaillac appellation, Duras for red wines and Far from the eye for white wines find here a suitable soil and an optimal climate. These grape varieties, typical ofGaillac appellation, are at the heart of winemaking. They are supported by the Braucol, pruneart or Syrah for red wines while the Sauvignon enriches white wines. The consistency of the grape varieties with these soils of serious is the foundation on which the reputation of wines aged in Domain Rotier.

The vine

The vineyard Domain Rotier is particularly well cared for. It extends over 35 hectares divided between the municipalities of Cadalen and Florentin. In these vines certified organic since 2012, plant cover has been required. Oats, rape, vetch or mustard cohabit with native flora, each contributing to the vitality and richness of the soil. The evolution towards ever more biodiversity is privileged. The establishment of hedges and fruit trees contribute to environmental enrichment. The vines themselves have gained in density, thus making it possible to limit the number of bunches per strain to better concentrate their matter. This virtuous approach is also a reserve of expression whose wines from Domain Rotier reveal the obvious wealth. Among the grape varieties, Duras et Far from the eye, perfectly suited to this serious plateau, forge the focus of the vinification work.

The mind

At Domaine Rotier we vinify in vats and barrels. The expression of the wines is clearly defined. In the foreground, fruit favored by aging in concrete vats. In the background, the complexity drawn from the assembly or the subtle effect of wood. In the red range, the gravel form the first expression of a Duras allied with Syrah, Braucol and Prunelart. The cuvée Sketch pushes the expression of Duras even further: slightly supported by Braucol and Syrah, this wine opens with the full expression of fruit then spices made intact by the absence of sulphites. From aging in oak or acacia barrels, Domaine Rotier produces wines whose complexity is based on a beautiful balance. The cuvée Renaissance first, from 12 months aging in barrels. Then theMe, a Duras sustained by Braucol, first fermented in open barrels, then aged in wood to lead to a complex and velvety bouquet which is the highest expression of the Domaine. Add to that the freshness of a well-constructed dry white and the enchantment of soft whites, exceptional in Domain Rotier. The cuvée Renaissance in particular, whose slightly coppery golden color announces the radiance of honey and the aromatic power of a 100% Far from the Eye magnified by the late harvest.

video logo The Domaine Rotier in video

Alain Rotier leads us to discover the terroir of Gaillac in the Lagrave and Cadalen sector. The opportunity is given to us to follow the winegrower in his vineyards and to grasp this close link which unites the terroir of gravel, native grape varieties and Gaillac wines.

Domain Rotier

Little Nareye
81600 Cadalen

phone +33 5 63 41 75 14

French FR English EN

Domaine Rotier


À Cadalen, dans le vignoble de Gaillac, le Domaine Rotier se distingue tout autant par son terroir de graves que par son classement bio. Le travail attentif de la vigne, la maîtrise de l’encépagement, donnent corps à des vins d’appellation à l’élevage soigné.


La terre

Le Domaine Rotier est le fruit d’un travail patient mené par deux générations de vignerons. Aujourd’hui, ce sont Alain Rotier et son beau-frère Francis Marre qui veillent ensemble sur le vignoble. Le premier est concentré sur la vinification, le second prend soin des vignes. Celles-ci s’épanouissent sur un sol de graves que le Tarn a déposé couche par couche dans la nuit des temps. Ces graviers limoneux, aux vertus drainantes, ont imposé l’implantation de cépages appropriés. Typiques de l’appellation Gaillac, le Duras et le Loin de l’Œil trouvent ici un sol adapté et un climat optimal. Occupant le cœur de la vinification, ils sont épaulés par le Braucol, le Prunelart ou la Syrah pour les rouges et le Sauvignon pour les blancs. La justesse de l’encépagement préfigure la justesse des vins qui sont élevés au Domaine Rotier.

La vigne

Les vignes du Domaine Rotier sont particulièrement soignées. Elles s’étendent sur 35 hectares répartis entre les communes de Cadalen et de Florentin. Sur ce vignoble labellisé bio depuis 2012, les couverts végétaux sont de rigueur. Avoine, navette, vesce ou moutarde cohabitent avec la flore indigène, chacune contribuant à la vitalité et à la richesse des sols. L’évolution vers plus de biodiversité est privilégiée. L’implantation de haies et d’arbres fruitiers forment les projets les plus immédiats. Les vignes elles-mêmes ont gagné en densité permettant ainsi de limiter le nombre de grappes par souche pour mieux concentrer leur matière. Il ressort de cette approche vertueuse une richesse potentielle dont les vins du Domaine Rotier se révèlent l’évidente expression. Duras et Loin de l’Œil, parfaitement adaptés à ce plateau de graves, forment le cœur du travail de vinification.

L’Âme

Au Domaine Rotier on vinifie en cuves et en fûts. L’expression des vins s’en trouve claire. Au premier plan, du fruit favorisé par l’élevage en cuve béton. Au second plan, de la complexité tirée de l’assemblage ou de l’effet subtil du bois. Dans la gamme des rouges, les Gravels forment la première expression d’un Duras allié à la Syrah, au Braucol et au Prunelart. La cuvée Esquisse pousse encore plus loin l’expression du Duras : légèrement appuyé par le Braucol et la Syrah, ce vin s’ouvre sur la pleine expression du fruit puis des épices rendus intacts par l’absence de sulfite. De l’élevage en barriques de chêne ou d’acacia le Domaine Rotier tire des vins dont la complexité est bien équilibrée. La cuvée Renaissance d’abord, issue d’un élevage de 12 mois en fûts. Puis L’Âme, un Duras soutenu de Braucol, d’abord fermenté en barrique ouverte, puis élevé dans le bois pour conduire à un bouquet complexe et velouté qui est la plus haute expression du Domaine. Rajoutons à cela la fraîcheur d’un blanc sec bien construit et l’enchantement des blancs doux, exceptionnels au Domaine Rotier. La cuvée Renaissance en particulier, dont la robe d’or légèrement cuivrée annonce l’éclat du miel et la puissance aromatique d’un 100 % Loin de l’Œil magnifié par les vendanges tardives.

Domaine Rotier - L'Âme
Domaine Rotier – L’Âme

https://domaine-rotier.com/


Domaine Rotierlocaliser Situer sur la carte
Petit Nareye
81600 Cadalen

telephone 05 63 41 75 14