Dom brial


In Baixas en Roussillon, the house Dom brial testifies to the vitality of winegrower groups in Catalan country. Its production is available in three worlds where red, white and rosé wines are present as well as natural sweet wines.


Dom Brial the collective

History Dom brial is deeply rooted in the wine tradition of Roussillon. The collective of winegrowers came together in 1907 at the time of the memorable vineyard crisis. From the historical grouping, the current structure was born in 1923. She took the name of Dom brial in homage to this monk and Benedictine historian of the XVIIIe century which was a benefactor of the village community. The strong expression of a local identity, which is above all that of the soil and the climate, has been the unifying force of the winegrowers. Today, nearly 250 of them are passionately helping a 2100 hectare vineyard. The natural sweet wines, of tradition on the terroirs of Roussillon, deploy fine vintages there. But since the region benefits from the appellations reserved for red, white and rosé, these are now inseparable from the quality signatures of the house.

Wines in three families

At Dom brial, the tasting room reflects the structure of the wines and the terroirs which come in three worlds. Three showcases showcase them, starting with the collection Dom brial herself. To this is added the collection of vintages from Chateau les Pins as well as the singular rosé Rozy, a universe and a story all by itself. Varieties of soils, geographical distribution of vineyards and breeding methods allow a variation of wines on several appellations: Coasts of Roussillon, Coasts of Roussillon Villages, Rivesaltes, Muscat de Rivesaltes, and on a larger scale, Catalan coasts. If we associate the wines of Roussillon with reds where Grenache has pride of place, it turns out that the territory of Baixas is also a beautiful white terroir where the Grenaches blanc and gris, Roussanne, Marsanne and the Viognier. Let us add to the inventory of grape varieties the Muscat à petit grains, whose aromatic potential will just as easily accommodate the Muscat de Rivesaltes itself as rosé Rozy he discreetly marks the merry bouquet.

Dom Brial in vintages

In the universe Dom brial each appellation finds its range. The Côtes du Roussillon of course with The Embrace in three colors and Mirade in white. Mirade red marks the entry into the Côtes du Roussillon Villages whose typicity becomes denser with vintage vintages from the vines of Crest Small. This terroir acquired in the 2000s, predominantly limestone, has as an ambassador a red wine reconciling beautiful freshness and length in the mouth. Made from 80% Syrah and 20% Grenache, matured in demi-muids for 12 months, it is certainly one of the signatures with a strong identity of Dom brial. This expertise and this know-how of the winegrowers are found in the entire range of wines in the universe. Chateau les Pins, no longer inscribed in the heritage memory. The art of the vintage then returns to Rivesaltes Grande Reserve. The number 9 holds a very special place there where since 1959 the tradition of highlighting each decennial cuvée has been perpetuated: 1969, 1979, etc. Interspersed with other intermediate dates, this collection of Rivesaltes is certainly unique and exciting to explore. The vinification of Rivesaltes also generates a very unique cuvée, built on this tradition which consisted in maturing under an oxidative regime the balance of musts that were not mutated. Relative of that of sailing wines to yellow wines, the technique generates a Dry Rancio which is a taste and aromatic experience in itself. As for the search for bouquets full of freshness and tinted with the Catalonia sun, it is with the Muscat from Rivesaltes signed Dom brial ou Chateau les Pins that it finds material.

http://www.dom-brial.com/


Dom briallocate Locate on the map
14 Avenue du Marechal Joffre
66390 Baixas

phone 04 68 64 22 37


French FR English EN

Dom Brial


À Baixas en Roussillon, la maison Dom Brial témoigne de la vitalité des regroupements de vignerons en pays catalan. Sa production se décline en trois univers où répondent présents les vins rouges, blancs et rosés tout autant que les vins doux naturels.


