The Winegrowers of Saint Dézéry


Federated around their director Nuria Morales, the Winegrowers of Saint Dézéry have been able to find a generous coordination that allows to enhance to its optimal authenticity the wine potential of this terroir located near Uzès in the Gard.


Between vineyards and scrubland

The village of Saint Dezery looks like this: " charming village nestled between vineyards and scrubland ". How to lay the frame with greater simplicity? In the Gard, near Uzès, the town has less than five hundred inhabitants but is distinguished by its community of winegrowers and winegrowers, mostly young and federated around a cooperative: the Winegrowers of Saint Dézéry. At the head of the group officiates Nuria Morales who coordinates the actors of the vineyard with passion and enthusiasm. Initially an oenologist by training, her passionate approach to viticulture and winemaking has given her the confidence of the people of the country who work with her to build wines with a beautiful structure. Because it takes both cohesion and conciseness to master these solar terroirs which constantly oscillate between Mediterranean influences and Cévennes temperances.

From terroir to phenolic maturities

À Saint Dezery we find ourselves in some of the most eastern regions of Occitania. Garrigues and olive trees rub shoulders with the vineyard everywhere. Here, Mediterranean essences tend to influence the aromatic profile of wines. They contribute to the accentuation of typicalities whose Winegrowers of Saint Dézéry knew how to measure the challenge by aiming for the expressive authenticity of each cuvée. It is here that Nuria Morales sets her standards, giving priority to phenolic maturities, a major guarantee of the full expression of the grape varieties and the terroir. At harvest time, a veritable orchestration takes place, involving each winegrower in a game of patience and then action, focused on obtaining the best juice possible. The Winegrowers of Saint Dézéry agree like a team of vine technicians, perfectly coordinated around the requirements of a cooperative committed to raising their wines to the height of local potential.

From single varietal to blending

On the land of Saint Dezery, the structure in reliefs and geological variations gives the plot approach a predominant role. A certain freedom of vinification and aging is also essential: it finds all its latitude in theIGP Pays d'Oc which offers in Occitania the best margin of creativity as well as the opportunity to promote single varietal wines. As in any cooperative, the range of assorted cuvées under the unifying brand Saint D unfolds a comfortable choice. The most asserted and most representative identity can be expressed in a synthesis. We will find there in the first place the cuvée Clos du Faon, a 100% Merlot plot cuvée giving substance to a red wine emblematic of local know-how. Always on the red wine side, The Legacy asserts its position as the head of the cuvée, well supported by a blend of Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon and Marselan. On the white wine side, a 100% Viognier worked in such a way that its beautiful accent of apricot, all in freshness, comes as a surprise on tasting. More complex, the cuvée Deziree gives pride of place to an alliance of Viognier, Roussane, Grenache blanc, pushed to their most coherent complexity by a subtle aging in wood. On the rosé wine side, the cuvée is picking up Jade, from the same vineyard where the complex game of Cabernet, Cinsault, Grenache, Syrah and Chenançon is expressed together.

The Winegrowers of Saint Dézéry

28 Route de Saint-Chaptes
30190 Saint-Dezery

phone 04 66 81 21 31

French FR English EN

Les Vignerons de Saint Dézéry


Fédérés autour de leur directrice Nuria Morales, les Vignerons de Saint Dézéry ont su trouver une généreuse coordination qui permet de valoriser jusqu’à son authenticité optimale le potentiel viticole de ce terroir situé près d’Uzès dans le Gard.


Entre vignes et garrigues

Le village de Saint Dézéry s’annonce ainsi : « charmant village blotti entre vignes et garrigues ». Comment poser le cadre avec plus grande simplicité ? Dans le Gard, proche d’Uzès, la commune compte moins de cinq-cents habitants mais se distingue par sa communauté de vignerons et viticulteurs, majoritairement jeunes et fédérés autour d’une coopérative : les Vignerons de Saint Dézéry. À la tête du regroupement officie Nuria Morales qui coordonne les acteurs du vignoble avec passion et entrain. D’abord œnologue de formation, son approche passionnée de la viticulture et des vinifications lui a conféré la confiance des gens du pays qui concourent avec elle a construire des vins de belle structure. Car il faut à la fois de la cohésion et de la concision pour maîtriser ces terroirs solaires qui ne cessent d’osciller entre influences méditerranéennes et tempérances cévenoles.

Du terroir aux maturités phénoliques

À Saint Dézéry nous nous trouvons sur les terroirs d’Occitanie parmi les plus orientaux. Garrigues et oliviers côtoient de partout le vignoble. Ici, les essences méditerranéennes ont propension à influencer le profil aromatique des vins. Elles contribuent à l’accentuation de typicités dont les Vignerons de Saint Dézéry ont su mesurer l’enjeu en visant l’authenticité expressive de chaque cuvée. C’est à cet endroit que Nuria Morales pose ses exigences, donnant priorité aux maturités phénoliques, garantie majeure de la pleine expression des cépages et du terroir. Au moment des vendanges, c’est une véritable orchestration qui se met en place, engageant chaque viticulteur ou viticultrice dans un jeu de patience puis d’action réglés sur l’obtention des meilleurs jus possibles. Les Vignerons de Saint Dézéry s’accordent comme une équipe de techniciens de la vigne, parfaitement coordonnés autour des exigences d’une coopérative engagée à élever leurs vins à la hauteur du potentiel local.

Du monocépage à l’assemblage

Sur le terroir de Saint Dézéry, la structure en reliefs et variations géologiques confère à l’approche parcellaire un rôle prédominant. Une certaine liberté de vinification et d’élevage s’impose également : elle trouve toute sa latitude dans l’IGP Pays d’Oc qui offre en Occitanie la meilleure marge de créativité ainsi que l’opportunité de valoriser les vins monocépages. Comme dans toute coopérative, la gamme des cuvées assorties sous la marque fédératrice Saint D déroule un confortable choix. L’identité la plus affirmée et la plus représentative peut s’exprimer dans une synthèse. On y trouvera en premier lieu la cuvée Clos du Faon, une cuvée parcellaire en 100% Merlot donnant corps à un vin rouge emblématique du savoir-faire local. Toujours côté vin rouge, L’Héritage revendique sa position de tête de cuvée, bien conforté par un assemblage de Merlot, Cabernet Sauvignon et Marselan. Côté vin blanc se distingue un 100% Viognier travaillé de sorte que vienne surprendre à la dégustation son bel accent d’abricot tout en fraîcheur. Plus complexe, la cuvée Dézirée fait la part belle à une alliance Viognier, Roussane, Grenache blanc, poussés à leur plus cohérente complexité par un subtil élevage sous bois. Côté vin rosé se relève la cuvée Jade, issue d’un même vignoble où s’exprime de concert le jeu complexe des Cabernet, Cinsault, Grenache, Syrah et Chenançon.

Les Vignerons de Saint Dézéry

28 Route de Saint-Chaptes
30190 Saint-Dézéry

telephone 04 66 81 21 31

French FR English EN