Terroirs of Vertigo

Wines from Corbières


In this land of Corbières dominated by the Château de Quéribus, the Terroirs du Vertige apply to the full expression of wines from altitude vineyards.


Contrasting altitudes

The announcement of the name immediately places the vineyard: Terroirs of Vertigo. If the Mediterranean remains close as the crow flies, the altitude is very present here. The castle of Quéribus, Cathar fortress, dominates Cucugnan on a rocky peak reaching 728m in height. At its feet extends the vineyard, divided into plots on rocky slopes. Further down, around Talairan, the vines occupy a slightly more settled area. On this terroir shared between Mediterranean influences and temperance of the altitudes, the grapes ripen slowly but surely. Drawing its strength from the clay-limestone and schistous substrates of the Corbières, it draws from the climate a dense and fruity expression, well served by a flexible palette of grape varieties. On these 850 hectares coexist Grenache, Merlot, Cabernet sauvignon, Syrah, Cinsault, Grenache blanc, Marsanne or Chardonnay.

A sought-after balance

The vineyards of Terroirs of Vertigo benefit from this plot distribution between calm reliefs around Talairan and expressive altitudes around Cucugnan. The configuration gives the wines of the cooperative a latitude of nuances which reconcile the full expression of the fruit with the solid minerality of the terroir. The solidarity of the winegrower, served by favorable soils, gives Terroirs of Vertigo a well-deployed production capacity. The wines bear witness to a rigorous balance which is an ambassador of the charm of these high altitude Corbières. The focus is primarily on the aromatic freshness resulting from the mastery of maturation. The differences in level and the subtle climatic variations that they generate determine the coherent nuances of the different vintages. We find in each one the mastery of silky tannins served by a balance of fruits and flavors which are the common core and the bias of all the wines of the Terroirs of Vertigo.

Wines in relief

The choice to place the expression of fruit in the foreground is literally expressed with the range Freshness. It comes to seek its expressive dominant in Grenaches, nuanced by Syrah for the reds, Marsanne for the whites and Cinsault for the rosés. Pushing the potential of the terroir a little further, the cuvée Dizziness leads a Syrah, which has become the majority, to take precedence over the bursts of Grenache. From a traditional vinification, wrapped in a deep purple robe, it comes to seek this typical marriage of ripe red fruits enhanced with peppery and spicy flavors. This full expressiveness finds its peak with the two flagship cuvées of the Terroirs of Vertigo. The first one, Rock of Bonelli, borrows its name from a rare eagle, pushing Syrah and Grenache to seek their peaks after 12 months of barrel aging. The second, named Corvaria, draws its name from the essence of the Corbières. It is adorned with a deep garnet where the dominant Syrah, enhanced in the barrel, matches with a Grenache preserved in its full freshness. If in an altitude vineyard balance and strength are guarantees of full expressiveness, the Terroirs of Vertigo perfectly reach the expected heights.

French FR English EN

Terroirs du Vertige

Vins de Corbières


Sur cette terre des Corbières dominée par le château de Quéribus, les Terroirs du Vertige s’appliquent à la pleine expression de vins issus de vignobles d’altitude.


Des altitudes contrastées

L’annonce du nom situe d’emblée le vignoble : Terroirs du Vertige. Si la Méditerranée reste proche à vol d’oiseau, l’altitude est ici bien présente. Le château de Quéribus, forteresse cathare, y domine Cucugnan sur un piton rocheux culminant à 728m de hauteur. À ses pieds s’étend le vignoble, réparti en parcelles sur des versants rocailleux. Plus bas, autour de Talairan, les vignes occupent un terrain un peu plus assagi. Sur ce terroir partagé entre les influences méditerranéennes et la tempérance des altitudes, le raisin mûrit lentement mais sûrement. Puisant sa force dans les substrats argilo-calcaires et schisteux des Corbières, il tire du climat une expression dense et fruitée, bien servie par une souple palette de cépages. Sur ces 850 hectares cohabitent Grenache, Merlot, Cabernet sauvignon, Syrah, Cinsault, Grenache blanc, Marsanne ou Chardonnay.

Un équilibre recherché

Les vignobles des Terroirs du Vertige bénéficient de cette répartition parcellaire entre reliefs assagis autour de Talairan et altitudes expressives autour de Cucugnan. La configuration confère aux vins de la coopérative une latitude de nuances qui concilient la pleine expression des fruits avec la solide minéralité du terroir. La solidarité vigneronne, servie par des sols favorables, confère aux Terroirs du Vertige une capacité de production aux nuances bien déployées. Les vins y témoignent d’un équilibre rigoureux qui se fait ambassadeur du charme de ces Corbières d’altitude. Le parti-pris se fixe en priorité sur la fraîcheur aromatique issue de la maîtrise des maturations. Les dénivelés et les subtiles variations climatiques qu’ils génèrent déterminent les cohérentes nuances des différentes cuvées. On y retrouve en chacune la maîtrise des tanins soyeux servie par un équilibre des fruits et des saveurs qui font le tronc commun et le parti-pris de tous les vins des Terroirs du Vertige.

Des vins en relief

Le choix de placer au premier plan l’expression des fruits s’énonce littéralement avec la gamme Fraîcheur. Elle vient chercher sa dominante expressive dans les Grenaches, nuancés par la Syrah pour les rouges, la Marsanne pour les blancs et le Cinsault pour les rosés. Poussant un peu plus loin le potentiel du terroir, la cuvée Vertiges conduit une Syrah devenue majoritaire à prendre le pas sur les éclats du Grenache. Issue d’une vinification traditionnelle, enveloppée dans une robe de violet profond, elle vient chercher ce mariage typique des fruits rouges à maturité rehaussés de saveurs poivrées et épicées. Cette pleine expressivité trouve son apogée avec les deux cuvées phares des Terroirs du Vertige. La première, Roc de Bonelli, emprunte son nom à un aigle rare, poussant Syrah et Grenache à venir chercher leurs sommets après 12 mois d’élevage en fût. La seconde, nommée Corvaria, puise par son nom à l’essence des Corbières. Elle se pare d’un grenat profond où la Syrah dominante et bonifiée en fût s’accorde avec un Grenache préservé dans sa pleine fraîcheur. Si sur un vignoble d’altitude équilibre et force sont gages de pleine expressivité, les Terroirs du Vertige atteignent parfaitement les hauteurs attendues.

https://terroirsduvertige.fr/


Terroirs du Vertigelocaliser Situer sur la carte
31 Rue Alphonse Daudet
11350 Cucugnan

&
localiser Situer sur la carte
2 Chemin des Vignerons
11220 Talairan

04 68 44 02 17