Domaine Saint Clement


Established north of Montpellier at the crossroads of several Languedoc appellations, the Domaine Saint Clement is distinguished by an atypical grape variety well valued by wines taking care of the varietal expressions.


Around Lez

To the east of Saint-Clement-de-Riviere, along the Montferrier road which extends the northern axis of Montpellier, flows peacefully the Lez. The river originates here, in a wine-growing enclave sandwiched between the southwestern and southeastern branches of thePDO Pic Saint Loup. The vineyard of Saint Clement there occupies an area of ​​30 hectares which could be classified as AOP Gres de Montpellier just as much as in AOP Languedoc. However Calista et Henri Bernabé, managers of the estate, have made a completely different choice. They have freed themselves from the strict framework of appellations to produce wines in their image, in keeping with the spirit of the place. The family management offers them this full autonomy which applies to endowing this singular domain with an original wine production.

Domaine Saint Clément - Henri and Calista Bernabé

At the source of the name

Seize the spirit of Domaine Saint Clement presupposes knowledge of the historical environment and the symbols that derive from it. The first image that imposes itself is the fresco with the large blue ram that adorns the large portal of the cellar. In the cellar, his effigy reappears on wine labels, superimposed on a marine anchor. Because Saint Clement is above all the name of a source revealed nearby by a ram and whose timely discovery made it possible to supply the aqueduct which carried water to Montpellier. As for the sea anchor, Henri Bernabé will not fail to reveal its hagiographical origin: martyrdom of the 1er century, Saint Clement was thrown into the sea, his neck weighed down by this fatal rigging.

Atypical grape varieties

The symbols being posed it is guessed that the Domaine Saint Clement is a place with personality. This begins with the choice of the grape varieties of which Henri Bernabé is a connoisseur. Terroir explorer and expert in grape varieties in a previous life, he made the choice with his wife Calista, to establish on these soils Languedoc an ampelographic palette that deviates from the local classics. On this very calcareous terroir which foreshadows the mineral elegance of the wines, the reds and rosés summon Nielluccio, Petit Verdot, Merlot or Touriga nacional, while the white wines mobilize Marsanne, Chardonnay, Rolle or Savagnin. In addition, the proximity of the Lez brings them great freshness, even at the risk of frost periods in winter. As for the privileged grassing, it encourages the vines to gain in vigor while a plot of aromatic herbs planted in 2022 enriches biodiversity. The vineyard is called upon to frequent the aromatic complexes of thyme, rosemary, sage, lavender and Boufarik roses.

Each wine an expression

Le Domaine Saint Clement has a historic wine cellar which was the site of an important wine production. Equipped with stainless steel vats as well as a space dedicated to aging in barrels, this cellar of nearly 1200 m2, with thick walls, offers a very appreciable thermal inertia. The vinification and aging infrastructure is tailored to serve the original choice of grape varieties with creative latitude. The cellar which extends it, converted into an art gallery, confirms by its atmosphere that wine here is creation and expression. The first level of taste discovery can be found on the ranges Aries Blue ou Little Evening, each of which includes a red wine, a rosé wine and a white wine. These cuvées offer a gateway to the varietal profiles of the grape varieties favored by the estate. Beyond these first thresholds, density and complexity will be tied around a few flagship cuvées. Red Elixir, a rare blend of Touriga Nacional and Petit Verdot, will forge its character over 12 months of aging in barrels. The signature of aging in barrels also contributes to the definition ofWhite Elixir, a pure Chardonnay. As for the great wine of Domaine Saint Clement, he is named LXR Quintessence ; it is only produced in exceptional vintages, when Touriga Nacional and Petit Verdot offer their highest potential for maturity, magnified after vinification by aging for 24 months in barrels.

Domaine Saint Clement

34980 Saint-Clement-de-Riviere

phone +33 (0)4 67 63 36 93

French FR English EN

Domaine Saint Clément


Établi au nord de Montpellier à la croisée de plusieurs appellations du Languedoc, le Domaine Saint Clément se distingue par un encépagement atypique bien valorisé par des vins prenant soin des expressions variétales.


