Chateau Capitoul

Wines of La Clape


In the southern limit ofAOP La Clape, Chateau Capitoul is a property of Bonfils vineyards very expressive of the Mediterranean identity and seafront wines.


A balcony overlooking the sea

At the gates of Gruissan, at the foot of the massif of La Clape, stands the silhouette of Chateau Capitoul. Arriving from Narbonne, the vineyard which borders the road already announces the presence of the building before it stands out against the sky, dominating the landscape. Located on a promontory flanked by 64 hectares of vines, it offers a panoramic balcony overlooking the sea horizon, the nearby ponds and the neighboring Pyrenees. Garrigues and parasol pines give the place a Mediterranean authenticity accompanied by the song of the cicadas. If the castle takes on the style of the XIXe century, the site itself has been a wine-growing area since Roman antiquity where vines already flourished there. Today it is one of the centerpieces of Bonfils vineyards. Under their leadership, Chateau Capitoul is about to become a major wine tourism complex, which will soon welcome 45 vineyard houses set in the countryside.

Maritime influences

Chateau Capitoul inherits its name from the XVe century when the chapter assembly of the Canons of Narbonne oversaw the exploitation of the vineyard. History and landscape form here a remarkable whole to which the Bonfils vineyards make sure to restore prestige. On the vineyard itself the encépagement testifies to the specificities of the'La Clape appellation. Marrying the reliefs which mark the southern limit of the appellation, very close to the pond of Gruissan, the vine is imbued with maritime influences to give substance to wines distinguished by iodine and mineral signatures. Syrah, Grenache, Carignan or Mourvèdre contribute to the definition of red wines. Bourboulenc, Marsanne, Roussanne, Grenache blanc or Viognier provide their typical characteristics to white wines. The cellar was designed by a previous owner as a naval architecture. It makes all the originality of this place of breeding where the equipment in concrete vats announces vinifications concentrated on the fruit.

Mediterranean wines

The aging in vats determines the line of wines. When the cuvées of Chateau Capitoul call on barrels, the woody character is discreet. Giving the fruit its full intensity is the determination of the cellar master. Range rocaille, vinified in white and red, comes from a selection of old vines. In its red wine version, Syrah, Carignan and Grenache infuse it with a complex structure of black fruits and spices. In the white wine version, the partial passage in barrels leads Marsanne, Roussanne and Viognier to combine their aromatic concert with woody finesse. With Gold, the concentration and the complexity of the old vines determine this cuvée, also available in red wine and white wine aged in barrels. Strength of fruit, velvety and melted tannins enhanced with toasted notes make the personality of the red wine. For the white wine, it is the notes of exotic fruits with lemony accents, nodding to the truffle aromas, which the aging comes to enhance. With Maelma, an exclusive vintage, the Mediterranean signature takes on a scale sublimated by the process of integral vinification. The Syrah, all in red fruits and spices, comes in search of the roundness of the Grenache while the Mourvèdre accentuates the personality of this exceptional red wine. Seductive singularity joining the whole, The Forgotten take advantage of the passerillage and a 36-month aging in new barrels to offer a sweet wine that Chateau Capitoul only produces the great years.

learn more The wines of La Clape

French FR English EN

Château Capitoul

Vins de La Clape


En limite sud de l’AOP La Clape, Château Capitoul est une propriété des Vignobles Bonfils bien expressive de l’identité méditerranéenne et des vins de front de mer.


Un balcon sur la mer

Aux portes de Gruissan, au pied du massif de La Clape, se dresse la silhouette de Château Capitoul. Le vignoble qui borde la route préfigure sa présence avant qu’il ne se détache sur le ciel, en surplomb du paysage. Situé sur un promontoire flanqué de 64 hectares de vignes, il offre un balcon sur l’horizon de la mer, les proches étangs et les Pyrénées voisines. Garrigues et pins parasols confèrent au lieu une authenticité méditerranéenne qu’accompagne le chant des cigales. Si le château revêt le style du XIXe siècle, le site lui-même est terre viticole depuis l’antiquité romaine où la vigne y prospérait déjà. Il est aujourd’hui l’une des pièces maîtresse des Vignobles Bonfils. Sous leur impulsion, Château Capitoul s’apprête à devenir un complexe œnotouristique majeur, accueillant 45 maisons de vigne serties au paysage.

Des influences maritimes

Château Capitoul hérite son nom du XVe siècle lorsque l’assemblée capitulaire des Chanoines de Narbonne veillait à l’exploitation du vignoble. Histoire et paysage forment ici un ensemble remarquable auquel les Vignobles Bonfils veillent à redonner prestige. Sur le vignoble lui-même l’encépagement témoigne des spécificités de l’AOP La Clape. Situé à la limite sud de l’appellation, la vigne s’imprègne des influences maritimes pour donner corps à des vins que distinguent des signatures iodées et minérales. Syrah, Grenache, Carignan ou Mourvèdre contribuent à la définition des rouges. Bourboulenc, Marsanne, Roussanne, Grenache blanc ou Viognier assurent leurs typicités aux vins blancs. Le chai quant à lui fut conçu par un précédent propriétaire comme une architecture navale. Elle fait toute l’originalité de ce lieu d’élevage où l’équipement en cuves béton annonce des vinifications concentrées sur le fruit.

Des vins méditerranéens

L’élevage en cuve détermine la ligne des vins. Lorsque les cuvées de Château Capitoul font appel aux fûts, le caractère boisé se veut discret. Donner au fruit sa pleine intensité est la détermination du maître de chai. La gamme Rocaille, vinifiée en blanc et rouge, est issue d’une sélection de vieilles vignes. En rouge, Syrah, Carignan et Grenache y insufflent une structure complexe de fruits noirs et épices. En blanc, le passage partiel en fût conduit Marsanne, Roussanne et Viognier à lier leur concert aromatique aux finesses boisées. Avec Oros, la concentration et la complexité des vieilles vignes déterminent cette cuvée en deux couleurs élevée en barriques. Force du fruit, velouté et tanins fondus rehaussés de notes toastées font la personnalité du rouge. Pour le blanc, ce sont les notes de fruits exotiques aux accents citronnés, faisant clin d’œil aux arômes truffés, que l’élevage vient valoriser. Avec Maëlma, le rouge exclusif impose sa signature méditerranéenne. La Syrah tout en fruits rouges et épices y vient cherche la rondeur du Grenache tandis que le Mourvèdre en accentue la personnalité. Séduisante singularité rejoignant l’ensemble, Les Oubliées tirent parti du passerillage et d’un élevage de 36 mois en barriques neuves pour offrir un vin liquoreux que Château Capitoul ne produit que les grandes années.

logo vigne http://www.chateau-capitoul.com/


Château Capitoullocaliser Situer sur la carte
Avenue de Gruissan
11100 Narbonne

telephone 04 68 49 23 30