Sieur d'Arques

AOC Limoux


The name of Sieur d'Arques, inherited from the XNUMXthe century, recalls that Limoux is a wine-growing land deeply rooted in the history of Languedoc. Founded in 1946, the cooperative is certainly the greatest ambassador of a unique appellation in Languedoc for its still and sparkling wines.


A great land of whites

The vineyards of Sieur d'Arques extend over 1570 hectares. They are spread over the entire territory of Limoux, one of the most western appellations of Languedoc. Here, Mediterranean influences combine with oceanic influences. This unique climate is accompanied by an arrangement in the Pyrenean foothills where the vines are invited to the highest slopes of Occitania. Established in his heart, Sieur d'Arques exploits all the nuances of this wine-growing land structured in four terroirs: Mediterranean, Oceanic, Autan, Upper Valley. The dominant presence of white grape varieties is one of the major distinctions of the vineyard. Cradle of sparkling wines, the grape variety Mauzac forged its notoriety there with the famous Blanquette of Limoux. If the bubbles have been inseparable from Limoux since the XVIe century, the appellation has also revealed itself as a great terroir Chardonnay.

The stronghold of Chardonnays

In the land of Limoux, Chardonnays shape their character according to their location. The gradation of oceanic or Mediterranean influences combined with the reserves of freshness modulated by the reliefs, Limoux is an appellation particularly conducive to the nuanced expressions of this white grape variety. Drawing from the variety of geological veins, taking the mark of climatic variables, each Chardonnay takes on the signature of the terroir where it took root. In Sieur d'Arques they are appreciated under a distinctive mark: Toques and Bells. Four demonstrative cuvées are presented there in 100% Chardonnay. Each one expresses its distinct character under the literal title of its terroir of origin: Mediterranean, Oceanic, Upper valley et Autan. These cuvées of the range Toques and Bells offer a remarkable tasting experience of which only the appellation has exclusivity. Delicious challenge for the nose and the palate without equivalent to approach on the same soil all the complexities of a Chardonnay available in four expressions.

Sparkling wines

Limoux is the historic land of sparkling whites. The method is the result of a discovery which the monks ofAbbey of Saint Hilaire were the inventors in the XVIe century. Apart from the ancestral method which makes Blanquette of Limoux a protected designation of origin in itself, the Limoux Cremants are also in the game. In Sieur d'Arques they are even the object of an exemplary know-how which places them among the best vintages of their kind. The most expressive of the mastery of winegrowers, in its artistic visual as well as in its elaboration, is the First Premium Bubble. Composed of 70% Chardonnay, 20% Chenin and 10% Mauzac, then aged for 24 months in the cellar, it is par excellence an ambassador of the rules of the art perpetuated by Sieur d'Arques. From the same family, but pushed to the maximum of its expression by 48 months of aging, a Crémant de Limoux Extra Brut. The juices extracted from old vines selected on each of the four terroirs give it a freshness and liveliness that is fully demonstrative of this exceptional land.

Sieur d'Arques

Mauzac Avenue
11300 Limoux

phone 04 68 74 63 00

French FR English EN

Sieur d’Arques

AOC Limoux


Le nom de Sieur d’Arques, hérité du XIIIe siècle, rappelle que Limoux est une terre viticole profondément enracinée dans l’Histoire du Languedoc. Fondée en 1946, la coopérative est certainement le plus grand ambassadeur d’une appellation unique en Languedoc pour ses vins tranquilles et effervescents.


Une grande terre de blancs

Les vignobles de Sieur d’Arques s’étendent sur 1570 hectares. Ils se répartissent sur l’ensemble du territoire de Limoux, l’une des appellations les plus occidentales du Languedoc. À cet endroit les influences méditerranéennes épousent les influences océaniques. Ce climat singulier s’accompagne d’une disposition en piémont pyrénéen où la vigne s’invite jusque sur les plus hauts coteaux d’Occitanie. Établi en son cœur, Sieur d’Arques exploite toutes les nuances de cette terre viticole structurée en quatre terroirs : Méditerranéen, Océanique, Autan, Haute Vallée. La présence dominante des cépages blancs est l’une des distinctions majeures du vignoble. Berceau des vins effervescents, le cépage Mauzac y a forgé sa notoriété avec la fameuse Blanquette de Limoux. Si les bulles sont indissociables de Limoux depuis le XVIe siècle, l’appellation s’est aussi révélée comme un grand terroir à Chardonnay.

Le fief des Chardonnays

Sur la terre de Limoux, les Chardonnays façonnent leur caractère selon leur implantation. La gradation des influences océanique ou méditerranéenne se conjuguant avec les réserves de fraîcheurs que modulent les reliefs, Limoux est une appellation particulièrement propice aux expressions nuancées de ce cépage blanc. Puisant dans la variété des veines géologiques, prenant la marque des variables climatiques, chaque Chardonnay revêt la signature du terroir où il a pris racine. Chez Sieur d’Arques ils s’apprécient sous une marque distinctive : Toques et Clochers. Quatre cuvées démonstratives s’y présentent en 100% Chardonnay. Chacune exprime son caractère distinct sous l’intitulé littéral de son terroir d’origine : Méditerranéen, Océanique, Haute Vallée et Autan. Ces cuvées de la gamme Toques et Clochers offrent une remarquable expérience de dégustation dont seule l’appellation a l’exclusivité. Délicieux défi pour le nez et le palais sans équivalent pour approcher sur un même terroir toutes les complexités d’un Chardonnay décliné en quatre expressions.

Les vins effervescents

Limoux est la terre historique des blancs effervescents. La méthode est le fruit d’une découverte dont les moines de l’Abbaye de Saint Hilaire furent les inventeurs au XVIe siècle. Hormis la méthode ancestrale qui fait de la Blanquette de Limoux une appellation d’origine protégée à elle seule, les Crémants de Limoux sont aussi de la partie. Chez Sieur d’Arques ils font même l’objet d’un savoir-faire exemplaire qui les place au rang des meilleures cuvées du genre. La plus expressive de la maîtrise des vignerons, dans son visuel artistique comme dans son élaboration, est la Première Bulle Premium. Composée en 70% Chardonnay, 20% Chenin et 10% Mauzac, puis vieillie 24 mois en cave, elle est par excellence une ambassadrice des règles de l’art perpétuées par Sieur d’Arques. De la même famille, mais poussé au maximum de son expression par 48 mois d’élevage, s’impose un Crémant de Limoux Extra Brut. Les jus extraits de vieilles vignes sélectionnées sur chacun des quatre terroirs lui confèrent une fraîcheur et une vivacité pleinement démonstratives de cette terre d’exception.

Sieur d'Arques - Chardonnay

Sieur d’Arques
Avenue du Mauzac
11300 Limoux

telephone 04 68 74 63 00