Roquebrun Cellar


The appellation Saint-Chinian Roquebrun stands out for its shale soil. Considered as one of the major crus of Languedoc, its very qualitative viticultural reputation is mainly driven by the dynamic Roquebrun Cellar.


Schists as terroir

Roquebrun is a small village of Upper cantons of Hérault where there are approximately 600 inhabitants. Dominating one of the meanders of theOrb which meanders below, the agglomeration clings to the southern buttresses of the massifs of Caroux and espinous. On this southern flank of The Massif Central, a typically Mediterranean scrubland covers the reliefs of shale. On the gentler slopes it gives way to the vineyards of Saint-Chinian Roquebrun which unfolds in undulations all around the village. Toponymy, which has seen a succession of designations such as Rocha Bruna or even Rocabrunum unambiguously evokes the geology of a region where brown shale prevails. It is therefore understood that the singular minerality of the soils contributes to the signature of the wines aged by the Roquebrun Cellar.

Minerality as character

On these arid reliefs where irrigation has recently become widespread, viticulture has established itself as a vital resource. It brought together the women and men of the country, united by a natural solidarity which pushed them to create the Roquebrun Cellar in 1967. Today there are around seventy winegrowers who contribute to the vitality of the vineyard, the bulk of the production of which is ensured by their grouping together. Together, they watch over a heritage of 700 hectares of vines mostly facing south. The vineyard which clings to the relief adapts to staggered altitudes from the level of the Orb to culminating points approaching 300 meters in height. For red wines produced in the appellation Saint-Chinian Roquebrun, the main grape varieties are Syrah and Grenache, supported by Mourvèdre and Carignan. The terroir also generates white wines vinified in AOC Saint Chinian, AOC Languedoc or PGI Pays d'Oc which express this singular minerality that Grenache blanc, Roussanne or Viognier know how to capture in the shales.

The fruit as affirmation

One of the peculiarities of the Roquebrun Cellar is to have a technical platform that gives pride of place to carbonic macerations for red wines and pellicular macerations for white wines. These methods of vinification contribute to forging the distinctive mark of the Roquebrun Cellar : the dense expression of the fruit. The highly qualitative approach involved in the work of vinification and aging results in a list of awards that is as regular as it is notorious. We must not forget that at the heart of the appellation Saint-Chinian, designation Roquebrun distinguishes one of the major crus of Languedoc. In this register, the cellar is exemplary and uncompromisingly fulfills its role of ambassador and promoter of an exceptional terroir. This exemplary nature is confirmed by the tasting test. The cuvées on display are numerous and the best inventory is the boutique itself. Among the most demonstrative, it is however worth mentioning these few cuvées whose name carries in itself the evocation of the terroir: Baron d'Aupenac, Shale nuggets, Combes barn, Black Rocks for red wines, or Lands of Orb, Col de l'Orb for white and rosé wines.

Roquebrun Cellar

62 Avenue des Orangers
34460 Roquebrun

phone 04 67 89 64 35

French FR English EN

Cave de Roquebrun


L’appellation Saint Chinian Roquebrun se distingue par son terroir de schistes. Considérée comme l’un des crus majeurs du Languedoc, sa réputation viticole très qualitative est essentiellement portée par la dynamique Cave de Roquebrun.


Les schistes comme terroir

Roquebrun est un petit village des Hauts cantons de l’Hérault où se recensent environ 600 habitants. Dominant l’un des méandres de l’Orb qui serpente en contrebas, l’agglomération s’accroche aux contreforts méridionaux des massifs du Caroux et de l’Espinouse. Sur ce flanc sud du Massif Central, une garrigue typiquement méditerranéenne recouvre les reliefs de schistes. Sur les pentes les plus douces elle cède le pas au vignoble de Saint Chinian Roquebrun qui se déploie en ondulations tout autour du village. La toponymie qui a vu se succéder des appellations comme Rocha-bruna ou encore Rocabrunum évoque sans ambiguïté la géologie d’un terroir où s’imposent les schistes bruns. Il s’entend dès lors que la minéralité singulière des sols contribue à la signature des vins élevés par la Cave de Roquebrun.

La minéralité comme caractère

Sur ces reliefs arides où l’irrigation s’est généralisée récemment, la viticulture s’est établie comme ressource vitale. Elle a fédéré les femmes et les hommes du pays, unis par une solidarité naturelle qui les a poussés à créer la Cave de Roquebrun en 1967. Aujourd’hui ce sont environ soixante-dix viticulteurs qui contribuent à la vitalité du vignoble dont l’essentiel de la production est assuré par leur regroupement. Ensemble, ils veillent sur un patrimoine de 700 hectares de vignes majoritairement orientées plein sud. Le vignoble qui s’accroche aux reliefs s’accommode d’altitudes étagées depuis niveau de l’Orb jusqu’à des points culminants approchant les 300 mètres de hauteur. Pour les vins rouges produits en appellation Saint Chinian Roquebrun, les cépages principaux sont la Syrah et le Grenache, soutenus par le Mourvèdre et le Carignan. Le terroir engendre également des vins blancs vinifiés en AOC Saint Chinian, AOC Languedoc ou IGP Pays d’Oc qui expriment cette singulière minéralité que savent capter dans les schistes le Grenache blanc, la Roussanne ou le Viognier.

Le fruit comme affirmation

L’une des singularités de la Cave de Roquebrun est de disposer d’un plateau technique qui fait la part belle aux macérations carboniques pour les vins rouges et aux macérations pelliculaires pour les vins blancs. Ces modes de vinifications contribuent à forger la marque distinctive de la Cave de Roquebrun : la dense expression du fruit. L’approche hautement qualitative engagée dans le travail de vinification et d’élevage se solde par un palmarès de récompenses tout aussi régulier que notoire. Il ne faut pas oublier qu’au cœur de l’appellation Saint Chinian, la désignation Roquebrun distingue l’un des crus majeurs du Languedoc. Sur ce registre la cave est exemplaire et remplit sans concession son rôle d’ambassadeur et de promoteur d’un terroir d’exception. Cette exemplarité se confirme à l’épreuve de la dégustation. Les cuvées en vitrine sont nombreuses et le meilleur inventaire en est la boutique elle-même. Parmi les plus démonstratives, il convient cependant de citer ces quelques cuvées dont le nom transporte en soi l’évocation du terroir : Baron d’Aupenac, Pépites de Schistes, Grange des Combes, Roches Noires pour les vins rouges, ou encore Terres d’Orb, Col de l’Orb pour les vins blanc et rosé.

Cave de Roquebrun

62 Av. des Orangers
34460 Roquebrun

telephone 04 67 89 64 35

French FR English EN