Laplace family

Pacherenc du Vic-BilhMadiran winesHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Au Aydie Castle en Madiran the wines are built and claimed as a signature steeped in history and know-how: that of Laplace family.


A large family from Madiran

At the crossroads of Gers, Hautes-Pyrénées and Pyrénées Atlantiques is held the Aydie Castle. In this place which dominates the landscape is established the Laplace family. She has cultivated vines there for three generations. The story takes root at the very beginning of the XXe century with the first winemaker of the line: Frédéric Laplace. Experimenting with the resources of the vine, he innovates by creating a mistelle made from Tannat musts fortified with brandy. The wine boom comes in the second generation where the first bottles of wine produced by Pierre Laplace are quickly noticed by the famous Gascon chef André Daguin. Among the Laplaces, the land is sacred. The third generation contributed to its development by extending the plot of Tannat. She thus made this grape variety king in Madiran an expressive revealer of each floor.

Between Madiran and Pacherenc

Around Aydie Castle the soils are hilly. The Tannat vines are spread there in sheets on the hillsides. The high density is privileged on the vineyard. The grapes thus constrained to low yields develop a concentration of juices and complexity of aromas at maturity. The plots reserved for the production of Madiran rub shoulders on other slopes with the Petits and Gros Mansengs. They are intended for the development of Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh which also convey the character of the estate. The expressive profiles of wines aged in Aydie Castle are the result of alchemy. The expressive nuances of the terroir, the influence of a climate shaped by the meeting of the Ocean and the Pyrenees, all sublimated by the notorious and historical know-how of the region contribute to their definition. Laplace family.

Signed Laplace family

The Madiran to the Laplace family are distinguished by a first requirement: that of favoring the varietal aromas of Tannat. If these wines from the South-West have the reputation of being traditionally mellowed by aging in barrels with an accent on their bouquet, those of the estate readily take the opposite view. Controlled macerations, gentle extractions, make Aydie the Origin and Odé d'Aydie cuvées where the elegance and expressive power of the fruit take center stage. While with Aydie Castle which stems in contrast to the local tradition, it is all the typicality of a Madiran which emerges after a long aging in barrels and wooden vats. Sharing the Madiran terroir, the Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh also shine with their presence. Honoring the Gros and Petit Mansengs, dry or soft, they are full proof that these whites from the South-West develop exceptional aromatic powers and elegant structure. Outside the appellation, there are two pretty rosés, named Aramis et The three little pink pigs. And to end on a family secret, we breed at will at Laplace a superb liqueur wine, the Maydie, gorgeous vintage from a Tannat harvested at full maturity.

Madiran wines

The Madiran vineyard draws its specificity
from a native grape variety of the Pyrenean foothills: Tannat

French FR English EN

Famille Laplace

Pacherenc du Vic-BilhVins de Madiran


Au Château d’Aydie en Madiran les vins sont construits et revendiqués comme une signature pétrie d’histoire et de savoir-faire : celle de la Famille Laplace.


Une grande famille du Madiran

À la croisée du Gers, des Hautes-Pyrénées et des Pyrénées Atlantiques se tient le Château d’Aydie. À cet endroit qui domine le paysage est établie la Famille Laplace. Elle y cultive la vigne depuis trois générations. L’histoire prend racine au tout début du XXe siècle avec le premier vigneron de la lignée : Frédéric Laplace. Expérimentant les ressources de la vigne, il innove en créant une mistelle issue de moûts de Tannat fortifiés d’eau-de-vie. L’essor viticole intervient en deuxième génération où les premières bouteilles de vin produites par Pierre Laplace sont rapidement remarquées par le célèbre chef gascon André Daguin. Chez les Laplace le terroir est sacré. La troisième génération a contribué à son essor en étendant l’implantation parcellaire du Tannat. Elle a ainsi fait de ce cépage roi en Madiran un révélateur expressif de chaque sol.

Entre Madiran et Pacherenc

Autour du Château d’Aydie les sols sont vallonnés. Les vignes de Tannat s’y déploient en nappes sur les coteaux. La haute densité est privilégiée sur le vignoble. Les raisins ainsi contraints à de faibles rendements développent à maturité concentration des sucs et complexité des arômes. Les parcelles réservées à la production du Madiran côtoient sur d’autres versants les Petits et Gros Mansengs. Ils sont destinés à l’élaboration des Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh qui véhiculent aussi toute la personnalité du domaine. Les profils expressifs des vins élevés au Château d’Aydie sont le fruit d’une alchimie. Contribuent à leur définition les nuances expressives du terroir, l’influence d’un climat modelé par la rencontre de l’Océan et des Pyrénées, le tout sublimé par le savoir-faire notoire et historique de la Famille Laplace.

Signé Famille Laplace

Les Madiran de la Famille Laplace se distinguent par une première exigence : celle de privilégier les arômes variétaux du Tannat. Si ces vins du Sud-Ouest ont la réputation d’être traditionnellement assagis par un élevage en barrique dont leur bouquet porte l’accent, ceux du domaine en prennent volontiers le contrepied. Les macérations maîtrisées, les extractions douces, font de Aydie l’Origine et de Odé d’Aydie des cuvées où l’élégance et la puissance expressive du fruit occupent le premier plan. Tandis qu’avec Château d’Aydie qui s’arrime par contraste à la tradition locale, c’est toute la typicité d’un Madiran qui se fait jour à l’issue d’un long élevage en fûts et cuves de bois. Partageant le terroir des Madiran, les Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh brillent aussi de leur présence. Faisant honneur aux Gros et Petit Mansengs, en sec ou en moelleux, ils sont la preuve entière que ces blancs du Sud-Ouest développent des puissances aromatiques exceptionnelles et d’élégante structure. Hors appellation se distinguent deux jolis rosés, nommés Aramis et Les trois petits cochons roses. Et pour terminer sur un secret de famille, on élève à discrétion chez Laplace un superbe vin de liqueur, le Maydie, sublime vintage issu d’un Tannat cueilli à pleine maturité.

en savoir + http://www.famillelaplace.com/fr/


Famille Laplace
Château d’Aydie
64330 Aydie

telephone +33 (0)5 59 04 08 30