Domaine La Rouviole

Wines of MinervoisMinervois La Livinierepays-d-oc-55pxOrganic wines


Located to the north of the appellation Minervois, Domaine La Rouviole enjoys an environment whose botanical richness and belonging to the cru Minervois La Liviniere foreshadows a highly qualitative winemaking potential.


At the foot of the Petit Causse

Le Domaine la Rouviole clings to the first foothills of the Haut Languedoc Regional Park which dominates to the north the village of Siran. La Livinière, a small town that gave its name to the cru Minervois La Liviniere, is only two kilometers away as the crow flies. Rooted in the terroir of this exceptional cru, the vineyard takes its name from the stream of Rouviole which once flowed here. On its northern limit, the domain rests on the southern slopes of the Small Causse. This is characterized by the botanical diversity of its scrubland which runs down to the bottom. Here the vines are embedded in stands of thyme, lavender, rosemary, almond trees, fig trees, cherry trees, holm oaks and even olive trees. The average altitude of the clay-limestone layers where the vineyard draws its lifeblood is around two hundred meters. At this place, the solar character of the terroir is tempered by the freshness that descends from the surrounding reliefs at nightfall.

On the land of La Livinière

On the 26 hectares of vines enveloped by 10 hectares of scrubland typical of the Petit Causse, the dominant grape varieties are Syrah, Grenache and Carignan. The first two contribute more particularly to the structural identity of Minervois wines et a fortiori to those falling under the quality requirements of the vintage Minervois La Liviniere. The estate's ampelographic inventory also includes Cinsault for red wines, as well as white Grenache and Rolle, which open up new perspectives for the production of white wines. On the vineyard which is staged between 200 and 250 meters above sea level, it is the highest plots which are reserved for the production of red wines produced according to the highest requirements of the La Livinière cru.

On the wine list

The profile of the wines was built over the years following the arrival of Franck Léonor on the Domaine La Rouviole. Indeed, after joining his uncles in 1998, he contributed early to the organic conversion of the vineyard, which has been certified since 2011. As for the spirit of the wines, most refer to his passion for the game of chess which inspires their names. . This is so for The Shepherd's Blow, an inaugural tactic that introduces a cuvée in IGP Pays d'Oc where Cinsault, Carignan and Syrah play together. Switching to Minervois, the vintage Baroque put on Syrah, supported by Grenache and Cinsault. Betting on spontaneity, on time seeks the expression of a Minervois where Syrah and Grenache rely on evocations of scrubland and the mineral base of the terroir. In the same spirit, The Regency uses the same duo and adds a touch of Cinsault which pushes concentration and complexity further. As for the exceptional figure, it takes the name of the nymph Caissa, in reference to the poem by William Jones: Caissa or The Game of Chess. Built on the alliance of Syrah and Grenache, acquiring balance and complexity over aging in barrels, it advances in Domaine La Rouviole as the highest expression of the vintage Minervois La Liviniere.

Domaine La Rouviole

Place called La Rouviole
34210 Siran

phone 04 68 91 42 13

French FR English EN

Domaine La Rouviole

Vins du MinervoisMinervois La Livinièrepays-d-oc-55pxVins bios


Situé au nord de l’appellation Minervois, le Domaine La Rouviole jouit d’un environnement dont la richesse botanique et l’appartenance au cru Minervois La Livinière préfigure un potentiel de vinification hautement qualitatif.


Au pied du Petit Causse

Le Domaine la Rouviole est accroché aux premiers contreforts du Parc Régional du Haut Languedoc qui domine au nord le village de Siran. La Livinière, petite agglomération qui a conféré son nom au cru Minervois La Livinière, n’est distante que de deux kilomètres à vol d’oiseau. Prenant racine sur le terroir de ce cru d’exception, le vignoble emprunte son nom au ruisseau de la Rouviole qui coulait jadis à cet endroit. Sur sa limite septentrionale, le domaine prend appui sur les pentes sud du Petit Causse. Celui-ci se caractérise par la diversité botanique de sa garrigue qui dévale jusqu’en contrebas. Ici les vignes viennent s’enchâsser dans peuplement de thym, de lavande, de romarin, d’amandiers, de figuiers, de cerisiers, de chênes verts ou encore d’oliviers. L’altitude moyenne des nappes argilo-calcaires où le vignoble puise sève est d’environ deux-cents mètres. À cet endroit, le caractère solaire du terroir est tempéré par la fraîcheur qui redescend des reliefs environnants à la nuit tombée.

Sur le terroir de La Livinière

Sur les 26 hectares de vigne enveloppés par 10 hectares de garrigue typique du Petit Causse, les cépages dominants sont la Syrah, le Grenache et le Carignan. Les deux premiers contribuent plus particulièrement à l’identité structurelle des vins du Minervois et a fortiori à ceux relevant des exigences qualitatives du cru Minervois La Livinière. Dans l’inventaire ampélographique du domaine se recensent également du Cinsault pour les vins rouges ainsi que du Grenache blanc et du Rolle qui ouvrent de nouvelles perspectives pour l’élaboration des vins blancs. Sur le vignoble qui s’étage entre 200 et 250 mètres d’altitude, ce sont les parcelles les plus élevées qui sont réservées à la production des vins rouges élaborés selon les plus hautes exigences du cru La Livinière.

Sur l’échiquier des vins

Le profil des vins s’est construit au fil des années qui ont suivi l’arrivée de Franck Léonor sur le Domaine La Rouviole. En effet, après avoir rejoint ses oncles en 1998, il a contribué précocement à la conversion bio du vignoble, labellisé depuis 2011. Quant à l’esprit des vins, la plupart font référence à sa passion pour le jeu des échecs qui inspire leurs noms. Il en est ainsi pour Le Coup du Berger, tactique inaugurale qui introduit une cuvée en IGP Pays d’Oc où jouent conjointement Cinsault, Carignan et Syrah. Basculant en Minervois, la cuvée Baroque mise sur la Syrah, appuyée par Grenache et Cinsault. Pariant sur la spontanéité, A Tempo vise l’expression d’un Minervois où Syrah et Grenache misent sur les évocations de garrigue et l’assise minérale du terroir. Dans le même esprit, La Régence reprend le même duo et lui adjoint une touche de Cinsault qui pousse plus loin concentration et complexité. Quand à la figure d’exception, elle prend le nom de la nymphe Caïssa, en référence au poème de William Jones : Caissa or The Game of Chess. Construite sur l’alliance de la Syrah et du Grenache, acquérant équilibre et complexité au fil d’un élevage en fût, elle s’avance au Domaine La Rouviole comme l’expression la plus élevée du cru Minervois La Livinière.

Domaine La Rouviole

Lieu dit La Rouviole
34210 Siran

telephone 04 68 91 42 13

French FR English EN