In Vinum, amphora wine by Sarrabelle

In Vinum - Domaine Sarrabelle - Vineyards of Occitanie
In Vinum - Wines of Gaillac - Domaine Sarrabelle - (Alcohol abuse is dangerous for health)

Gaillac winesBraucol is a local appellation of the Gaillac vineyard to name this variety from the south-west more commonly called Fer servadou. Braucol is distinguished by its tannic potential and its aromatic typicity where red fruits and spices are accompanied by vegetal evocations. From this profile emerges the call for vinification and aging capable of rounding off the structure and sublimating the bouquets.


In Vinum, a pure Braucol

For the winegrower, Braucol has character. He is capricious and of sometimes unforeseen fertility. It is also the bearer of a history that saw it unfold along the paths of Compostela in medieval times. Because the Braucol which one supposes of Spanish stock should its establishment in the south-west with the conveying of the pilgrims. At Sarrabelle domain, where the taste for history lives in the house, it was essential that the work of Braucol rediscover a historical fiber. From this spirit which reconciles memory and enhancement of indigenous grape varieties was born the cuvée In Vinum. It can be considered as the top of the range of the domain and the signature of its know-how.

In Vinum, the time of the cellar

The hardiness and liveliness of Braucol require a good mastery of maturation in the cellar. This work is at the heart of the attention that Fabien and Laurent Caussé relate to the cuvée In Vinum. The Sarrabelle method is an obvious mastery, resulting from the fruit of family experience. Because it is primarily a question of taming the tannic temperaments of the grape variety while deploying its aromas. The aging time plays a decisive role. At Sarrabelle, the Braucol stays primarily in 400-liter oak barrels. For twenty-four months, the stake is of course in controlling the woodiness and developing a typical bouquet of Braucol. This is how at Sarrabelle domain we made the choice to refine the cuvée In Vinum in the tradition of amphora wine for 12 additional months.

In Vinum, an amphora wine

The need for long aging that can reconcile both the virtues of wood and the time-saving work has thus been resolved. Because at Sarrabelle it is indeed amphora wine that we make, with the determination to sublimate one of the most typical grape varieties of Gaillac. From the final stay in terracotta emerges a vintage whose Latin elegance of the name reminds us that Gaillac is an ancestral land of wine. This is how this famous Braucol, one of whose aromatic characteristics is to be distinguished by a vegetal accent, on the contrary rounds off at Sarrabelle to make it dominate its expressions of red fruits and spices. Thus, blueberry and blackcurrant come to flirt with all the aromatic and structural complexity of aging in barrels then in amphorae, making In Vinum an essential wine on the Gaillac vineyard.

Sarrabelle domain

Classified in AOP Gaillac, the vineyard of Sarrabelle domain thrives on exceptional soils. The vinifications are particularly careful and the most elaborate admirably reconcile the virtues of barrels and amphorae.

French FR English EN

In Vinum, vin d’amphore par Sarrabelle

In Vinum - Domaine Sarrabelle - Vignobles d'Occitanie
In Vinum – Vins de Gaillac – Domaine Sarrabelle – (l’abus d’alcool est dangereux pour la santé)

Vins de GaillacLe Braucol est une appellation typique dans le vignoble de Gaillac pour nommer ce cépage du sud-ouest appelé plus couramment Fer servadou. L’intérêt du Braucol est sa typicité aromatique aux évocations herbacées et sa bouche aux dispositions tanniques. De ce profil se dégage l’appel à une vinification et à un élevage capables d’en sublimer les bouquets et d’en arrondir la structure.


In Vinum, un pur Braucol

Pour le vigneron, le Braucol a du caractère. Il est capricieux et de fertilité parfois imprévue. Il est aussi porteur d’une histoire qui le vit se déployer le long des chemins de Compostelle à l’époque médiévale. Car le Braucol que l’on suppose de souche espagnole devrait son implantation dans le sud-ouest au convoyage des pèlerins. Au Domaine de Sarrabelle, où le goût de l’histoire habite la maison, il s’imposait que le travail du Braucol retrouvât une fibre historique. De cet esprit qui concilie mémoire et valorisation des cépages autochtones est née la cuvée In Vinum. Elle peut se considérer comme le haut de gamme du domaine et la signature de son savoir-faire.

In Vinum, le temps du chai

Rusticité et vivacité du Braucol nécessitent une bonne maîtrise des maturations au chai. Ce travail est au cœur de l’attention que Fabien et Laurent Caussé portent sur la cuvée In Vinum. La méthode Sarrabelle est d’une maîtrise évidente, issue du fruit de l’expérience familiale. Car il s’agit en premier lieu de dompter les tempéraments tanniques du cépage tout en déployant ses arômes. Le temps de l’élevage y joue un rôle déterminant. Chez Sarrabelle, le Braucol séjourne en premier lieu en fûts de chêne de 400 litres. Vingt-quatre mois durant, l’enjeu se trouve bien entendu dans le contrôle du boisé et le développement d’un bouquet typique du Braucol. C’est ainsi qu’au Domaine Sarrabelle on fit le choix d’affiner la cuvée In Vinum dans la tradition du vin d’amphore durant 12 mois supplémentaires.

In Vinum, un vin d’amphore

La nécessité d’un élevage long qui puisse concilier tout à la fois les vertus du bois et le travail bonificateur du temps s’est ainsi résolu. Car chez Sarrabelle c’est bien du vin d’amphore que l’on fait, avec la détermination de sublimer l’un des cépages les plus typiques du Gaillacois. Il ressort du séjour final en terre cuite une cuvée dont l’élégance latine du nom relance une culture ancestrale de l’appellation Gaillac. C’est ainsi que ce fameux Braucol, dont le risque pour le vigneron serait de le voir trop pleinement exprimer ses penchants herbacés, s’arrondit au contraire chez Sarrabelle pour y faire plutôt dominer ses expressions de fruits rouges. Ainsi, myrtille et cassis viennent flirter avec toute la complexité aromatique et structurelle de l’élevage en fûts puis en amphores, faisant de In Vinum un vin incontournable sur le vignoble de Gaillac.

en savoir + Domaine Sarrabelle sur Vignobles d’Occitanie