Domaine Chiroulet

Côtes de Gascogne winesFloc de Gascogne - Liqueur wineArmagnac


Located north of the Gers, in the natural region of Ténarèze, the Domaine Chiroulet is a family story, that is to say a story of generations who have been able to enhance the generosity of their wine-growing land.


Philippe Fezas, winemaker

Today driven by the dynamic action of Philippe Fezas, the son, the adventure of Domaine Chiroulet started with Michel Fezas, the father. Of Michel we could say that he is the living history of the vineyard, of Philippe that he has the enthusiasm and passion for heritage. The vines extend over the sunny slopes of Larroque-sur-l'Osse, a village which takes its name from the small river that runs through the valley. The property is located a stone's throw from the Saint-Martin d'Heux church, a superb XNUMXth-century buildinge century erected at the top of the hill. The altitude is light: it rises to one hundred and eighty meters, which guarantees the vines a beneficial hint of freshness. The territory itself is subjected to the breeze coming from the Pyrenees which it faces. Sometimes forcing up to be heard, we will understand that the site of Chiroulet takes its name from Occitan xirula which designates the whistle. The movement of the breezes is fairly constant and blends with the virtues of the sun so that a typical grape variety matures with benefit. Cotes de Gascony.

The grape varieties of the Chiroulet estate

On these lands of the Gers, the production of elegant white wines from grape varieties rich in aromatic thiols is traditional. In the vineyards of Domaine Chiroulet thrive on colombard,ugly, Worm, Sauvignon blanc and gris. To these are added the Gros and the Petit Mansengs, pillars of local winemaking. Here they found in the Sauvignon an ally perfectly suited to the limestone soils of the domain. Because the terroir has qualities similar to that of Sancerre or Pouilly as well as Philippe Fezas was able to see it thanks to the expertise of his friend and geologist Pierre Chevalier. Twenty-five million years of limestone sediments and fine clays contribute to the favorable composition of a benevolent soil for the vine. But to Domaine Chiroulet we also know how to distinguish ourselves by anticipation: Michel, the father, understood very early on that omitting the red grape varieties was not compatible with the resources of such a land. Since then, the estate has also relied on the presence of Merlot, the king grape variety of Saint Emilion, accompanied by Tannat local and Cabernet franc.

Wines, Flocs and Armagnacs

Wines aged in Domaine Chiroulet have a whole history that goes far beyond local notoriety. The first impulses are even surprising: the wines of Domaine Chiroulet first found their biggest export enthusiasts, especially since the Parker guide mentioned them in its 1996 edition. Philippe Fezas, no one was a prophet in his country. But the estate has long since reconquered the lands of France and today finds its allies with more than five hundred wine merchants. The international adventure does not weaken any less: selected in 2017 by American Airlines for his vintage White lands, the production of Domaine Chiroulet is also successfully exported to Japan. It must be said that the range of products from the cellars is both precise and perfectly worked with the vigilant help of Nicolas Cambos, the cellar master of the estate. The variation includes the traditional dry and soft whites of Cotes de Gascony, exceptional red wines on this terroir, Armagnac vintages and the famous Gascogne floccu assembled on the property. The distinctions and medals regularly honor the fruit of this work in the vineyard and in the cellar, carried out with ancestral knowledge as well as technical passion by the two men of the Fezas house: Michel, the father, and Philippe, the son.

Côtes de Gascogne wines

The Côtes de Gascogne vineyard, typical of the Gers and the “wines of the South-West”, is also inseparable from the land of Armagnac.

French FR English EN

Domaine Chiroulet


Situé au nord du Gers, dans la région naturelle de la Ténarèze, le domaine Chiroulet est une histoire de famille, c’est-à-dire une histoire de générations qui ont su valoriser la générosité de leur terre viticole.


Philippe Fezas, vigneron

Aujourd’hui portée par l’action dynamique de Philippe Fezas, le fils, l’aventure du Domaine Chiroulet a commencé avec Michel Fezas, le père. De Michel on pourrait dire qu’il est l’histoire vivante de la terre, de Philippe qu’il a l’enthousiasme et la passion de l’héritage. Le vignoble s’étend sur les coteaux bien ensoleillés de Larroque-sur-l’Osse, village qui tire son nom de la petite rivière qui court dans la vallée. La propriété est située à deux pas de l’église Saint-Martin d’Heux, superbe édifice du XIIIe siècle érigé au faîte de la colline. L’altitude est légère : elle culmine à cent quatre-vingt mètres, ce qui garantit à la vigne un soupçon bienfaisant de fraîcheur. Le territoire lui-même est soumis au vent venu des Pyrénées auxquelles il fait face. Soufflant parfois jusqu’à se faire entendre, on comprendra que le site de Chiroulet tire son nom de l’occitan xirula qui désigne le sifflet. L’humeur des brises est assez constante et se marie aux vertus du soleil pour que maturent avec bénéfice un encépagement typique des Côtes de Gascogne.

Les cépages du domaine Chiroulet

Sur ces terres du Gers, la production d’élégants vins blancs issus de cépages riches en thiols aromatiques est de tradition. Dans les vignes de Chiroulet prospèrent le Colombard, l’Ugni, le Baco, les Sauvignons blanc et gris. À ceux-là s’ajoutent le gros et le petit Manseng, piliers de la vinification locale qui ont trouvé dans le Sauvignon un allié parfaitement adapté aux terres calcaires du domaine. Car le terroir possède des qualités analogues à celui des Sancerre ou des Pouilly ainsi que Philippe Fezas a pu le constater grâce aux expertises de son ami et géologue Pierre Chevalier. Vingt cinq millions d’années de sédiments calcaire et d’argiles fines contribuent à la composition propice d’un sol bienveillant pour la vigne. Mais au domaine Chiroulet on sait aussi se distinguer par anticipation : Michel, le père, a très tôt compris qu’omettre les encépagements de rouge n’était pas compatible avec les ressources d’une telle terre. Depuis, le domaine compte également sur la présence du Merlot, le cépage roi du Saint Émilion, accompagné du Tannat local et du Cabernet franc.

Vins, Flocs et Armagnacs

Le vin élevé sur le domaine Chiroulet a tout une histoire qui dépasse largement la notoriété locale. Les premiers élans sont même étonnants : les vins de Chiroulet ont d’abord trouvé leurs plus grands amateurs à l’exportation, en particulier après que le guide Parker en eut fait mention dans son édition de 1996. Comme le dit Philippe Fezas, nul n’était prophète dans son pays. Mais le domaine a depuis longtemps reconquis les terres de France et trouve aujourd’hui ses alliés auprès de plus de cinq-cents cavistes. L’aventure internationale n’en faiblit pas moins : récemment sélectionnée par American Airlines pour sa cuvée Terres Blanches, la production de Chiroulet s’exporte également avec succès au Japon. Il faut dire que la gamme des produits issus des chais est à la fois précise et parfaitement travaillée avec l’aide vigilante de Nicolas Cambos, le maître de chai du domaine. La déclinaison compte les blancs secs et moelleux traditionnels des Côtes de Gascogne, les rouges exceptionnels sur ce terroir, les Armagnacs millésimés et le fameux Floc de Gascogne assemblé sur la propriété. Les distinctions et les médailles honorent régulièrement le fruit de ce travail de la vigne et du chai, mené avec savoir ancestral tout autant que passion technique par les deux hommes de la maison Fezas : Michel, le père, et Philippe, le fils.


Domaine Chiroulet
À Chiroulet
32100 Larroque-sur-l’Ossemap markerSituer sur la carte
05 62 28 02 21