Chateau Maris

Wines of MinervoisMinervois La Liviniere

Chateau Maris - Certifications


Fruit of the collaboration that unites Robert eden et Kevin Parker, Chateau Maris located in Minervois La Liviniere is one of the pioneering areas of biodynamics in Languedoc. The wines produced by the estate are distinguished by the authenticity and veracity of their profiles.


The choice of ethics

When Robert eden et Kevin Parker acquired Chateau Maris in 1997, they had only one motivation: to produce highly qualitative wines in Minervois La Liviniere. United by a common ethic, they oriented themselves first of all towards a sustainable environmental approach. Their priority was to restore the natural fertility of the land. To this end, they adopted the principles of organic and then biodynamic viticulture. Pioneers in this field, they soon noticed that biodiversity was regaining strength in the soil. The benefit was just as evident in the vines, which gradually regained their natural robustness. The gain in vitality very quickly had an impact on the quality of the grapes. Today, it guarantees the ethics and authenticity of the wines produced by Chateau Maris.

The truth of the land

The vineyard of Chateau Maris extends over 32 hectares distributed in small plots. Interspersed with natural areas, they follow the well-exposed hillsides on which the village of La Liviniere. The vineyard is managed according to a set of certifications which frame the environmental commitment: Bio since 2002, Biodyvin from 2004, Demeter and in 2008 Bbody since 2016. The example has also focused on the cellar next to a former Visigothic chapel. With an innovative envelope made of thick hemp walls, covered with a green roof that blends into the landscape, the building was built according to the most demanding energy and environmental standards of the moment. The major benefit of the approach is to have restored to the terroir its ancestral integrity. It translates into full authenticity of expression in the wine. Because the soils restored to their natural vitality give the vines and especially the grapes the qualities and aromatic potential expected from the most demanding of winegrowers.

The veracity of the wines

The wines of Chateau Maris raise a major stake: to make the vintages of the domain a translation as faithful as possible of the expressive palettes of the vineyard. The exceptional terroir of the cru Minervois La Liviniere is thus served by a care of the vines and a respect for the soils which restore its deep authenticity. Each wine adopts a unique signature whose intensity matches the imperative of sincerity. Among the reds, Syrah and Grenache find their optimal expression with the cuvées Las Combes, worked in spontaneity, or La Touge, matured into complexities. The elegant Syrah from a 3 hectare plot occupies the entire scene with The Planels which reconciles aging in vats and maturation in oak barrels. With the cuvée zulu, Grenache comes to convene alliance with Syrah. On the white register, roar opens a chapter on Grenache gris. All in freshness and aromatic tensions, this cuvée grows in complexity by frequenting the oak barrel for 10 months then relayed by 6 months of ovoid tank. Always summoning the Grenache gris and red, the rosés Blushing Nymph et Nymph Rose complete the captivating and virtuous expression of Château Maris wines.

Minervois la Livinière

Considered one of the premier crus of Occitanie, the Minervois la Livinière appellation is a land of highly qualitative wines.

French FR English EN

Château Maris

Vins du MinervoisMinervois La Livinière

Château Maris - Certifications


Fruit de la collaboration qui unit Robert Eden et Kevin Parker, Château Maris situé en Minervois La Livinière compte parmi les domaines du Languedoc pionniers de la biodynamique. Les vins produits par le domaine se distinguent par l’authenticité et la véracité de leurs profils.


Le choix de l’éthique

Lorsque Robert Eden et Kevin Parker firent l’acquisition de Château Maris en 1997, ils n’avaient qu’une seule motivation : produire des vins hautement qualitatifs en Minervois La Livinière. Réunis par une éthique commune, ils s’orientèrent en premier lieu vers une démarche environnementale durable. Leur priorité consista à restaurer la fertilité naturelle du terroir. Ils adoptèrent à cet effet les principes de la viticulture biologique puis biodynamique. Pionniers en la matière, ils ne tardèrent pas à constater que la biodiversité reprenait vigueur dans les sols. Le bénéfice se vérifia tout autant dans la vigne qui reprit progressivement une robustesse naturelle. Le gain de vitalité eut très rapidement une incidence sur la qualité du raisin. Elle est aujourd’hui garante de l’éthique et de l’authenticité des vins produits par Château Maris.

La vérité du terroir

Le vignoble de Château Maris s’étend sur 32 hectares distribués en petites parcelles. Entrecoupées de zones naturelles, elles épousent les coteaux bien exposés sur lesquels est enchâssé le village de La Livinière. Le vignoble est conduit selon un ensemble de certifications qui encadrent l’engagement environnemental : Bio dès 2002, Biodyvin à dater de 2004, Demeter en 2008 et BCorps depuis 2016. L’exemplarité s’est également portée sur le chai qui côtoie une ancienne chapelle wisigothique. Doté d’une enveloppe innovante constituée d’épais murs de chanvre, recouvert d’un toit végétalisé qui se fond dans le paysage, le bâtiment a été construit selon les normes énergétiques et environnementales les plus exigeantes du moment. Le bénéfice majeur de la démarche est d’avoir restitué au terroir son intégrité ancestrale. Elle se traduit par une pleine authenticité d’expression dans le vin. Car les sols rendus à leur vitalité naturelle confèrent à la vigne et surtout au raisin les qualités et les potentiels aromatiques attendus des plus exigeants des vignerons.

La véracité des vins

Les vins de Château Maris relèvent un enjeu majeur : faire des cuvées du domaine une traduction la plus fidèle possible des palettes expressives du vignoble. Le terroir exceptionnel du cru Minervois La Livinière se trouve ainsi servi par un soin de la vigne et un respect des sols qui restaurent sa profonde authenticité. Chaque vin adopte une signature singulière dont l’intensité s’accorde avec l’impératif de sincérité. Parmi les rouges, Syrah et Grenache trouvent leur expression optimale avec les cuvées Las Combes, travaillée tout en spontanéité, ou La Touge, mûrie en complexités. L’élégante Syrah issue d’une parcelle de 3 hectares occupe la scène entière avec Les Planels qui concilie élevage en cuve et maturation en fût de chêne. Avec la cuvée Zulu, le Grenache vient convoquer alliance avec la Syrah. Sur le registre des blancs, Brama ouvre un chapitre sur le Grenache gris. Tout en fraîcheur et tensions aromatiques, cette cuvée grandit en complexité en fréquentant le fût de chêne durant 10 mois ensuite relayé par 6 mois de cuve ovoïde. Convoquant toujours les Grenache gris et rouge, les rosés Blushing Nymphe et Rose de Nymphe viennent compléter l’expression envoutante et vertueuse des vins de Château Maris.

Robert Eden et Kevin Parker - Château Maris

Château Maris
34210 La Livinière

telephone 04 68 91 42 63