Domaine La Louviere

Malepère wines


Le Domaine La Louviere ennobles the way of making and thinking about wine by projecting the toponymy of the terroir and its ampelographic resources in an oenological story shaped by imagination and sensuality.


where wolves draw

On the Malepère vineyard, near the village of Malvies, Is the Domaine La Louviere. The site looks like a small hamlet located on a hill that dominates the surrounding landscape. If the altitude of two hundred meters remains modest, it is all in all sufficient to give the place its air of sentinel. Because since Domaine La Louviere the gaze easily embraces the expanse of the vineyard which gently descends from all the surrounding slopes. And if one lets oneself be inspired by the toponymic evocation, one can easily imagine that from this culminating point one could observe the presence of wolves in more remote times. Because La Louviere literally evokes the animal, reviving at the same time the imaginary fantasy that accompanies it. This is how when, from Germany, the Grohe family became the owner of the estate, she made the wolf and the she-wolf the key figures around which the spirit of the place was built. The decor being set, it means that the wines produced in Domaine La Louviere are going to be told as much as they are going to be tasted.

Where the hill becomes a vine

Let's first come back to the land. In the Malepere it is divided into four sectors, each of which has its own geological and landscape characteristics. At Domaine La Louviere it is at the heart of Razes, all patterned with gentle hills and valleys, that one finds oneself. Due south, in the background, the Pyrenees chain cuts out the horizon. The plots of vines extend all around the residential hamlet from which the friendly but changing relief irresistibly invites you to walk. the Domaine La Louviere, it is a world in itself where the personified shadow of wolves is omnipresent. On the site itself, their main intercessors are jem harris, oenologist and main manager, assisted by Corinne Baute, who is in charge of commercial management. Both are promoters of the setting and the production, watching over the quality of a vineyard where a typical grape variety of the terroir of the Malepère. Because pleasures, Temptations et sins which ferment here, first find their legitimacy in the care given to the red and white grape varieties which preside over the development of the best juices.

Where the wines court

Au Domaine La Louviere, no cuvée that would not leave you without a stir. The spirit of vinification is first and foremost evident in three collections: the pleasures, Temptations and sins. The wine therefore promises to be carnal and each cuvée announces its personality through its label. Each one is distinguished by a personified figure with the head of a wolf, male or female, dressed in a subtly eroticized period costume. If the wine usually tells itself, at the Domaine La Louviere it is rather a story, with an assertive sensuality. Bringing together two white wines and a red wine, the pleasures become ambassadors of theIGP Pays d'Oc in three characters: The Libertine, The Galant and The Rascal. When the dress changes to rosé, it is the Marquis who enters the scene, wearing the colors of the Malepere. When the courtyard reveals itself further, come to the fore Temptations, with The mistress et The Seductress, both similarly issued from the stronghold of the Malepere. Their seductive finery favors the affirmation of red fruits with velvety tannins, dominated by Merlot, Cabernets and Malbec. They form a trio with The Muse coming from theIGP Pays d'Oc, whose inspiring blondness reflects the combined character of Viognier, Chardonnay and Chenin. The swing in Peaches, concentrated sensuality of the highest rank, is announced by the arrival of The Sovereign and The emperor. The first reigns over theIGP Pays d'Oc, and gives all its nobility to a pure Chardonnay of high extraction. The second imposes itself in PDO Malepère, pushing to the highest and most accomplished expression the trio of Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Malbec.

Domaine La Louviere

La Louviere
11300 Malvies

phone 04 68 20 71 55

French FR English EN

Domaine La Louvière

Vins de Malepère


Le Domaine La Louvière ennoblit la manière de faire et penser le vin en projetant la toponymie du terroir et ses ressources ampélographiques dans un récit œnologique modelé d’imaginaire et de sensualité.


