Gaure Castle

AOP LanguedocAOC Limoux

In Rouffiac d'Aude, in the heart of a vineyard located between 200 and 450 m above sea level, the Gaure Castle. Pierre Fabre, a winegrower with artistic talents and master of the place, designs organic wines produced in AOP Limoux and AOP Languedoc.

Pierre Fabre, the man

Pierre Fabre is the son and grandson of winegrowers. Better yet, he inherited his winegrowing spirit from the five generations that preceded him. The detour as an industry leader that this engineer from Arts & Métiers first made did not extinguish the appeal of the vineyards. The pivotal year of the return to the land is 2005. It is marked by an exceptional blow of heart for the Gaure Castle located in Rouffiac on thePDO Limoux. Pierre Fabre then turns the page of his life as an industrial director to reconnect with the life of a full-time winegrower. The place is magical where previously sat a Roman villa and which was occupied in the twelfthe century by the Templar Arnaud de Gaure. The winemaker's determination to revive this historic estate is therefore based on an approach of excellence based on a global organic conversion. A natural decision for a winegrower whose family history is steeped in the know-how specific to viticulture and which the organic way restores in its purest tradition.

Château de Gaure, the vineyards

When you are the heir to a dynasty of winegrowers, you have an understanding of the land and the vineyard. In Pierre Fabre it is manifested by the fine desire to consolidate the productions of Gaure Castle on two specific terroirs: Limoux in Languedoc for the whites, Latour-de-France in Roussillon for the reds. This choice endows the estate with a great wealth of grape varieties. If in Limouxin the Chardonnays are kings, the old Carignans, the Grenaches, the Mourvèdres, the Syrahs and the Macabeus reign over the vineyards located in Catalan soil. On these soils where schist and limestone coexist, the yields are particularly moderate and qualitative. Excellence is reinforced at harvest time by manual harvesting and sorting on the plot. The transport to the cellar is done in openwork boxes which preserve the integrity of the berries. The vinifications are meticulous and forge their authenticity on the virtues of indigenous yeasts. The ensuing farms benefit from top-of-the-range equipment where the Stockinger tuns coexist with the Nomblot concrete tanks.

Château de Gaure, the wines

Le Gaure Castle produces 6 cuvées: two in single-grape varieties, pure expression of the fruit and its terroir, supplemented by four other blends that enhance the typicality of the plots and the harmony of the grape varieties. In perfect symmetry which also translates a desire for balance, the collection is distributed in three white wines et three red wines. The first are vinified in AOC Limoux and the latter in AOC Languedoc. As it should in the land of Limoux, Chardonnay is the mainstay of all white wines. First expressed at 100% with the cuvée White countryside. Then engaging in increasing complexities with Chateau Limoux made from 85% chardonnay and 15% Chenin or even Oppidum Available in 75% Chardonnay, 15% Chenin, 5% Mauzac. On the red side, the pure expression of the fruit is introduced by Red campaign, a 100% Syrah. Then emerges the art of nuance and assembly with in the first place Languedoc castle, where the dominant Grenache is nuanced by Syrah, Carignan, and secondly the emblematic For my father, an art of composition where balance is played out in 40% Carignan, 20% Syrah, 20% Mourvedre and 20% Grenache.

Pierre Fabre

Winemaker and artist

If the wines of Pierre Fabre each reveal themselves as a creation, they are also served by authentic labels of which the winemaker himself is the author. Because man devotes himself as much to viticulture as to painting with equal talent. At Gaure Castle the old Orangery and the Chapel are the places where the work is developed. One as a workshop, the other as an ornate decoration. If there is a beautiful personality to meet, whether it is the man or his wines, it is always Pierre Fabre it is about.

learn more http://chateaudegaure.fr/

Gaure Castle
11250 Rouffiac d'Aude

phone +33 6 43 47 36 85

French FR English EN

Château de Gaure

AOP LanguedocAOC Limoux


À Rouffiac d’Aude, au cœur d’un vignoble situé entre 200 et 450 m d’altitude, se tient le Château de Gaure. Pierre Fabre, vigneron aux talents d’artiste et maître des lieux, y conçoit des vins bios produits en AOP Limoux et AOP Languedoc.


