Domain of the Ramaye

Gaillac wines organic and biodynamic  High Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


If wine always tells a story, at Domain of the Ramaye he also has a voice: that of Michel Issaly who tells it, tells it and whose words we drink as we drink our wine with the wonder of the terroir rediscovered.


The spirit of wine and the land

Le Domain of the Ramaye has existed since 1846. The vines have been passed down within the family for six generations. The vineyard is summed up in six hectares but with Michel Issaly proof will be given that the modesty of the surface has nothing to do with the greatness of the winegrower. First, his greatness of soul and his love as much as his understanding of the land of the ancestors. Because before thinking about the assembly of wines, it is first of all to the assembly of nature that the winemaker addresses to keep it alive and proliferating. Then it is to the infinite respect of the celestial cycles which punctuate the awakening or the sleep of the earth and the vine that it attaches. In the wines of Michel Issaly, it is this unspoiled nature that explodes and enchants.

A sleeping cellar

Au Domain of the Ramaye not only is the ancestral tradition perpetuated but the memorial spirit remains. Because Michel Issaly does not vinify alone: ​​the spirit of wine accompanies him everywhere as he accompanied his father, his grandfather and his ancestors. And if he tells you about Oblivion wine, don't take it at its word: here the memory is great, the consciousness is complete. Just understand that the Oblivion wine ages in the ancestral cellar where the protective dust exalts under their veils the spirit of the vine. If the wine is forgotten in the secret anterooms of the cellar, it is to be even better found grand and lively with the flavors of the vines of the Domain of the Ramaye and the strong body of the woods that protect them.

Wines that speak

Michel Issaly is as alive as its wine, by its words, by the love of its land, by its uncompromising commitment to produce only natural wine. A wine that shakes up the habits of formatted taste, because this wine draws its power from the depths of the earth where the vines of Domain of the Ramaye draw their sap. So the cuvées are called Blood, like the blood of the earth and the crimson of the press pushing to the heights the power of a red wine that brings together Braucol and Prunelard. Or even the quintessence, a white wine carved in a golden robe from the candied juices and aromatic complexes of the Loin de l'Oeil grape varieties delicately combined with Mauzac. You understood: with Michel Issaly the wine speaks with a great, powerful and poetic voice to further convey the richness and the names of its land. These red wines from the Combe d'Aves, Clos-Rayssac or Great Mound.

learn more The wines of Gaillac

French FR English EN

Domaine de la Ramaye

Vins de Gaillac bio et biodynamique  Haute Valeur Environnementale


Si le vin raconte toujours une histoire, au domaine de la Ramaye il a également une voix : celle de Michel Issaly qui le conte, le raconte et dont on boit les paroles comme on boit son vin avec l’émerveillement du terroir retrouvé.


L’esprit du vin et de la terre

Le domaine de la Ramaye existe depuis 1846. Les vignes s’y transmettent au sein de la famille depuis six générations. Le vignoble se résume en six hectares mais avec Michel Issaly preuve sera faite que la modestie de la surface n’a rien à voir avec la grandeur du vigneron . D’abord sa grandeur d’âme et son amour tout autant que sa compréhension de la terre des ancêtres. Car avant de songer à l’assemblage des vins, c’est d’abord à l’assemblée de la nature que s’adresse le vigneron pour la garder vivante et proliférante. Ensuite c’est à l’infini respect des cycles célestes qui rythment l’éveil ou le sommeil de la terre et de la vigne qu’il s’attache. Dans les vins de Michel Issaly, c’est cette nature intacte qui éclate et qui enchante.

Une cave au bois dormant

Au domaine de la Ramaye se perpétue non seulement la tradition ancestrale mais l’esprit mémorial demeure. Car Michel Issaly ne vinifie pas seul : l’esprit du vin l’accompagne partout comme il accompagnait son père, son grand-père et ses aïeux. Et s’il vous parle du Vin de l’Oubli, ne le prenez pas au mot : ici la mémoire est grande, la conscience est entière. Comprenez simplement que le Vin de l’Oubli vieillit dans la cave ancestrale où les poussières protectrices exaltent sous leurs voiles l’esprit de la vigne. Si le vin est oublié dans les antichambres secrètes du chai, c’est pour être encore mieux retrouvé grand et vif des saveurs des vignes de la Ramaye et du corps charpenté des bois qui les protègent.

Des vins qui parlent

Michel Issaly est aussi vivant que son vin, par ses mots, par l’amour de sa terre, par son engagement sans concession à ne produire que du vin naturel. Un vin qui bouscule les habitudes du goût formaté, car ce vin tire sa puissance des profondeurs de la terre où les vignes de la Ramaye puisent leur sève. Alors les cuvées s’appellent Sang, comme le sang de la terre et le cramoisi de la presse poussant vers les sommets la puissance des Braucol et Prunelard. Ou bien encore la Quintessence, taillée en robe d’or dans les jus confits et les complexes aromatiques des cépages de Loin de l’Oeil délicatement alliés au Mauzac. Vous avez compris : avec Michel Issaly le vin parle d’une voix grande, puissante et poétique pour dire encore la richesse et les noms de sa terre avec les cuvées de la Combe d’Aves, du Clos Rayssac ou du Grand Tertre.

en savoir + Les vins de Gaillac


Domaine de La Ramayemap markerSituer sur la carte
Sainte Cécile d’Avès
817, route de la Ramaye
81600 Gaillac

telephone 06 70 21 64 83 / 05 63 57 06 64