Château Bouscassé and Château Montus

Madiran winesPacherenc du Vic-BilhCôtes de Gascogne winesHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)

Before being the names of great domains, Chateau Bouscassé et Chateau Montus are the work of one man: Alain Brumont. Certainly one of the most creative winegrowers in Occitanie, Alain Brumont is also the ambassador of a very great wine to which he has conferred all its nobility: the Madiran.


The lesson of the great oaks

Understand the Madiran supposes to know its soil. First of all its oak forests which cover a landscape of hills located in the foothills of the Pyrenees. At this crossroads where Occitania meets New Aquitaine, the ocean itself is not very far and cradles the tall branches of the trees with its winds. It is at this school thatAlain Brumont was formed: an attentive student of his native land when he was a child, he learned all the lessons for a lifetime. He learned from the great oaks that nature is autonomous, that the soil is nourished by natural cycles where flora and fauna work together. The climate, the humus of the soil, the natural environment of the land, the composition of the earth inherited from geological work: everything converged to understand that the Madiran would be a land of great wines. All that was needed was to apply the lesson learned from the great oaks to the vine.

Chateau Bouscassé

The story begins in the heart of the birthplace where now sits this first temple of Madiran what is the Chateau Bouscassé. You had to be a man of conviction, strong in the message learned from the masters of nature, to open such a project. Because it was necessary to dig the ground, to resort to the architect to create the first cellar where the best ripened in their oak cradles. Madiran wines. Human conviction, righteousness and sincerity made everything possible. And the magic worked through the virtues of an exceptional local grape variety: the Tannat. Formerly this grape gave a wine of astringent character intended for local consumption and to enrich Bordeaux wines. IntelligenceAlain Brumont was to tame this grape variety with strong temperament by the fine knowledge of its soil and the watchmaking mastery of its wine making. The success was immediate: his first Tannat immediately conquered the planet of wines. Since then, success has never wavered: at the renowned wine school Alain Brumont has always played in the court of great creators.

Chateau Montus

In 1982 : Alain Brumont acquired the Chateau Montus, monument left in the state of abandonment. His in-depth knowledge of the local terroir allowed him to anticipate the potential for the domain to revive. Because with the castle he acquired the highest vines of Madiran, including the exceptional plot of The Tire. Stone after stone Chateau Montus was restored to become today the prestigious brand of signed wines Alain Brumont. Protected by oak forests, in a silence equal to that of cathedrals, the greatest Madiran ripen there. In this almost confidential place, the wines of Montus, as well as the prestigious The Tire or the very rare XL. In the peaceful atmosphere of the cellars where the aromas of the winemaking are already a sublimation, two simple slogans affixed on panels summarize the magic of Alain Brumont wines: " Red speaks to you "," White speaks to you ". Because the great winegrower of Madiran is above all a man of his word who knew how to keep his promise: that of making people speak Madiran one of the biggest Occitanie wines.

learn more Vignobles Brumont - Primeurs 2017

 

vine separator

Laurence Brumont and Château Segondine

Laurence and Alain Brumont

With every great creator there is often a woman. Alongside Alain Brumont it is Laurence Brumont, his wife, who is at work. She now takes care of the administration of the domains and takes care of communication. Alain Brumont wines are first and foremost a philosophy she will tell you. It is enough to be invited to the table of the couple to seize all the significance of it. In the dining room of Chateau Bouscassé all employees are there at every meal. It shares local products of which the Brumont spouses are fervent ambassadors: black pork from Bigorre, black hen from Gascony, lamb from Barèges, caviar from Riscle are all gastronomic pearls that sublimate the Madiran high on all areas of the couple. Because the Alain Brumont vintages are now added to those of Château Segondine, which Laurence Brumont received as a gift from Alain Brumont. She takes a full part in the definition of new wines, inspired by this new terroir which combines tannat et cabernet franc.

Château Montus and Château Bouscassé

Brumont vineyards
32400 Maumusson-Laguian

French FR English EN

Château Bouscassé et Château Montus

Pacherenc du Vic-BilhVins des Côtes de GascogneVins de Madiran


Avant d’être les noms de grands domaines, Château Bouscassé et Château Montus sont l’œuvre d’un seul homme : Alain Brumont. Certainement l’un des vignerons les plus créatifs d’Occitanie, Alain Brumont est aussi l’ambassadeur d’un très grand vin auquel il a conféré toute sa noblesse : le Madiran.


