Plaimont: wine tourism destination


Restoration of indigenous grape varieties, emblematic cuvées of the southwest, exceptional wine tourism heritage are all reasons that make Plaimont a wine destination of choice in Occitania.


Men and the earth

Plaimont is above all the name of an alliance between winegrowers intimately linked to their wine-growing regions of the South-West. That of Saint Mont in the first place, whose vineyards crossed by the Adour and dominated by its famous monastery alone form a protected designation of origin. But also the neighboring lands of Madiran, from Pacherenc-de-Vic-Bilh and Cotes de Gascony, from which are born the other wines which make the reputation of Plaimont. If Saint-Mont is the beating heart of the collective of winegrowers, it is above all the passion for their land and the heritage beauty of the site that seals their union. Because if there is a terroir where the identity of the South-West is deployed with amplitude, it is on the one that the cooperative federates that we will find it.

The wines of Plaimont

The notoriety of the wines of Plaimont no more to do. The range is particularly demonstrative of all the typicities of the South-West when it comes close to the lands of the Landes and Jurançon. The convergence of four appellations on this terroir gives substance to all the profiles of still wines that Occitanie knows how to produce: reds and rosés, dry whites, mellow or syrupy, ring at the door of the presents. Ultimate, the vineyards of Plaimont conceal and restore endemic grape varieties that time could have wiped out. It is so with Manseng Black, member of the Tannat family which is also the grape variety of Madiran. In the vineyards, it rubs shoulders with Pinenc, a black grape with floral accents, also very old and typical of the Pyrenean foothills. The singularity of Plaimont extends even further when we learn that the miracle of the sandy soils has saved the prephylloxic vines of Sarragachies on the terroir. From these is extracted the exceptional eponymous cuvée Prephylloxera vines of which each vintage does not have more than 1500 bottles.

video logo Plaimont, its appellation wines and their grape varieties, by Justine Lesage

Guided tours of the vineyard

At the confluence of the Gers, Landes and Hautes-Pyrénées, the terroir of Plaimont has an great value forwine tourism in Occitania. The rich heritage is immediately obvious on the site of Saint Mont, dominated by the monastery formerly occupied by wine-grower monks. Apart from the architectural interest, it now houses a renowned restaurant where some of the most demonstrative wines are tasted. One of the incomparable riches of the vineyard is also the Sarragachies vine whose exceptional conservation motivated its classification atinventory of Historical Monuments. Combining built and vegetal heritage, overlapping several typical appellations of the South-West, Plaimont is a destination of choice for wine tourism in Occitania. Nowhere else does the coexistence of châteaux, grape varieties and singular terroirs meet with such consistency. A large program is thus offered with Guided Tours of the Vineyard. Apart from exploring the listed heritage, they also offer an immersion in the vineyard itself. Meetings with the winegrowers, visit of the pre-phylloxera vines, tasting or blending workshops, discovery of the grape harvest, are all opportunities on the program.

video logo Plaimont and rediscovered grape varieties, by Justine Lesage

PLAIMONT

1199 Corneillan Road
32400 Saint-Mont

phone 05 62 69 62 87

French FR English EN

Plaimont : destination œnotourisme


Restauration de cépages autochtones, cuvées emblématiques du sud-ouest, patrimoine œnotouristique d’exception sont autant de raisons qui font de Plaimont une destination viticole de choix en Occitanie.


Les hommes et la terre

Plaimont est avant tout le nom d’une alliance entre des vignerons intimement liés à leurs terroirs viticoles du Sud-Ouest. Celui de Saint-Mont en premier lieu, dont les vignobles traversés par l’Adour et dominés par son célèbre monastère forment à eux seuls une appellation d’origine protégée. Mais également les terres voisines du Madiran, du Pacherenc-de-Vic-Bilh et des Côtes de Gascogne, desquelles naissent les autres vins qui font la réputation de Plaimont. Si Saint-Mont est le cœur battant du collectif de vignerons, c’est surtout la passion de leur terre et la beauté patrimoniale du site qui scelle leur union. Car s’il est un terroir où se déploie avec amplitude l’identité du Sud-Ouest c’est sur celui que fédère la coopérative qu’on le trouvera.

Les vins de Plaimont

La notoriété des vins de Plaimont n’est plus à faire. La gamme est particulièrement démonstrative de toutes les typicités du Sud-Ouest lorsqu’il vient frôler les terres des Landes et du Jurançon. La convergence de quatre appellations sur ce terroir donne corps à tous les profils de vins tranquilles que l’Occitanie sait produire : rouges et rosés, blancs secs, moelleux ou liquoreux, sonnent à la porte des présents. Nec plus ultra, les vignobles de Plaimont recèlent et restaurent des cépages endémiques que le temps aurait pu effacer. Il en est ainsi du Manseng Noir, membre de la famille du Tannat qui est aussi le cépage du Madiran. Il côtoie sur les vignobles le Pinenc, cépage noir aux accents floraux, aussi fort ancien et typique du piémont pyrénéen. La singularité de Plaimont s’étend encore plus loin lorsqu’on apprend que le miracle des sols sablonneux a sauvegardé sur le terroir les vignes préphylloxériques de Sarragachies. De celles-ci est extraite l’exceptionnelle cuvée éponyme Vignes Préphylloxériques dont chaque millésime ne compte pas plus de 1500 bouteilles.

Visites guidées du vignoble

À la confluence du Gers, des Landes et des Hautes-Pyrénées, le terroir de Plaimont possède une grande valeur pour l’œnotourisme en Occitanie. La richesse patrimoniale s’impose d’emblée sur le site de Saint Mont que domine le monastère jadis occupé par les moines vignerons. Hormis l’intérêt architectural, il abrite aujourd’hui un restaurant de renom où se dégustent quelques-uns des vins les plus démonstratifs. L’une des richesses incomparables du vignoble est aussi la vigne de Sarragachies dont la conservation exceptionnelle a motivé son classement à l’inventaire des Monuments Historiques. Conjuguant patrimoines bâti et végétal, chevauchant plusieurs appellations typiques du Sud-Ouest, Plaimont est une destination de choix pour l’œnotourisme en Occitanie. Nulle part ailleurs ne se rencontre avec autant de cohérence la coexistence de châteaux, cépages et terroirs singuliers. Un large programme s’offre ainsi avec les Visites Guidées du Vignoble. Hormis l’exploration du patrimoine classé, elles proposent également une immersion dans le vignoble lui-même. Rencontres avec les vignerons, visite de la vigne préphylloxérique, ateliers de dégustation ou d’assemblage, découverte des vendanges, sont autant d’opportunités inscrites au programme.

Plaimont - Visites guidées du vignoble

https://www.plaimont.com/


PLAIMONTlocaliser Situer sur la carte
1199 Route de Corneillan
32400 Saint Mont

telephone 05 62 69 62 87