Pierre Fabre, l’homme

Pierre Fabre est fils et petit-fils de vignerons. Mieux encore, il a hérité sa fibre vigneronne des cinq générations qui l’ont précédé. Le détour comme chef d’industrie que fit d’abord cet ingénieur des Arts & Métiers n’a pas éteint l’appel des vignobles. L’année charnière du retour à la terre est 2005. Elle est marquée par un exceptionnel coup de cœur pour le Château de Gaure situé à Rouffiac sur l’AOP Limoux. Pierre Fabre tourne alors la page de sa vie de directeur industriel pour renouer avec la vie de vigneron à plein temps. Le lieu est magique où siégea antérieurement une villa romaine et qui fut occupé au XIIe siècle par le templier Arnaud de Gaure. La détermination du vigneron à ranimer ce domaine historique repose dès lors sur une démarche d’excellence assise sur une reconversion bio globale. Décision naturelle pour un vigneron dont l’histoire familiale est pétrie des savoir-faire propres à la viticulture et que la voie biologique restaure dans sa plus pure tradition.

Château de Gaure, les vignobles

Lorsque l’on est héritier d’une dynastie de vignerons, on a l’intelligence de la terre et du vignoble. Chez Pierre Fabre elle se manifeste par la fine volonté d’assoir les productions du Château de Gaure sur deux terroirs spécifiques : Limoux en Languedoc pour les blancs, Latour-de-France en Roussillon pour les rouges. Ce choix dote le domaine d’une grande richesse de cépages. Si en limouxin les Chardonnays sont rois, les vieux Carignans, les Grenaches, les Mourvèdres, les Syrahs et les Macabeus règnent sur les vignobles situés en terre catalane. Sur ces sols où cohabitent schistes et calcaires, les rendements sont particulièrement modérés et qualitatifs. L’excellence se trouve confortée à l’heure des vendanges par la récolte manuelle et le tri sur parcelle. L’acheminement vers le chai se fait en caissettes ajourées qui préservent l’intégrité des baies. Les vinifications sont soignées et forgent leur authenticité sur les vertus des levures indigènes. Les élevages qui s’ensuivent bénéficient d’un équipement haut de gamme où les foudres signés Stockinger cohabitent avec les cuves béton Nomblot.

Château de Gaure, les vins

Le Château de Gaure produit 6 cuvées : deux en monocépages, pure expression du fruit et de son terroir, complétées par quatre autres issues d’assemblages valorisant la typicité des parcelles et de l’accord des cépages. En parfaite symétrie qui est aussi traductrice d’une volonté d’équilibre, la collection se distribue en trois vins blancs et trois vins rouges. Les premiers sont vinifiés en AOC Limoux et les seconds en AOC Languedoc. Comme il se doit en terre de Limoux, le Chardonnay est pilier de tous les vins blancs. D’abord exprimé à 100% avec la cuvée Campagne blanc. Puis s’engageant en complexités croissantes avec Château Limoux élaboré en 85% chardonnay et 15% Chenin ou encore Oppidum décliné en 75% Chardonnay, 15% Chenin, 5% Mauzac. Sur le versant des rouges, l’expression pure du fruit se voit introduite par Campagne rouge, un 100% Syrah. Puis se dessine l’art de la nuance et de l’assemblage avec en premier lieu Château Languedoc, où le Grenache dominant se voit nuancé par Syrah, Carignan, et en second lieu l’emblématique Pour mon père, un art de la composition où l’équilibre se joue en 40% Carignan, 20% Syrah, 20% Mourvedre et 20% Grenache.

Pierre Fabre

Vigneron et artiste

Si les vins de Pierre Fabre se révèlent chacun comme une création, ils sont également servis par des étiquettes authentiques dont le vigneron est lui-même auteur. Car l’homme s’adonne tout autant à la viticulture qu’à la peinture avec un égal talent. Au Château de Gaure l’ancienne Orangerie et la Chapelle sont les lieux où l’œuvre s’élabore. L’une comme atelier, l’autre comme décor ouvragé. S’il est une belle personnalité à rencontrer, qu’il s’agisse de l’homme ou de ses vins, c’est toujours de Pierre Fabre dont il s’agit.

en savoir + http://chateaudegaure.fr/


Château de Gaure
11250 Rouffiac d’Aude

telephone +33 6 43 47 36 85