Chateau Boujac

Vineyards and discoveriesWines of FrontonOrganic wines


In the Fronton vines grown to organic standards are rare. Château Boujac is one of them and deserves a stop. So we will taste wines that are both typical of the AOC and of a spontaneity where the fruit is expressed in good balance and full intensity.


The legacy of an era

In the 30s, the Selle family from Italy settled in Campsas in the Frontonborn. On these lands of the southwest many wastelands remain. The vineyard of Fronton has not yet acquired its current notoriety. Some of the wine produced there essentially supplies the table wine market in Toulouse. The other part reaches northern Europe from Bordeaux after taking the waterways of the Tarn and the Garonne. Négrette, a grape variety endemic to the Tarn region, thrives on this terroir of Boulbènes. At that time, quantity was more important than quality and would give this wine an image that would permanently erase its character. The transmission of the estate to the third generation will completely change this destiny.

Awareness

In 1988, Philippe Selle acquired 10 hectares of vines. The vineyard is then worked according to conventional methods. Plowing the soil, treating the plants to keep “a clean vine” are established habits. Except that Philippe and Michelle Selle, his wife, have a sense of the land. Dissonances disturb them: the fescue that is sown to temper the ardor of the vine becomes resistant to weedkillers. Too plowed earth transforms the ground into a strict shelf. The meeting of other wines, other ways of doing and thinking will upset destiny. In 2007 the estate made a commitment to organic viticulture. The label was acquired in 2011. The change is spectacular: the vine regains vigor while the natural grassing regulates its growth. La Négrette, perfectly suited to soils of Fronton, finds the optimal conditions for its maturation. Letting it live while controlling it, weeding the soil rather than plowing it, regulating yields will restore the vineyard's vitality.

La Négrette in full expression

At Château Boujac everything works towards a single destiny: to make the wine the best possible expression of ripe fruit. Aging in vats is the rule with the exception of one cuvée. Five reds and two rosés highlight the AOC. The blend of Négrette with Syrah or Cabernets makes it possible to qualify its typicity. But it reaches its full expression with a red and a rosé vinified in 100% Négrette. The first is the cuvée Kelina. It comes from maceration and fermentation in barrels, exclusive to Château Boujac. Roundness, suppleness, vigor of the fruit and a deep red color qualify it. In the same vein, but resulting from fermentation in vats, the rosé Secrets of the Stars reveals a deep pink color from which emerges a seductive nose, also on the fruit. La Négrette at Château Boujac is perfectly tamed and the estate is exemplary in its development. Starting with its uncompromising commitment to organic production, which guarantees the full expression of the vine. In a cuvée outside AOC, the same intensity is found in the white Terra Minima where the fullness of Sémillon finds its aromatic counterpoints in the alliance with the Muscat of Hamburg.

The wines of Fronton

The vineyard of Fronton derives its specificity
of an indigenous grape variety: Négrette

French FR English EN

Château Boujac


Dans le Fronton les vignes cultivées selon les normes biologiques sont rares. Le Château Boujac est de celles-là et mérite que l’on s’y arrête. Alors on y dégustera des vins tout à la fois typiques de l’AOC et d’une spontanéité où le fruit s’exprime en bel équilibre et pleine intensité.


L’héritage d’une époque

Dans les années 30, la famille Selle venue d’Italie s’établit à Campsas dans le Frontonnais. Sur ces terres du sud-ouest beaucoup de friches subsistent. Le vignoble de Fronton n’a pas encore acquis sa notoriété actuelle. Une partie du vin que l’on y produit alimente essentiellement le marché du vin de table toulousain. L’autre partie gagne l’Europe du nord depuis Bordeaux après avoir emprunté les voies navigables du Tarn et de la Garonne. La Négrette, cépage endémique de la région du Tarn, prospère sur ce terroir de boulbènes. À cette époque la quantité importe plus que la qualité et va conférer à ce vin une image qui va gommer durablement sa typicité. La transmission du domaine en troisième génération va changer totalement ce destin.

La prise de conscience

En 1988, Philippe Selle fait l’acquisition de 10 hectares de vignes.  Le vignoble est alors travaillé selon les méthodes conventionnelles. Labourer le sol,  traiter les plants pour tenir « une vigne propre » sont des habitudes établies. Sauf que Philippe et Michelle Selle, son épouse, ont le sens de la terre. Des dissonances les troublent : la fétuque que l’on sème pour tempérer les ardeurs de la vigne devient résistante aux désherbants. La terre trop labourée transforme le sol en stricte étagère. La rencontre d’autres vins, d’autres manières de faire et de penser vont bouleverser le destin. En 2007 le domaine s’engage dans la viticulture biologique. Le label est acquis en 2011. Le changement est spectaculaire : la vigne reprend vigueur tandis que l’enherbage naturel régule sa croissance. La Négrette, parfaitement adaptée aux sols de Fronton, retrouve les conditions optimales de sa maturation. La laisser vivre tout en la contrôlant, sarcler les sols plutôt que les labourer, réguler les rendements vont rendre au vignoble une vitalité épanouie.

La Négrette à pleine expression

À Château Boujac tout concourt vers un seul destin : faire du vin la meilleure expression possible du fruit à maturité. L’élevage en cuve est de règle à l’exception d’une seule cuvée. Cinq rouges et deux rosés mettent en valeur l’AOC. L’assemblage de la Négrette avec la Syrah ou les Cabernets permettent de nuancer sa typicité. Mais elle atteint sa pleine expression avec un rouge et un rosé vinifiés en 100% Négrette. Le premier est la cuvée Kelina. Elle est issue d’une macération et d’une fermentation en fût, exclusives au Château Boujac. Rondeur, souplesse, vigueur du fruit et robe de rouge profond la qualifie. Dans la même veine, mais issu d’une fermentation en cuve, le rosé Secrets des Étoiles révèle une robe rose soutenu d’où se dégage un nez séduisant, également sur le fruit. La Négrette à Château Boujac est parfaitement domptée et le domaine est exemplaire dans sa mise en valeur. À commencer par son engagement sans concession dans une production biologique, garante de la pleine expression de la vigne. En cuvée hors AOC, la même intensité se retrouve dans le blanc Terra Minima où la plénitude du Sémillon trouve ses contrepoints aromatiques dans l’alliance avec le Muscat de Hambourg.

en savoir + Les Vins de Fronton


Château Boujaclocaliser Situer sur la carte
427 Chemin de Boujac
82370 Campsas

telephone 05 63 30 17 79