Chateau Plaisance

Wines of FrontonOrganic wines


If in the vineyard Fronton the reputation of wines from Chateau Plaisance is no longer to be done, the virtuous stance adopted by Marc Penavayre for the cultivation of its vines deserves our attention.


A genetic heritage

Chateau Plaisance is located in the heart of Vacquiers, a small village near Toulouse which is also the highest point of the vineyard Fronton. The estate has been operated for several generations, first in mixed farming and then in exclusive viticulture from 1971. A name is inseparable from it: that of Penavayre, with Louis first, then Marc today and Thibaut tomorrow. Certified organic since 2008, the operation has also been inspired by the principles of biodynamics. The vinifications are concentrated on the production of natural wines well anchored in the full expression of the terroir and its specific grape variety: the Négrette. The estate is in itself a conservatory: the “La Bosse” plot today brings together 42 different varieties. This heritage makes it an exceptional genetic reserve where all the wine interest of thedesignation Fronton.

Natural wines

Wine is first and foremost the vine. What Marc Penavayre promotes in the first rank, it is its soil. Because Vacquiers, a former medieval fort, is established on a natural hill overlooking the valleys of the Tarn and the Garonne. On the flanks of this natural relief are spread the 26 hectares of vines of Chateau Plaisance. The soils from which they draw their sap are made of rolled pebbles, boulbènes and red mullet that prehistoric Tarn deposited in time immemorial. This is an ancestral land that calls for care and respect for its geological wealth. Keeping it alive, restoring it fully to its biodiversity is the tireless task of Marc Penavayre. From this unique soil, preserved in the highest expression of its resources, the winegrower extracts natural wines which are certainly the most fascinating of the appellation. Because the preservation of indigenous grape varieties often redoubles the search for authentic wines.

Rare cuvées

À Chateau Plaisance the Négrette leads the way and dresses in the most expressive names of the land. In L'alabets it is delivered in all kinds, while with Tot Cò Que Cal - Everything that's necessary - it is accompanied by a ripening of two winters in lightning. With Thibaut - the vintage of Pitchou - it is structured on the one hand with Syrah and an aging of two winters in barrels. But as the reputation of the wines of Château Plaisance is well established, it is on the rare vintages of the domain that it is good to concentrate. We find a Negret Pounjut, endemic and almost forgotten grape variety of Fronton, giving a light and very fruity wine. There is a wine with typical bitterness and length, the Makes Its Juice, taken from old black Jurançon goblets. Among the sweet, outside the appellation, a 100% Sémillon rubs shoulders with a bewitching 100% Hamburg Muscat, whose rosé radiance announces the aromatic breadth. And to conclude the table on the fruit and the sweet vivacity, comes the serapies, a 100% Négrette mutated on grain. If the offer seems as voluble as it is dazzling, it can be summed up in a single truth: that of meeting the wine, the real wine from the terroir of Fronton.

The wines of Fronton

The vineyard of Fronton derives its specificity
of an indigenous grape variety: Négrette.

French FR English EN

Château Plaisance


Si dans le vignoble de Fronton la réputation des vins de Château Plaisance n’est plus à faire, le parti-pris vertueux adopté par Marc Penavayre pour la culture de ses vignes mérite qu’on y insiste.


Un patrimoine génétique

Château Plaisance se trouve au cœur de Vacquiers, petit village proche de Toulouse qui est aussi le point culminant du vignoble de Fronton. Le domaine est exploité depuis plusieurs générations, d’abord en polyculture puis en viticulture exclusive à partir de 1971. Un nom lui est indissociable : celui des Penavayre, avec Louis d’abord, puis Marc aujourd’hui et Thibaut demain. Certifié bio depuis 2008, l’exploitation s’inspire également des principes de la biodynamie. Les vinifications sont concentrées sur la production de vins naturels bien ancrés dans la pleine expression du terroir et de son cépage spécifique : la Négrette. Le domaine est en lui-même un conservatoire : la parcelle « La Bosse » en réunit aujourd’hui 42 variétés différentes. Ce patrimoine en fait une réserve génétique d’exception où pourrait se remodeler tout l’intérêt viticole de l’appellation Fronton.

Des vins naturels

Le vin c’est d’abord la vigne. Ce que Marc Penavayre promeut en premier rang, c’est son terroir. Car Vacquiers, ancien fort médiéval, est établi sur une butte naturelle qui domine les vallées du Tarn et de la Garonne. Sur les flancs de ce relief naturel se répartissent les 26 hectares de vignes de Château Plaisance. Les sols où elles puisent leur sève sont faits de galets roulés, de boulbènes et de rougets que le Tarn préhistorique déposa en des temps immémoriaux. Il s’agit là d’une terre ancestrale qui appelle au soin et au respect de sa richesse géologique. La garder vivante, la restaurer pleinement dans sa biodiversité est la tâche inlassable de Marc Penavayre. De ce sol unique, préservé dans la plus haute expression de ses ressources, le vigneron extrait des vins naturels qui sont certainement les plus passionnants de l’appellation. Car la préservation des cépages autochtones redouble souvent la recherche de vins authentiques.

Des cuvées rares

À Château Plaisance la Négrette mène la danse et s’habille des noms les plus expressifs du terroir. Dans l’Alabets elle se livre en toute nature, tandis qu’avec Tot Çò Que CalTout Ce Qu’il Faut – elle s’accompagne d’un mûrissement de deux hivers en foudre. Avec Thibautla cuvée du Pitchou – elle se structure d’une part de Syrah et d’un élevage de deux hivers en barriques. Mais comme la réputation des vins de Château Plaisance n’est plus à faire, c’est sur les cuvées rares du domaine qu’il fait bon se concentrer. On y débusque un Negret Pounjut, cépage endémique et presque oublié de Fronton, donnant un vin léger et bien fruité. On y relève un vin aux amertumes et longueur typiques, le Rend Son Jus, tiré de vieux gobelets de Jurançon noir. Parmi les doux, hors appellation, un 100% Sémillon côtoie un envoutant 100% Muscat de Hambourg, dont l’éclat rosé annonce l’ampleur aromatique. Et pour conclure le tableau sur le fruit et la vivacité liquoreuse, vient le Serapias, un 100% Négrette muté sur grain. Si l’offre semble aussi volubile qu’éclatante, elle se résume en une seule vérité : celle de rencontrer le vin, le vrai vin du terroir de Fronton.

en savoir + Les Vins de Fronton


Château Plaisancelocaliser Situer sur la carte
Place de la Mairie
31340 Vacquiers

telephone 05 61 84 97 41