Pouey Castle

Pacherenc du Vic-BilhCôtes de Gascogne winesMadiran winesHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


In Viella, in the Madiran vineyard, the Château du Pouey enjoys one of the most favorable terroir. Bastien Lannusse, a talented young winegrower, vinifies there under three appellations: Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, Madiran and Côtes de Gascogne.


Up there on the hill

Built on a ridge, Pouey Castle occupies a dominant position on the landscape of Madiran. The estate takes its name from an Occitan expression commonly used to name the top of a hill. Here, the vines tumble down in well-drawn lines the supple hills of the town of Viella. Four generations of winegrowers have followed one another. Bastien Lannusse has taken over since 2012 the torch passed on to him by his father, Pierre Lannusse. The first decision of the young winegrower was to break with the cooperative economy, until then in tradition, to lead his own winemaker adventure. He produces from his own bottles, exploring with rigor and finesse the resources offered by the opportunity to be established in three appellations.

An exceptional terroir

Pouey Castle enjoys exceptional soil in Madiran. No less than three terroirs qualify the 24 hectares of vines. On the clay-gravelly slopes well exposed to the south, the Tannat, flagship grape of Madiran, largely dominates. It coexists there with Cabernet Franc and Sauvignon. Lower down, in falling slopes, the large and small Mansengs wisely occupy a clayey-silty terrain. A plot of clay and pebble substrates completes the whole in an enclave located in Arroses, in the Pyrénées Atlantiques. The wines produced by the estate enjoy both an ideal terroir for Madiran and the geographical opportunity to also overlap the Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh appellations and Cotes de Gascony. The remarkable terroir of Pouey Castle, valued by the talents of Bastien Lannusse, produces wines regularly noticed in guides and competitions. It must be said that the young winegrower was able to position himself very quickly in the minds of his generation.

Fruit in full expression

Taking the opposite of the tradition of woody wines by Madiran, Bastien Lannusse produces a Tannat well established on the fruit, perfectly mastering the tannic inclinations of the grape variety. The named cuvée Bastien, a 100% Tannat matured in vats for a year and a half, is the most demonstrative expression. This taste of the fruit fixed in its crunchy and fresh aromas is happily cultivated in white, red and rosé vinified in Cotes de Gascony under the aptly named label of Happy time. As to Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, this is the vintage The Aydasse which pushes him towards his most blooming bouquets and his mouth. Summoning a blend where Petit Manseng powerfully dominates Fat Manseng, this mellow wine from a late harvest reveals a sweetness tempered with freshness, where quince and candied fruit sing together. This cuvée takes its name from Occitan help which is used to name the passion. And of ayde for Bastien Lannusse wine is not lacking, suggesting a very bright future for the next vintages of Pouey Castle.

Madiran wines

The Madiran vineyard draws its specificity
from a native grape variety of the Pyrenean foothills: Tannat

French FR English EN

Château du Pouey


À Viella, sur le vignoble de Madiran, le Château du Pouey jouit d’un terroir des plus favorables. Bastien Lannusse, jeune vigneron talentueux, y vinifie sous trois appellations : Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, Madiran et Côtes de Gascogne.


Là-haut sur la colline

Bâti sur une crête, Château du Pouey occupe une position dominante dans le paysage du Madiran. Le domaine tire son nom d’une expression occitane couramment utilisée pour nommer le haut d’une colline. Ici, les vignes dévalent en lignes bien tracées les souples mamelons de la commune de Viella. Quatre générations de vignerons s’y sont succédées. Bastien Lannusse a repris depuis 2012 le flambeau que lui a transmis son père, Pierre Lannusse. La première décision du jeune vigneron fut de rompre avec l’économie coopérative, jusqu’à lors de tradition, pour mener sa propre aventure de vinificateur. Il produit depuis ses propres bouteilles, explorant avec exigence et finesse les ressources que lui offrent l’opportunité d’être établi sur trois appellations.

Un terroir d’exception

Château du Pouey jouit d’un sol d’exception en Madiran. Pas moins de trois terroirs nuancent les 24 hectares de vignes. Sur les pentes argilo-graveleuses bien exposées au sud, le Tannat, cépage phare du Madiran, domine largement. Il y cohabite avec les Cabernets franc et sauvignon. Plus bas, en chute de pentes, les gros et petit Mansengs occupent à bon escient un terrain argilo-limoneux. Une parcelle aux substrats d’argile et galets complète l’ensemble dans une enclave située à Arroses, en Pyrénées Atlantiques. Les vins que produit le domaine jouissent tout à la fois d’un terroir idéal pour le Madiran et de l’opportunité géographique de chevaucher également les appellations Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh et Côtes de Gascogne. Le terroir remarquable de Château du Pouey, valorisé par les talents de Bastien Lannusse, produit des vins régulièrement remarqués dans les guides et les concours. Il faut dire que le jeune vigneron a su très vite se positionner dans l’esprit de sa génération.

Du fruit en pleine expression

Prenant le contrepied de la tradition des vins boisés en Madiran, Bastien Lannusse produit un Tannat bien établi sur le fruit, maîtrisant parfaitement les inclinations tanniques du cépage. La cuvée nommée Bastien, un 100 % Tannat élevé en cuve durant un an et demi, en est la plus démonstrative expression. Ce goût du fruit fixé dans ses arômes croquants et frais est joyeusement cultivé dans les blanc, rouge et rosé vinifiés en Côtes de Gascogne sous l’étiquette bien nommée de Happy Time. Quant au Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, c’est la cuvée L’Aydasse qui le pousse vers ses bouquets et sa bouche les plus épanouis. Convoquant un assemblage où le petit Manseng domine puissamment le gros Manseng, ce vin moelleux issu de récolte tardive dévoile une sucrosité tempérée de fraîcheur, où coings et fruits confits chantent de concert. Cette cuvée tire son nom de l’occitan ayde qui sert à nommer la passion. Et de l’ayde pour le vin Bastien Lannusse n’en manque pas, laissant présager un très bel avenir pour les prochaines cuvées de Château du Pouey.

Bastien Lannusse - Château du Pouey - Vignoble de Madiran
Bastien Lannusse – Château du Pouey

en savoir + http://www.chateau-du-pouey.com/


Château du Poueylocaliser Situer sur la carte
32400 Viella

telephone 05 62 69 78 25