Domain of Joÿ

Côtes de Gascogne winesFloc de Gascogne - Liqueur wineArmagnacHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


If at Domaine de Joÿ joy reigns in the wines, Floc de Gascogne and Armagnacs, it is surely because of its name and the generosity of its terroir labeled High Environmental Value that they first draw it.


Awakening Joÿ

When in 1927 Paul and Marguerite Gessler left Switzerland, their route took them to locality of Joÿ. In this Gers haven, they find a dormant land. Immediately setting to work, they revive the dormant domain. On the well-exposed hillsides, the vines regain their vigor, drawing their sap from this favorable soil. Two years past are enough for the Gessler family distills its first Armagnac. Thus was born the 1929 vintage, inaugurating a lineage that will no longer derogate from the vitality of the vineyard. In 1946, André Gessler, the son, took over the reins of the estate with his wife Véronique. Stimulated by this generous land, the vineyard grew to occupy 20 hectares. The first selections of grape varieties date from this post-war period. Colombard and Gros Manseng then established themselves on the field of Joy, thus foreshadowing future fame. The year 1975 marked the arrival of Olivier who took over from his father. With him Muscadelle and the first red grape varieties are introduced. His arrival inaugurates the modernity of Joÿ and the advent of the first bottles.

Terroir of Joÿ

If enthusiasm reigns in the house, it is perhaps at the source of its name that it takes root. Because Joy draws its etymology from medieval Occitan from which it inherits its overtones of joy and courtesy. Of joy, the 4e generation, that of Vanessa and Kevin Gessler, is its heir. When we enter Joy, the smile that makes the welcome can be predicted in the wines as well as distilled in the Armagnac. Because on this estate, which today extends over 160 hectares, cheerful white wines have pride of place. Colombard, Ugni blanc, Sauvignon or Chardonnay dance to the south, while Gros and Petit Manseng make the rounds to the west. Under these establishments, freshness and minerality invite themselves to the tasting. To Joy the wines are lively and balanced, exemplary of the typical characteristics of the Cotes de Gascony. When Bacco, Ugni blanc or Folle Blanche are distilled there, they produce Armagnacs full of finesse and fruitiness. The red grape varieties meanwhile, confined to 10 hectares, make Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet Franc and Tannat sing in chorus in very good red or rosé wines.

Ode to Joy

Au Domain of Joÿ, the range of white wines is on the front line. As the names here are determinants of good humor, their character is announced from the label. L'envie, The sparkle, Joÿ Attitude or againOde to Joy each in its own way the spirit that animates it. Mineral, fresh or fruity, their nuanced characters bear the common signature of a very beautiful terroir. And to let the ear drag as much as the nose, he will say to himself that the St Andrew reserves a few sweetness that guarantees notoriety. A way to grow to the pleasure of a soft, very well named Grains of Jo. With good character, it rubs shoulders with a rosé named Eros, of course, who himself frequents a red posing as The Insolent. What can we say about this great ball, except that it is given with fervor in a domain of the Côtes de Gascogne bringing together beautiful characters. The Armagnac come to confirm this, putting on the dress of brass enhanced with gold, contained in elegant bottles that remind us that they are haute couture.

video logo The 3 “Naturally Joÿ” cuvées, presented by Vanessa Gessler

video logo Vanessa Gessler presents the new range of Côtes de Gascogne: “La Vie en Joÿ”

Domain of Joÿ

D33 Place called Joy
32110 Panjas

phone 05 62 09 03 20

French FR English EN

Domaine de Joÿ

Vins des Côtes de GascogneFloc de Gascogne - Vin de liqueurArmagnac


Si au Domaine de Joÿ la joie règne dans les vins, le Floc de Gascogne et les Armagnacs, c’est sûrement à son nom et à la générosité de son terroir qu’ils la puisent d’abord.