Où se dessinent les loups

Sur le vignoble de la Malepère, près du village de Malviès, se trouve le Domaine La Louvière. Le site se présente comme un petit hameau implanté sur un mamelon qui domine le paysage environnant. Si l’altitude de deux-cents mètres reste modeste, elle est somme toute suffisante pour conférer au lieu ses airs de sentinelle. Car depuis le Domaine La Louvière le regard embrasse aisément l’étendue du vignoble qui dévale en douceur depuis toutes les pentes environnantes. Et si l’on se laisse inspirer par l’évocation toponymique, on imagine facilement que de ce point culminant se pouvait observer la présence des loups en des temps plus reculés. Car La Louvière évoque littéralement l’animal, ranimant en même temps l’imaginaire fantasmatique dont il s’accompagne. C’est ainsi que lorsque venue d’Allemagne la famille Grohe devint propriétaire du domaine, elle fit du loup et de la louve les figures maîtresses autour desquelles s’est construit le génie du lieu. Le décor étant posé, il s’entend dès lors que le vins produits au Domaine La Louvière vont se conter tout autant qu’ils vont se déguster.

Où la colline se fait vigne

Revenons en premier lieu au terroir. Dans la Malepère il se découpe en quatre secteurs qui ont chacun leurs singularités géologiques et paysagères. Au Domaine La Louvière c’est au cœur du Razès, tout modelé de collines douces et de vallons, que l’on se trouve. Plein sud, en arrière-plan, la chaîne les Pyrénées découpe l’horizon. Les parcelles de vignes s’étendent tout autour du hameau résidentiel à partir duquel le relief amical mais changeant invite irrésistiblement au cheminement. Le Domaine La Louvière, c’est un monde en soi où l’ombre personnifiée des loups est omniprésente. Sur le site lui-même, leurs intercesseurs principaux sont Jem Harris, œnologue et manager principal, assisté de Corinne Baute, qui veille à la direction commerciale. Tous deux sont promoteurs du cadre et de la production, veillant sur la qualité d’un vignoble où prospère un encépagement typique du terroir de la Malepère. Car Plaisirs, Tentations et Péchés qui fermentent ici, trouvent d’abord leur légitimité dans le soin apporté aux cépages rouges et blancs qui président à l’élaboration des meilleurs jus.

Où les vins font la cour

Au Domaine La Louvière, point de cuvée qui ne laisserait sans émoi. L’esprit des vinifications s’impose en premier lieu en trois collections : les Plaisirs, les Tentations et les Péchés. Le vin s’annonce donc charnel et chaque cuvée annonce sa personnalité par l’entremise de son étiquette. Chacune en effet se distingue par une figure personnifiée à tête de loup, masculine ou féminine, revêtue d’un costume d’époque subtilement érotisé. Si le vin habituellement se raconte, au Domaine La Louvière il se conte plutôt, avec une sensualité affirmée. Rassemblant deux vins blancs et un vin rouge, les Plaisirs se font ambassadeurs de l’IGP Pays d’Oc en trois caractères : Le Libertin, Le Galant et Le Coquin. Lorsque la robe passe en rosé, c’est le Marquis qui entre en scène, portant couleurs de la Malepère. Lorsque la cour se dévoile plus avant, viennent au premier rang les Tentations, avec La Maîtresse et La Séductrice, toutes deux issues pareillement du fief de la Malepère. Leurs atours séducteurs privilégient l’affirmation de fruits rouges aux tanins veloutés, dominés par les Merlot, Cabernets et Malbec. Elles forment trio avec La Muse venue de l’IGP Pays d’Oc, dont la blondeur inspiratrice reflète le caractère conjugué des Viognier, Chardonnay et Chenin. Le basculement dans Les Péchés, concentré de sensualité du plus haut rang, s’annonce par l’arrivée de La Souveraine et de L’Empereur. La première règne sur l’IGP Pays d’Oc, et confère toute sa noblesse à un pur Chardonnay de haute extraction. Le second s’impose en AOP Malepère, poussant jusqu’à l’expression la mieux élevée et la plus accomplie le trio des Merlot, Cabernet Franc et Malbec.

Domaine La Louvière

La Louvière
11300 Malviès

telephone 04 68 20 71 55

French FR English EN