La leçon des grands chênes

Comprendre le Madiran suppose de connaître son terroir. D’abord ses forêts de chênes qui couvrent un paysage de collines situé au piémont des Pyrénées. À ce carrefour où l’Occitanie rencontre l’Aquitaine, l’océan lui-même n’est pas très loin et berce de ses vents les hautes ramures des arbres. C’est à cette école qu’Alain Brumont s’est formé : élève attentif de sa terre natale lorsqu’il était enfant, il en a tiré toutes les leçons pour une vie. Il apprit des grands chênes que la nature est autonome, que le sol se nourrit des cycles naturels où faune et flore œuvrent de concert. Le climat, l’humus des sols, l’environnement naturel du terroir, la composition de la terre héritée du travail géologique : tout convergea pour comprendre que le Madiran serait une terre de grands vins. Il suffisait pour cela d’appliquer à la vigne la leçon apprise des grands chênes.

Château Bouscassé

L’histoire commence au cœur de la maison natale où siège désormais ce premier temple du Madiran qu’est le Château Bouscassé. Il fallait être homme de conviction, fort du message appris des maîtres de la nature, pour ouvrir pareil chantier. Car il a fallu creuser le sol, recourir à l’architecte pour créer le premier chais où mûrissent dans leurs berceaux de chêne les meilleurs vins du Madiran. Conviction, droiture et sincérité de l’homme ont rendu tout possible. Et la magie œuvra par les vertus d’un cépage local d’exception : le Tannat. Jadis ce raisin donnait un vin de caractère astringent destiné à la consommation locale et à l’enrichissement des Bordeaux. L’intelligence d’Alain Brumont fut de dompter ce cépage à fort tempérament par la connaissance fine de son terroir et la maîtrise horlogère de sa vinification. Le succès fut immédiat : son premier Tannat conquit aussitôt la planète des vins. Depuis le succès ne s’est plus jamais démenti : à l’école des vins renommés Alain Brumont a toujours joué dans la cour des grands créateurs.

Château Montus

En 1982 Alain Brumont fit l’acquisition du Château Montus, monument historique laissé à l’état d’abandon. Sa connaissance fine du terroir local lui permit d’anticiper sur le potentiel de résurrection du domaine. Car avec le château il faisait l’acquisition des plus hautes vignes du Madiran, dont l’exceptionnelle parcelle de La Tyre. Pierre après pierre Château Montus fut restauré pour devenir aujourd’hui la marque de prestige des vins signés Alain Brumont. Protégés par les forêts de chênes, dans un silence égal à celui des cathédrales, les plus grands Madiran mûrissent là. Dans ce lieu quasi confidentiel sont élevées en barriques ou en grands foudres de chêne les cuvées Montus, ainsi que la prestigieuse La Tyre ou la très rare XL. Dans l’atmosphère paisible des chais où les arômes de la vinification sont déjà une sublimation, deux simples slogans apposés sur panneau résument la magie des vins Alain Brumont : « Le Rouge vous parle », « Le Blanc vous parle ». Car le grand vigneron du Madiran est avant tout un homme de parole qui a su tenir sa promesse : celle de faire parler en Madiran l’un des plus grands vins d’Occitanie.

en savoir + Vignobles Brumont – Primeurs 2017

separateur vigne

Laurence Brumont et Château Segondine

Laurence et Alain Brumont

Auprès de tout grand créateur se trouve souvent une femme. Aux côtés d’Alain Brumont c’est Laurence Brumont, son épouse, qui est à l’œuvre. Elle assure désormais l’administration des domaines et veille avec soin à la communication. Les vins Alain Brumont c’est d’abord une philosophie vous dira-t-elle. Il suffit d’être convié à la table du couple pour en saisir toute la portée. Dans la salle à manger du Château Bouscassé tous les collaborateurs sont là, à chaque repas. Il s’y partage les produits du terroir local dont les époux Brumont sont les fervents ambassadeurs : porc noir de Bigorre, poule noire de Gascogne, agneau de Barèges, caviar de Riscle sont autant de perles gastronomiques que subliment les Madiran élevés sur l’ensemble des domaines du couple. Car aux cuvées Alain Brumont se rajoutent désormais celles du Château Segondine, que Laurence Brumont a reçu en cadeau d’Alain Brumont. Elle y prend part entière à la définition de nouveaux vins, inspirée par ce nouveau terroir qui marie tannat et cabernet franc.

en savoir + Les Vins de Madiran


Vignobles Brumontlocaliser Situer sur la carte
Château Bouscassé
32400 Maumusson-Laguian

telephone 05 62 69 74 67