Chateau Laffitte Teston


Chateau Laffitte Teston ranks among the leading domains within appellations Madiran et Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh. This family estate which also produces Cotes de Gascony perpetuates a know-how with well-established recognition.


A family saga

Chateau Laffitte Teston is above all a family stronghold established in Madiran in the village of Maumusson Laguian. The architectural site is made up of elegant and opulent constructions. They bear witness to the hard work, commitment and notoriety ensured by eight generations of winegrowers. At the head of the domain are today the siblings formed by Ericka and Joris Laffitte. Having taken over from Jean-Marc, their father, brother and sister constantly make the wine heritage prosper. Ericka supervises the various missions inherent in the administration of the domain, Joris watches over the good management of the vineyard and the cellars. Hospitality is essential from the outset in the house, which offers the conditions for a welcome to match its history. The courtyard with elegant floor facings overlooks an amphitheater of vines located below. Near the cellar, a furnished viewpoint overlooks the vineyard as a balcony. An extension of the vines, a hilly lake can be seen which contributes to the natural richness of the places and the spectacle.

Local grape varieties

À Chateau Laffitte Teston, the wines are chiseled in the typicity of Madiran terroir. The most sought after vintages make up more than half of the production. The site lends itself perfectly to this: in Maumusson Laguian, the 53 hectare vineyard is particularly well exposed. Rooted on slight slopes, Tannat et Cabernets thrive on rich and draining soils served by an ideal exposure. Ensuring the identity of the Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, the Pyrenean grape varieties can be counted Petit and Gros Mansengsbut also Small Courbu. The family unit combined with the winemaking experience passed down through successive generations has helped establish the reputation of the wines. These are characterized by an exemplary expression of the characteristics of the Pyrenean foothills. They translate into sincere, greedy profiles and in line with their respective appellations. The underground cellar, in the Bordeaux style, is in itself a place that marks the seriousness of the house. The rows of six hundred barrels are there magnified by careful lighting, a spectacle in itself which modulates the ambiences of the cellar in changing colors.

Appellation wines

À Chateau Laffitte Teston the range of wines is clear and precise. In Madiran appellation, a heritage of old vines gives shape to very qualitative cuvées. First there is a Reflection of the Terroir, where the Tannat flirting with the Cabernets in a discreet presence echo the grape varieties of the estate. This Madiran wine rubs shoulders with the cuvée on the same appellation. Old Vines, where Tannat comes to seek its highest expression and is profiled for a long aging. For the chapter Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh the Ericka cuvée is exemplary of these dry whites whose aromatic freshness is the fruit of a dominant Petit Manseng, supported by Gros Manseng and Petit Courbu. In a soft Pacherenc version, this nectar of the appellation, the Autumn dream deploys in a complex of aromas all the virtues of a pure Petit Manseng whose juices are concentrated until the autumn harvest. In range IGP Côtes de Gascogne, red, white and rosé are present. The first comes to seek the fruity lightness of Merlot associated with the structure of Tannat. The second marrying a balanced bouquet of Sauvignon and Gros Manseng. As for the third, its fruity pink color bears the elegant signature of Tannat and Cabernets.

Madiran wines

The Madiran vineyard draws its specificity
from a native grape variety of the Pyrenean foothills: Tannat

French FR English EN

Château Laffitte Teston


Château Laffitte Teston se classe parmi les domaines de premier plan au sein des appellations Madiran et Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh. Ce domaine familial qui produit également des Côtes de Gascogne perpétue un savoir-faire à la reconnaissance bien assise.


Une saga familiale

Château Laffitte Teston est avant tout un fief familial établi en Madiran dans le village de Maumusson Laguian. Le site architectural est formé d’élégantes et cossues constructions. Elles témoignent d’un labeur, d’un engagement et d’une notoriété assurés par huit générations de vignerons. À la tête du domaine se trouve aujourd’hui la fratrie formée par Ericka et Joris Laffitte. Ayant pris la relève de Jean-Marc, leur père, frère et sœur font prospérer avec constance le patrimoine viticole. Ericka supervise les différentes missions inhérentes à l’administration du domaine, Joris veille sur la bonne conduite du vignoble et des chais. L’hospitalité s’impose d’emblée dans la maison qui offre les conditions d’un accueil à hauteur de son histoire. La cour aux élégants parements de sol domine un amphithéâtre de vignes situées en contrebas. À proximité du caveau, un point de vue aménagé surplombe en balcon le vignoble. En prolongement des vignes s’aperçoit un lac collinaire qui contribue à la richesse naturelle des lieux et du spectacle.

Des cépages de terroir

À Château Laffitte Teston, les vins sont ciselés dans la typicité du terroir de Madiran. Les cuvées les plus recherchées forment plus de la moitié de la production. Le site s’y prête à merveille : à Maumusson Laguian le vignoble de 53 hectares est particulièrement bien exposé. Enracinés sur de légers dévers, Tannat et Cabernets prospèrent des sols riches et drainants servis par une exposition idéale. Assurant l’identité du Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh, les cépages pyrénéens se décomptent en Petit et Gros Mansengs, mais aussi en Petit Courbu. L’unité familiale assortie de l’expérience vigneronne transmise par les générations successives ont permis d’assoir la réputation des vins. Ceux-ci se caractérisent par une expression exemplaire des typicités du piémont pyrénéen. Elles se traduisent par des profils sincères, gourmands et dans le droit fil de leurs appellations respectives. Le chai souterrain, dans le style bordelais, est à lui seul un lieu qui signe le sérieux de la maison. Les rangées de six-cents barriques s’y trouvent magnifiées par un éclairage soigné, spectacle à lui tout seul qui module en couleurs changeantes les ambiances du caveau.

Des vins d’appellations

À Château Laffitte Teston la gamme des vins est claire et précise. En appellation Madiran, un patrimoine de vieilles vignes donne corps à des cuvées très qualitatives. En premier lieu se présente un Reflet du Terroir, où le Tannat flirtant avec les Cabernets en présence discrète font écho à l’encépagement du domaine. Ce vin de Madiran côtoie sur la même appellation la cuvée Vielles Vignes, où le Tannat vient chercher sa plus haute expression et se profile pour une longue garde. Pour le chapitre Pacherenc-du-Vic-Bilh la cuvée Ericka est exemplaire de ces blancs secs dont la fraîcheur aromatique est le fruit d’un Petit Manseng dominant, soutenu de Gros Manseng et de Petit Courbu. En version Pacherenc moelleux, ce nectar de l’appellation, le Rêve d’Automne déploie en complexe d’arômes toutes les vertus d’un pur Petit Manseng dont les jus se sont concentrés jusqu’à la vendange automnale. En gamme IGP Côtes de Gascogne, rouge, blanc et rosé sont bien présents. Le premier venant chercher la légèreté fruitée du Merlot associé à la charpente du Tannat. Le second mariant en bouquet d’équilibre Sauvignon et Gros Manseng. Quant au troisième, sa robe de rose fruité porte la griffe élégante du Tannat et des Cabernets.


Château Laffitte Teston
32400 Maumusson-Laguian

telephone +33 5 62 69 74 58


Laisser un commentaire

Votre adresse de messagerie ne sera pas publiée. Les champs obligatoires sont indiqués avec *

Ce site utilise Akismet pour réduire les indésirables. En savoir plus sur comment les données de vos commentaires sont utilisées.