Mayragues Castle

Gaillac winesorganic and biodynamic


Built on a very old area of Gaillac vineyard, Mayragues Castle is already in itself an architectural pearl of the XNUMXthe century perfectly restored. Examples of biodynamic viticulture, the Gaillac wines which are produced there are at the same time a creative, coherent and controlled expression of the appellation.


A pioneer estate in biodynamics

When Alan and Laurence Geddes acquired the Mayragues Castle in 1980, the building was in ruins. The work of XIIe century, rehabilitated during the Renaissance, had no more roof and framework than the sky and its clouds. So began a restoration project which was accompanied by the takeover of the wine estate. The vines were then populated only with hybrids dedicated to the massive production of table wine. The radical decision was necessary: Alan geddes proceeded to uproot characterless vines to restore native grape varieties such as the Braucol, Duras for red wines or the Mauzac dedicated to white wines. And as man had a sense of anticipation, he established himself as a pioneer of organic and then biodynamic agriculture in the Gaillac vineyard. The first cuvée was bottled in 1982. From then on, the work did not stop.

Between elegance and consistency

The vines of Mayragues Castle extend over 13 hectares. They occupy the heart of a larger domain where 90 hectares of groves and fields ensure their protection. Today it's Duncan geddes, the son, who oversees the entire operation. Anne Geddes, his sister, has also taken over and is supporting him in the management of the estate. Their passion is identical to that of their parents. They watch over their wines as the whole family has watched over the château, whose perfect restoration is already a work in itself. Centerpiece of the architecture of the place, it enhances by its historical presence the nobility of the work carried out here. Because the wines of Mayragues Castle are raised not only in respect of an ancestral land, but they also reveal an elegance and a coherence in perfect expression of the history and the place.

A finely tuned breeding

In the cellar Gaillac wines are aged in vats or barrels. The range is structured in two red wines, two dry white wines, a sweet white wine and a sparkling wine from the ancestral method. From time to time and according to the interest of the vintages, a red wine or a rosé wine completes the winemaking work. All of them highlight the characteristics of the Gaillac appellation: the white wines are vinified in 100% Mauzac or 100% Loin de l'Œil. Red wines including The Magi or even 23° Fahrenheit are the result of marriages between Braucol and Cabernet sauvignon for one or Braucol, Duras, Syrah and Cabernet for the other. The Brut from Mayragues, sparkling wine produced according to the ancestral method, is expressed in 100% Mauzac. Sweet wine Mayragues cuvée, aged in barrels, is the pure expression of Loin de L'Œil, whose careful choice of acacia wood preserves the aromatic integrity. In this concert a superb sailing wine slips in secret, theAmber from Mayragues, sometimes 100% Mauzac, sometimes 100% Loin de l'Œil depending on the vintage. More subtle still, Spirit of Mayragues which is a brandy distilled at Laurent Cazottes, sublimates the whole. Sincerity and passion, power and velvet, reign in each of these wines. They are the fruit of a family spirit in which generosity, courage and accuracy are expressed spontaneously. These qualities stand out perfectly in the elegant handwriting that marks the wines of the Mayragues Castle.

learn more The wines of Gaillac

French FR English EN

Château de Mayragues

Vins de Gaillacbio et biodynamique


Édifié sur un très ancien domaine du vignoble de Gaillac, le Château de Mayragues est déjà en soi une perle architecturale du XIIe siècle parfaitement restaurée. Exemplaires de la viticulture biodynamique, les vins de Gaillac qui y sont produits sont une expression tout à la fois créative, cohérente et maîtrisée de l’appellation.


Un domaine pionnier en biodynamie

Lorsque Alan et Laurence Geddes firent l’acquisition du Château de Mayragues en 1980, l’édifice était en ruines. L’ouvrage du XIIe siècle, réhabilité à la Renaissance, n’avait plus pour toit et charpente que le ciel et ses nuages. Alors débuta un chantier de restauration qui s’accompagna de la reprise en main du domaine viticole. Les vignes n’étaient alors peuplées que d’hybrides dédiés à la production massive de vin de table. La décision radicale s’imposait : Alan Geddes procéda à l’arrachage de pieds sans caractère pour rendre à leur terre des cépages autochtones comme les Braucol, Duras à destination des vins rouges ou encore le Mauzac dédié aux vins blancs. Et comme l’homme avait le sens de l’anticipation, il s’établit pionnier de l’agriculture bio puis biodynamique dans le vignoble de Gaillac. La première cuvée fut embouteillée en 1982. Dès lors le chantier ne s’arrêta plus.

Entre élégance et cohérence

Les vignes du Château de Mayragues s’étendent sur 13 hectares. Elles occupent le coeur d’un plus vaste domaine où 90 hectares de bosquets et de champs assurent leur protection. Aujourd’hui c’est Duncan Geddes, le fils, qui supervise l’ensemble de l’exploitation. Anne Geddes, sa sœur, a également pris la relève et l’accompagne dans la gestion du domaine. Leur passion est identique à celle de leurs parents. Ils veillent sur leurs vins comme toute la famille a veillé sur le château dont la parfaite restauration est déjà une œuvre en soi. Pièce maîtresse de l’architecture des lieux, il réhausse par sa présence historique la noblesse du travail conduit ici. Car les vins du Château de Mayragues sont élevés non seulement dans le respect d’une terre ancestrale, mais ils révèlent également une élégance et une cohérence en parfaite expression de l’histoire et du lieu.

Un élevage finement réglé

Dans le chai les vins sont élevés en cuve ou en barriques. La gamme se structure en deux vins rouges, deux vins blancs secs, un vin blanc doux et un vin effervescent issu de la méthode ancestrale. De temps en temps et selon l’intérêt des millésimes un vin rouge ou un vin rosé complètent le travail de vinification. Tous valorisent les typicités de l’appellation Gaillac : les vins blancs sont vinifiés en 100 % Mauzac ou en 100 % Loin de l’Œil. Les vins rouges dont Les Mages ou encore 23 ° Fahrenheit sont issus des mariages entre Braucol et Cabernet sauvignon pour l’un ou Braucol, Duras, Syrah et Cabernet pour l’autre. Le Brut de Mayragues, vin effervescent élaboré selon la méthode ancestrale, s’exprime en 100 % Mauzac. Le vin doux Cuvée de Mayragues, élevé en fûts, est la pure expression du Loin de L’Œil dont le choix attentif du bois d’acacia préserve l’intégrité aromatique. Dans ce concert se glisse en secret un superbe vin de voile, l’Ambre de Mayragues, tantôt 100 % Mauzac, tantôt 100 % Loin de l’Œil selon le millésime. Plus subtil encore, Esprit de Mayragues qui est une eau de vie distillée chez Laurent Cazottes, vient sublimer l’ensemble. Sincérité et passion, puissance et velours, règnent dans chacun de ces vins. Ils sont le fruit d’un esprit de famille où générosité, courage et justesse s’expriment spontanément. Ces qualités se distinguent parfaitement dans l’élégante écriture manuscrite qui signe les vins du Château de Mayragues.

en savoir + Les vins de Gaillac