Armagnac Jean Cave


Armagnac Jean Cave is the signature of a great Armagnac house located in Lannepax, where blended eaux-de-vie rub shoulders with one of the largest collections of vintage Armagnacs.


Armagnac in the singular and in the plural

If the house is named after Armagnac Jean Cave in the singular, it is above all a generic brand for large Armagnac in the plural. Because its history is first and foremost that of tradition and memory. It is also the work of Gascon patience and transmission from generation to generation. This is also the hallmark of Armagnac where, in the great houses, what the ancestors produced is kept like a treasure while the fruit of future distillations is passed on to future generations. The work of time is reflected in the cellars by the blackening of the walls and roof tiles, which testifies to the presence of a fungus inseparable from the breeding grounds. In this atmosphere, each " play "- understand by that each" barrel "- seems to release a luminous heat where under the patinated tones of oak woods ripened the amber of the precious brandy.

Transmission as a tradition

Armagnac Jean Cave is the typical story of a transmission. The house bears the name of its founder, Jean Cavé, who from 1883 boiled his premier crus in Lannepax. Since then, four generations have succeeded it, each one enriched by an increasingly sophisticated know-how in distillation, aging and aging. The winery itself bears witness to this technicality where an ingeniously designed underground irrigation network maintains ideal humidity throughout the year. In Armagnac Jean Cave the atmosphere is like a dive into time which fixes and sublimates traditions. The real treasure is at Paradise, this confidential place where the great Armagnac houses store their collection of vintages in large glass bottles. The star here bears the handwritten inscription 1888. A magical number that stands out in the half-light in the middle of a string of vintages, arranged in chronological order in a tiered setting. Because vintage Armagnacs are the prerogative of the Jean Cavé house, which has one of the finest collections of its kind.

The art of vintage and blending

Taste a Armagnac Jean Cave vintage is first of all to taste the soul of time and seasons. Each of these eaux-de-vie bears the signature of the year and the climatic peculiarities that saw its birth. The experience is magical and time is declined depending on the complexity of the aromas that forge the identity of each Armagnac. As in all the great houses, these rarities sit alongside the collection of blends, expertly combined by the cellar master. With great care and consistency of the labels, the VS, VSOP, XO, Out of Age where the increasingly intense virtues of aging and aging are expressed, which are the hallmarks of the house. From the attention paid to boxes and bottles was born the collection The experience  whose elegance of the container was distinguished by a design award. The range magnifies Armagnacs in natural degree of the barrel as well as the Blanche d'Armagnac, this crystalline brandy fixing the purity of the fruit at the direct end of the distillation. Do not forget either thatArmagnac Jean Cave belongs to the Club des Marques which signs some famous spirits such as Pousse Rapière produced at Château Monluc, a famous Gascon aperitif made with orange liqueur and Armagnac blended with sparkling wine.

learn more Other producers of Armagnac


French FR English EN

Armagnac Jean Cavé


Armagnac Jean Cavé est la signature d’une grande maison d’Armagnac située à Lannepax, où les eaux-de-vie d’assemblage côtoient l’une des plus grandes collections d’Armagnacs millésimés.


L’Armagnac au singulier et au pluriel

Si la maison porte le nom de Armagnac Jean Cavé au singulier, elle est surtout une enseigne générique pour de grands Armagnacs au pluriel. Car son histoire est d’abord celle de la tradition et de la mémoire. Elle est également l’œuvre de la patience gasconne et de la transmission de génération en génération. C’est d’ailleurs le propre de l’Armagnac où, dans les grandes maisons, on conserve comme un trésor ce que les ancêtres ont produit tandis que l’on transmet aux générations futures le fruit des prochaines distillations. L’œuvre du temps se traduit dans les chais par le noircissement des murs et des tuiles des toits qui témoigne de la présence d’un champignon indissociable des lieux d’élevage. Dans cette ambiance, chaque « pièce » – entendez par cela chaque « barrique » – semble dégager une chaleur lumineuse où sous les tons patinés des bois de chênes mûri l’ambre de la précieuse eau-de-vie.

La transmission comme tradition

Armagnac Jean Cavé est l’histoire typique d’une transmission. La maison porte le nom de son fondateur, Jean Cavé, qui dès 1883 bouillait ses premiers crus à Lannepax. Depuis, quatre générations lui ont succédé, chacune enrichie d’un savoir-faire de plus en plus pointu dans la distillation, l’élevage et le vieillissement. Le chai lui-même témoigne de cette technicité où un réseau d’irrigation souterrain de conception ingénieuse maintient une humidité idéale tout au long de l’année. Chez Armagnac Jean Cavé l’ambiance est comme une plongée dans le temps qui fixe et sublime les traditions. Le véritable trésor se trouve au Paradis, ce lieu confidentiel où les grandes maisons d’Armagnac entreposent leur collection de millésimes dans de grandes bouteilles de verre. La star ici porte l’inscription manuscrite 1888. Un nombre magique qui se détache dans la pénombre au milieu d’un chapelet de millésimes, arrangés en ordre chronologique selon une mise en scène en gradins. Car les Armagnacs millésimés sont l’apanage de la maison Jean Cavé qui possède l’une des plus belles collections du genre.

L’art du millésime et de l’assemblage

Goûter à un Armagnac Jean Cavé millésimé c’est d’abord déguster l’âme du temps et des saisons. Chacune de ces eaux-de-vie porte la signature de l’année et des singularités climatiques qui l’a vue naître. L’expérience est magique et le temps s’y décline selon la complexité des arômes qui forgent l’identité de chaque Armagnac. Comme dans toutes les grandes maisons, ces raretés côtoient la collection des assemblages, savamment mariés par le maître de chai. Avec grand soin et cohérence des étiquettes se déclinent les VS, VSOP, les XO, les Hors d’Âge où s’expriment les vertus de plus en plus intenses de l’élevage et du vieillissement qui font la signature de la maison. De l’attention portée aux écrins et aux flacons est née la collection L’Expérience  dont l’élégance du contenant s’est distinguée par un prix de design. La gamme magnifie des Armagnacs au degré naturel du fût ainsi que la Blanche d’Armagnac, cette eau-de-vie cristalline fixant la pureté du fruit à l’issue directe de la distillation. Ne pas oublier non plus qu’Armagnac Jean Cavé appartient au Club des Marques qui signe quelques spiritueux notoires comme le Pousse Rapière, célèbre apéritif gascon fait de liqueur d’orange et armagnac assemblée à un vin effervescent.

https://www.armagnac-jean-cave.fr/


Armagnac Jean Cavélocaliser Situer sur la carte
32190 Lannepax

telephone 05 62 06 36 01