Autour du Lez

À l’est de Saint-Clément-de-Rivière, longeant la route de Montferrier qui prolonge l’axe nord de Montpellier, s’écoule paisiblement le Lez. La rivière prend source à cet endroit, dans une enclave viticole enserrée entre les branches sud-ouest et sud-est de l’AOP Pic Saint Loup. Le vignoble de Saint Clément y occupe une surface de 30 hectares qui pourraient être classés en AOP Grés de Montpellier tout autant qu’en AOP Languedoc. Cependant Calista et Henri Bernabé, gérants du domaine, ont fait un tout autre choix. Ils se sont affranchis du cadre strict des appellations pour produire des vins à leur image, conformes à l’esprit des lieux. La gestion familiale leur offre cette pleine autonomie qui s’applique à doter d’une production viticole originale ce domaine singulier.

Domaine Saint Clément - Henri et Calista Bernabé

À la source du nom

Saisir l’esprit du Domaine Saint Clément suppose d’en connaître l’environnement historique et les symboles qui en découlent. La première image qui s’impose est la fresque au grand bélier bleu qui orne le large portail du chai. À la cave, son effigie réapparaît sur les étiquettes de vin, superposée à une ancre de marine. Car Saint Clément est avant tout le nom d’une source révélée à proximité par un bélier et dont l’opportune découverte permit d’alimenter l’aqueduc qui acheminait l’eau jusqu’à Montpellier. Quant à l’ancre de marine, Henri Bernabé ne manquera pas d’en révéler l’origine hagiographique : martyre du 1er siècle, Saint Clément fut précipité à la mer, le cou lesté par ce fatal gréement.

Des cépages atypiques

Les symboles étant posés il se devine que le Domaine Saint Clément est un lieu qui a de la personnalité. Celle-ci commence par le choix de l’encépagement dont Henri Bernabé est un fin connaisseur. Explorateur de terroirs et expert en cépages dans une vie antérieure, il a fait le choix avec son épouse Calista, d’implanter sur ces sols du Languedoc une palette ampélographique qui déroge aux classiques locaux. Sur ce terroir très calcaire qui préfigure l’élégance minérale des vins, les rouges et rosés convoquent Nielluccio, Petit verdot, Merlot ou Touriga nacional, tandis que les vins blancs mobilisent Marsanne, Chardonnay, Rolle ou Savagnin. De plus, la proximité du Lez leur apporte grande fraîcheur, au risque même de périodes gélives en hiver. Quant à l’enherbement privilégié, il incite la vigne à gagner en vigueur tandis qu’une parcelle d’herbes aromatiques plantée en 2022 vient enrichir la biodiversité. Le vignoble y est appelé à fréquenter les complexes aromatiques du thym, du romarin, de la sauge, de la lavande comme des roses Boufarik.

Chaque vin une expression

Le Domaine Saint Clément est doté d’une cave à vin historique qui fut le siège d’une importante production viticole. Équipé en cuverie inox ainsi que d’un espace dédié à l’élevage en barrique, ce chai de près de 1200 m2, aux murs épais, offre une très appréciable inertie thermique. L’infrastructure de vinification et d’élevage est taillée pour servir avec une latitude créative le choix original de l’encépagement. Le caveau qui la prolonge, aménagé en galerie d’art, confirme par son ambiance que le vin est ici création et expression . Le premier palier de la découverte gustative peut trouver assise sur les gammes Bélier Bleu ou Petit Soir, qui comptent chacune un vin rouge, un vin rosé et un vin blanc. Ces cuvées offrent une porte d’entrée vers les profils variétaux des cépages privilégiés par le domaine. Au-delà de ces premiers seuils, densité et complexité vont se nouer autour de quelques cuvées phares. Élixir Rouge, assemblage rare de Touriga Nacional et Petit Verdot, va forger son caractère au fil de 12 mois d’élevage en barrique. Le signature de l’élevage en barriques contribue également à la définition d’Élixir Blanc, un pur Chardonnay. Quant au grand vin du Domaine Saint Clément, il se nomme LXR Quintessence ; il n’est produit qu’à l’occasion des millésimes d’exception, lorsque Touriga Nacional et Petit Verdot offrent leur plus haut potentiel de maturité, magnifié après vinification par un élevage de 24 mois en barriques.

Domaine Saint Clément

34980 Saint-Clément-de-Rivière

telephone +33 (0)4 67 63 36 93

French FR English EN