Combe Longue, by Domaine Saint Cels

Combe Longue - Domaine Saint Cels - Wine of Saint Chinian
Combe Longue – Domaine Saint Cels – Wine of Saint Chinian
Combe Longue - Domaine Saint Cels - Saint Chinian wine
logo-saint-chinian-schist-limestone

Combe Longue 2021

A fruity and generous white wine from Domain of Saint Cels vinified in PDO Saint Chinian.

Terroir

At the heart of the AOP Saint-Chinian, the domain Saint Cels benefits from an exceptional terroir with a diversity of soils used in organic viticulture: schist hillsides, clay-limestone valleys, rolled pebbles. As throughout the territory of Saint-chinian, the climate and the vegetation which influence the profile and the nose of the wines are typically Mediterranean. More specifically, the vineyard, which is exposed to hot and dry summers but tempered by the coolness of the nights, offers real potential for the production of white wines. The fruit of a three-hectare parcel vineyard located on clay-limestone hillsides south of the village of Saint-Chinian, the cuvée Long Combe is a perfect testimony.

Grape varieties and culture

The cuvée Long Combe comes from the balanced blend of a trio of grape varieties. White Grenache gives it the lightness and delicacy of white flower notes. The Roussanne infuses with finesse the notes of dried fruits. The Rolle, long called Vermentino, comes to fix the whole with its own touch of freshness.
The vines that contribute to this harmonic trio bring a richness based on an average age of the vines greater than 25 years. Their expressive potential is enhanced by the management of the vineyard in organic viticulture which favors the partial grassing of the rows of vines.

Breeding

Au Domaine Saint-Cels the work in the cellar is particularly meticulous and strives to give the wines of Saint Chinian a profile of modernity through the affirmation of fruitiness. To achieve this expressive fullness, the cuvée Long Combe is aged on its fine lees until bottling.

Tasting

The cuvée Long Combe is distinguished by a light yellow robe with luminous sparkles. On the first nose it reveals a delicacy and a lightness where a dominant of citrus could evoke the mandarin. Then, the aromatic density unfolding, spices and bergamot enrich the first olfactory impressions.
On the palate, the attack is distinguished by its roundness and density, revealing the signature of the terroir of Combe Longue which is distinguished by its sunny hillsides. The first evocations of fruit and spice are still confirmed. The whole is seductive, testifying to a balance whose subtle and fresh opulence make all the charm.

The ideal serving temperature is around 10-12°C
Long Combe adapts to being drunk in its early youth or but also agrees with a conservation of 2 to 3 years in the cellar.

Food & wine pairings

This white wine can go perfectly with a Mediterranean fish fillet seared on one side, accompanied by a spring vegetable or a risotto. with mushrooms.

French FR English EN

Combe Longue, par domaine Saint Cels

Combe Longue - Domaine Saint Cels - Vin de Saint Chinian
Combe Longue – Domaine Saint Cels – Vin de Saint Chinian
Combe Longue - Domaine Saint Cels - vin de Saint Chinian
logo-saint-chinian-schiste-calcaire

Combe Longue 2021

Un vin blanc fruité et généreux du domaine de Saint Cels vinifié en AOP Saint Chinian.

Terroir

Au cœur de l’AOP Saint-Chinian, le domaine Saint Cels bénéficie d’un terroir exceptionnel présentant une diversité de sols exploités en viticulture biologique : coteaux de schistes, vallons argilo-calcaires, galets roulés. Comme sur tout le territoire de Saint-Chinian, le climat et la végétation qui influencent le profil et le nez des vins sont typiquement méditerranéens. Plus précisément, le vignoble qui est exposé à des étés chauds et secs mais tempérés par la fraicheur des nuits, offre un vrai potentiel pour l’élaboration des vins blancs. Fruit d’un vignoble parcellaire de trois hectares situé sur des coteaux argilo-calcaires au sud du village de Saint-Chinian, la cuvée Combe Longue en est un parfait témoignage.

Cépages et culture

La cuvée Combe Longue est issue de l’assemblage équilibré d’un trio de cépages. Le Grenache blanc lui confère la légèreté et la délicatesse des notes de fleurs blanches. La Roussanne insufle avec finesse les notes de fruits secs. Le Rolle, longtemps appelé Vermentino, vient fixer l’ensemble par sa touche propre de fraicheur.
Les vignes qui concourent à ce trio harmonique apportent une richesse assise sur une moyenne d’âge des ceps supérieure 25 ans. Leur potentiel expressif est bonifié par une conduite du vignoble en viticulture biologique qui privilégie l’enherbement partiel des rangs de vignes.

Élevage

Au Domaine Saint Cels le travail au chai est particulièrement soigné et s’attache à conférer au vins de Saint Chinian un profil de modernité par l’affirmation du fruité. Pour parvenir à cette plénitude expressive, la cuvée Combe Longue est élevée sur ses lies fines jusqu’à la mise en bouteille.

Dégustation

La cuvée Combe Longue se distingue par une robe d’un jaune clair aux éclats lumineux. Au premier nez elle révèle une délicatesse et une légèreté où une dominante d’agrumes pourrait évoquer la mandarine. Puis, la densité aromatique se déployant, épices et bergamote viennent enrichir les premières impressions olfactives.
En bouche l’attaque se distingue par sa rondeur et sa densité, révélant en filigrane la signature du terroir de Combe-Longue qui se distingue par ses coteaux ensoleillés. Les premières évocations de fruit et d’épice trouvent encore leur confirmation. L’ensemble est séduisant, témoignant d’un équilibre dont la subtile et fraîche opulence font tout le charme.

La température idéale de service se situe autour des 10-12°C
Combe Longue s’accommode d’être bue dans sa prime jeunesse ou mais s’accorde également avec une conservation de 2 à 3 ans en cave.

Accords mets & vin

Ce vin blanc pourra s’accorder parfaitement avec un filet poisson de Méditerranée saisi à l’unilatéral, accompagné d’une printanière de légumes ou d’un risotto ai funghi.

French FR English EN