Dom Brial le collectif

L’histoire de Dom Brial est profondément enracinée dans la tradition viticole du Roussillon. Le collectif de vignerons s’est fédéré dès 1907 à l’époque de la mémorable crise des vignobles. Du regroupement historique est née en 1923 l’actuelle structure. Elle a pris le nom de Dom Brial en hommage à ce moine et historien bénédictin du XVIIIe siècle qui fut un bienfaiteur de la communauté villageoise. L’expression affirmée d’une identité locale, qui est avant tout celle du sol et du climat, a été la force fédératrice des vignerons. Ils sont aujourd’hui près de 250 à faire prospérer avec passion un vignoble de 2100 hectares. Les vins doux naturels, de tradition sur les terroirs du Roussillon, y déploient de beaux millésimes. Mais depuis que la région bénéficie des appellations réservées aux rouges, blancs et rosés, ceux-ci sont désormais indissociables des signatures qualitatives de la maison.

Les vins en trois familles

Chez Dom Brial, la salle de dégustation reflète la structure des vins et des terroirs  qui se déclinent en trois univers. Trois vitrines les mettent en scène, à commencer par la collection Dom Brial elle-même. À celle-ci vient s’ajouter la collection des cuvées issues du Château les Pins ainsi que le singulier rosé Rozy, un univers et une histoire à lui tout seul. Variétés des sols, répartitions géographiques des vignobles et modes d’élevage permettent une déclinaison des vins sur plusieurs appellations : Côtes du Roussillon, Côtes du Roussillon Villages, Rivesaltes, Muscat de Rivesaltes, et à échelle plus large, Côtes Catalanes. Si l’on associe les vins du Roussillon à des rouges où le Grenache a la part belle, il se révèle que le territoire de Baixas est aussi un beau terroir à blancs où se plaisent les Grenaches blanc et gris, la Roussanne, la Marsanne et le Viognier. Ajoutons à l’inventaire des cépages le Muscat à petit grains, dont le potentiel aromatique va tout autant s’accommoder du Muscat de Rivesaltes lui-même que du rosé Rozy dont il marque discrètement le joyeux bouquet.

Dom Brial en millésimes

Dans l’univers Dom Brial chaque appellation trouve sa gamme. Les Côtes du Roussillon bien-sûr avec L’Étreinte en trois couleurs et Mirade en blanc. Mirade rouge sonne l’entrée dans les Côtes du Roussillon Villages dont les typicités se densifient avec les cuvées millésimées issues des vignes de Crest Petit. Ce terroir acquis dans les années 2000, à dominante calcaire, a pour ambassadeur un vin rouge conciliant belle fraîcheur et longueur en bouche. Construit en 80% Syrah et 20% Grenache, élevé en demi-muids durant 12 mois, il est certainement l’une des signatures à forte identité de Dom Brial. Cette expertise et ce savoir-faire des vignerons se retrouvent avec toute la gamme des vins de l’univers Château du Pin, plus inscrite sur la mémoire patrimoniale. L’art du millésime revient ensuite aux Rivesaltes Grande Réserve. Le chiffre 9 y tient une place très particulière où depuis 1959 s’est perpétuée la tradition de mettre en valeur chaque cuvée décennale : 1969, 1979, etc. Entrecoupée d’autres dates intermédiaires, cette collection de Rivesaltes est certainement unique et de passionnante exploration. La vinification des Rivesaltes engendre par ailleurs une cuvée très singulière, construite sur cette tradition qui consistait à élever sous régime oxydatif le solde des moûts qui n’étaient pas mutés. Parente de celle des vins de voile ou des vins jaunes, la technique engendre un Rancio Sec qui est une expérience gustative et aromatique à lui tout seul. Quant à la recherche des bouquets pleins de fraîcheur et teintés du soleil de catalogne, c’est avec les Muscats de Rivesaltes signés Dom Brial ou Château du Pin qu’elle trouve matière.

http://www.dom-brial.com/


Dom Briallocaliser Situer sur la carte
14 Avenue du Maréchal Joffre
66390 Baixas

telephone 04 68 64 22 37