Éveil de Joÿ

Lorsqu’en 1927 Paul et Marguerite Gessler quittent la Suisse, leur route les conduit jusqu’au lieu-dit de Joÿ. En ce havre gersois, ils trouvent une terre en sommeil. Se mettant aussitôt au labeur, ils raniment le domaine endormi. Sur les coteaux bien exposés les vignes reprennent vigueur, puisant leur sève à ce sol si propice. Deux ans passés suffisent pour que la famille Gessler distille son premier Armagnac. Ainsi est né le millésime 1929, inaugurant une descendance qui ne dérogera plus à la vitalité du vignoble. Dès 1946, André Gessler, le fils, reprend les rênes du domaine en compagnie de son épouse Véronique. Stimulé par cette terre généreuse, le vignoble s’agrandit pour occuper 20 hectares. Les premières sélections de cépages datent de cet après-guerre. Colombard et Gros Manseng s’établissent alors sur le domaine de Joÿ, préfigurant ainsi la renommée future. L’année 1975 marque l’arrivée de Roland et Olivier qui prennent la suite de leur père. Avec eux la Muscadelle et les premiers cépages de rouge sont introduits. Leur arrivée inaugure la modernité de Joÿ et l’avènement des premières bouteilles.

Terroir de Joÿ

Si l’enthousiasme règne dans la maison, c’est peut-être à la source de son nom qu’il prend racine. Car Joÿ puise son étymologie dans l’occitan médiéval duquel il hérite ses consonances de joie et courtoisie. De la joie, la 4e génération, celle de Vanessa, de Kévin et de Gaël Gessler, en est l’héritière. Lorsqu’on entre à Joÿ, le sourire qui fait l’accueil se laisse aussi bien présager dans les vins et que distiller dans les Armagnacs. Car sur ce domaine qui s’étend aujourd’hui sur 160 hectares, les blancs joyeux ont la part belle. Colombard, Ugni blanc, Sauvignon ou Chardonnay dansent au sud, tandis que Gros et Petit Manseng font la ronde à l’ouest. Sous ces implantations, fraîcheur et minéralité s’invitent à la dégustation. À Joÿ les vins sont vifs et équilibrés, exemplaires des typicités propres aux Côtes de Gascogne. Lorsque Bacco, Ugni blanc ou Folle Blanche y sont distillés, ils engendrent des Armagnacs tout en finesse et fruité. Les cépages rouges quant à eux, cantonnés sur 10 hectares, font chanter en chœur Syrah, Merlot, Cabernet Franc et Tannat dans des vins rouges ou rosé de très bon allant.

Hymne à la joie

Au Domaine de Joÿ, la gamme des vins blancs s’invite en première ligne. Comme les noms sont ici déterminants de la bonne humeur, leur caractère s’annonce dès l’étiquette. L’Envie, L’Éclat, la Joÿ Attitude ou encore l’Ode à la Joie décline chacun à sa manière l’esprit qui l’anime. Minéral, frais ou fruité, leurs caractères tout en nuances portent signature commune d’un très beau terroir. Et à laisser traîner l’oreille autant que le nez, il se dira que le St André réserve quelques suavités garantes de notoriété. Une manière de pousser jusqu’à la volupté d’un moelleux, fort bien nommé Grains de Joÿ. De bon caractère, il côtoie un rosé nommé Éros, bien-sûr, qui lui-même fréquente un rouge se présentant comme L’Insolent. Que dire de ce grand bal, sinon qu’il se donne avec ferveur dans un domaine des Côtes de Gascogne réunissant de beaux caractères. Les Armagnacs viennent le confirmer, revêtant quant à eux la robe des cuivres rehaussés d’ors, contenus dans d’élégants flacons qui nous rappellent qu’ils sont de haute couture.

http://www.domaine-joy.com/


Domaine de Joÿlocaliser Situer sur la carte
D33 Lieu-dit Joy
32110 Panjas

telephone 05 62 09 03 20