Domaine Saint-Cels

logo-saint-chinian-schist-limestonepays-d-oc-55pxOrganic wine from Occitania


Le Domaine Saint-Cels is an independent winery committed to a spirit of modernity and environmental respect that actively contributes to the renewal of the wine-growing region of Saint-Chinian.


Invigorate the land

Saint-Cels is a locality very close to the town of Saint-Chinian. He gave his name to Domaine Saint-Cels whose tasting cellar is located in the small hamlet of Castelbouze located a short distance away. At this point, past the small parade of old houses that line the path, the landscape opens onto limestone cliffs, typical of the region. At their foot, the first vines rise in well-ordered rows on the ascending slope of the hillsides. In this small world one can guess an intimacy where family history, power of the terroir and wine-growing tradition intertwine. The place concentrates all the features of a landscape specific to theSaint Chinian appellation : mineral intensity, Mediterranean flora, layering of reliefs. Between shales and limestones, on an 80 hectare vineyard exploited in organic farming, the frame is set.

Dare to be different

If the small hamlet of Castelbouze seems to have settled in an attractive rusticity, it quickly turns out that another story is being written in Joseph's House which hosts the Wine Shop du domain Saint Cels. Étienne and Marie Rouanet, the winegrowers, knew how to reinvent the place by infusing this family heritage with a luminous modernity. And it is not a question of a simple impression but of a choice assumed like a motto: " Daring to be different — Risking modernity — Allowing oneself all the freedoms. This mindset could be summed up in one word: creativity. At Domaine Saint-Cels breathes a desire for renewal, essential for a Saint Chinian appellation whose AOC classification dates back to 1982. For Étienne and Marie Rouanet, the spirit is to invent a new way of making and thinking about wine by adapting it to the spirit of the times. If the terroir remains the guarantor of the structure of Saint Chinian wines however, it is in the cellar that the spirit of renewal asserts itself and takes shape. It is in its intimacy and its concentration that the cuvées of Domaine Saint-Cels patiently reach their full expression.

Vinify with freedom

Au Domaine Saint-Cels, this spirit and this will have generated a clear and coherent range of wines. It is divided into four families: The Sparks, The Naturals, The Timeless, The Confidential.
The first two families, declined in red wines and white wines, combine the suppleness and freedom offered by vinification in IGP Pays d'Oc. They are primarily looking for the dazzling expression of the fruit, going as far as bottling without sulphites to The Naturals. The grape varieties themselves testify to this voluntary and generous choice: the white wines mobilize Rolle and Colombard, while the red wines make Syrah, Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon sing in concert.
The two other families fall within the specifications of the Saint Chinian wines which reveal in their full expression the Syrah, Grenache, Carignan, Mourvèdre for the reds as well as the Roussane, Grenache blanc or Rolle for the whites. The first range of Saint Chinian – The Timeless – finds its consistency in a triology that brings together a red wine, a rosé wine and a white wine. First and foremost revealing the singularities of the terroir, they respectively evoke its identity: Grand Traverse, Under the Pines, Long Combe. The second range – The Confidential – captures the most accomplished expressions of the terroir, concentrated on a red wine and a white wine, both well named Thousand Stars-White et Thousand Red Stars.

Domaine Saint-Cels

Hamlet of Castelbouze
34360 Saint Chinian

phone +33 6 23 36 78 90

French FR English EN

Domaine Saint Cels

logo-saint-chinian-schiste-calcairepays-d-oc-55pxVin bios d'Occitanie


Le Domaine Saint Cels est une cave indépendante engagée dans un esprit de modernité et de respect environnemental qui contribue activement au renouveau du terroir viticole de Saint Chinian.


Vivifier le terroir

Saint Cels est un lieu-dit tout proche de la commune de Saint Chinian. Il a conféré son nom au Domaine Saint Cels dont le caveau de dégustation se situe dans le petit hameau de Castelbouze situé à quelques encablures de là. À cet endroit, passé le petit défilé de maisons anciennes qui bordent le chemin, le paysage s’ouvre sur des falaises calcaires, typiques du terroir. À leur pied, les premières vignes s’élèvent en rangs bien ordonnés sur la pente ascendante des coteaux. Dans ce petit monde se devine une intimité où s’entrelacent histoire familiale, puissance du terroir et tradition viticole. Le lieu concentre tous les traits d’un paysage propre à l’appellation Saint Chinian : intensité minérale, flore méditerranéenne, étagement des reliefs. Entre schistes et calcaires, sur un vignoble de 80 hectares exploité en agriculture biologique, le cadre est posé.

Oser la différence

Si le petit hameau de Castelbouze semble s’être fixé dans une séduisante rusticité, il se révèle très vite qu’une autre histoire s’écrit à La Maison de Joseph qui héberge le Wine Shop du domaine Saint Cels. Étienne et Marie Rouanet, les vignerons, ont su réinventer le lieu en insufflant à cet héritage familial une lumineuse modernité. Et il ne s’agit pas d’une simple impression mais d’un choix assumé comme une devise : « Oser la différence — Risquer la modernité — S’autoriser toutes les libertés. » Cet orientation d’esprit pourrait se résumer en un mot : la créativité. Au Domaine Saint Cels souffle une volonté de renouveau, essentielle pour une appellation Saint Chinian dont le classement en AOC remonte à 1982. Pour Étienne et Marie Rouanet, l’esprit est à l’invention d’une nouvelle manière de faire et penser le vin en l’accordant à l’esprit du temps. Si le terroir reste garant de la structure des vins de Saint Chinian c’est cependant à la cave que l’esprit du renouveau s’affirme et prend corps. C’est dans son intimité et sa concentration que les cuvées du Domaine Saint Cels accèdent avec patience à leur pleine expression.

Vinifier avec liberté

Au Domaine Saint Cels, cet esprit et cette volonté ont engendré une gamme de vins claire et cohérente. Elle se décompte en quatre familles : Les Étincelles, Les Naturelles, Les Intemporelles, Les Confidentielles.
Les deux premières familles, déclinées en vins rouges et vins blancs, s’accordent de la souplesse et de la liberté qu’offrent les vinifications en IGP Pays d’Oc. Elles recherchent en priorité l’expression éclatante du fruit, poussant jusqu’à une mise en bouteille sans sulfites pour Les Naturelles. Les cépages eux-mêmes témoignent de ce choix volontaire et généreux : les vins blancs mobilisent Rolle et Colombard, tandis que les vins rouges font chanter de concert la Syrah, le Merlot et le Cabernet sauvignon.
Les deux autres familles s’inscrivent dans le cahier des charges des vins de Saint Chinian qui révèlent dans leur pleine expression les Syrah, Grenache, Carignan, Mourvèdre pour les rouges ainsi que les Roussane, Grenache blanc ou Rolle pour les blancs. La première gamme de Saint Chinian – Les Intemporelles – trouve sa cohérence dans une triologie qui réunit un vin rouge, un vin rosé et un vin blanc. Révélateurs en premier lieu des singularités de terroir, ils en évoquent respectivement l’identité : Grand Travers, Sous les Pins, Combe Longue. La seconde gamme – Les Confidentielles – se saisit quant à elle des expressions les plus abouties du terroir, concentrées sur un vin rouge et un vin blanc, tous deux bien nommés Mille Étoiles-Blanc et Mille Étoiles Rouges.

Domaine Saint Cels

Hameau de Castelbouze
34360 Saint-Chinian

telephone +33 6 23 36 78 90

French FR English EN