Chateau Lastours

Gaillac wineschateau logo


In the Gaillac vineyard, Chateau Lastours covers fifty-five hectares of vines, fifty of which are in full production. Honoring the traditions of the Gaillac terroir, the estate has produced the range of wines typical of the appellation for several generations.


A historic estate

Chateau Lastours is a house of great tradition. The estate is located near an old royal road which linked Bordeaux to Montpellier. A large avenue of plane trees lined with vines traces a rectilinear perspective at the end of which rises the facade of the castle. A wing which extends it and encloses the courtyard forms the recently enlarged cellar. Heritage has been passed down from generation to generation within the family by Faramond. The oldest archives attest to the existence of the property from the XVIe century. Today it's Louis de Faramond which manages the domain. Carried by his beautiful youth, he devotes himself to it with heart and friendliness. Meeting him leads to rub shoulders with the simplicity and elegance of these great families whose most lasting heritage is the love of the vines and the nature that serves them.

Balanced vinification

À Chateau Lastours, the grape variety combines with the typical strains of the region of Gaillac other noble grape varieties whose establishment has been established throughout history. Bordering one of the royal roads which connects the ocean to the Mediterranean, it was not uncommon for vines to be brought here from Languedoc as from Bordeaux. Nothing surprising to see Syrah et Merlot actively coexist on the estate and contribute to the balance of the wines produced there. The exploitation of the vineyard uses reasoned viticulture. Winemaking itself applies to preserving the natural qualities of the grape by intervening only in a reasonable way. The harvests, in particular those dedicated to white wines, are carried out overnight in order to preserve the maximum natural freshness in the fruit. The subsequent control of the temperatures in the vat, the aging of certain vintages in barrels which reconcile new wood and older wood, contribute to the full and respectful expression of the juices.

Between nobility and tradition

With the exception of early wines, Chateau Lastours produces red wines, white wines, rosé wines, as well as a pearl Gaillac and a sparkling wine using the ancestral method. Blending is required in the house and strives to produce vinifications that seek a coherent balance, well inscribed in the spirit of theGaillac appellation. Among the white wines, the cuvée Gravels distinguished at the Concours Général Agricole 2017 and 2018 combines Loin de l'Œil, Sauvignon, Muscadelle, Sémillon and Mauzac. The Red wine tradition 2015 brings together in an aromatic concert the virtues of Syrah and Braucol allied to the qualities of Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. A delicious rosé wine Gravels, well marked by the radiance of red fruits and English candy, makes Duras and Syrah sing in duet. From barrel aging, red wine 2014 selection lets express itself in discreet tannins and ample mouth the quartet of Braucol, Merlot, Syrah and Duras. In a historic house, we must express the great tradition of Gaillac. Chateau Lastours attaches itself perfectly to it, with the natural elegance and conviviality that Louis de Faramond knows how to bring him.

The wines of Château Lastours, by Louis de Faramond

Prev 1 of 1 NEXT
Prev 1 of 1 NEXT

learn more The dry whites of Château Lastours

Chateau Lastours

81310 Lisle-sur-Tarn

phone +33 5 63 57 07 09

French FR English EN

Château Lastours


Dans le vignoble de Gaillac, Château Lastours s’étend sur cinquante-cinq hectares de vignes, dont cinquante en pleine production. Faisant honneur aux traditions de l’AOC, le domaine produit depuis plusieurs générations la gamme des vins typiques de l’appellation.


Un domaine historique

Château Lastours est une demeure de grande tradition. Le domaine se situe près d’une ancienne route royale qui reliait Bordeaux à Montpellier. Une grande allée de platanes bordée de vignes trace une perspective rectiligne au bout de laquelle s’élève la façade du château. Une aile qui le prolonge et enserre la cour forme le chai encore agrandi récemment. Le lieu s’est transmis de génération en génération au sein de la famille de Faramond. Les archives les plus anciennes attestent de l’existence de la propriété dès le XVIe siècle. Aujourd’hui, c’est Louis de Faramond qui assure la gestion du domaine. Porté par sa belle jeunesse il s’y consacre avec cœur et convivialité. Le rencontrer conduit à côtoyer la simplicité et l’élégance de ces grandes familles dont le patrimoine le plus pérenne est l’amour des vignes et de la nature qui les sert.

Une vinification vertueuse

À Château Lastours, l’encépagement allie aux souches typiques de la région de Gaillac d’autres espèces nobles dont l’implantation s’est établie au fil de l’histoire. Bordant l’une des voies royales qui relie l’Océan à la Méditerranée, il ne fut pas rare que des pieds de vigne fussent acheminés ici depuis le Languedoc comme depuis le Bordelais. Rien d’étonnant à voir Syrah et Merlot cohabiter activement sur le domaine et contribuer à l’équilibre des vins qui y sont produits. L’exploitation du vignoble recourt à une viticulture raisonnée. La vinification elle-même s’applique à préserver les qualités naturelles du raisin en n’intervenant que de manière raisonnable. Les vendanges, en particulier celles des blancs, sont réalisées durant la nuit afin de préserver dans le fruit le maximum de fraîcheur naturelle. Le contrôle ultérieur des températures en cuve, l’élevage de certaines cuvées en fûts qui concilient bois neufs et bois plus âgés, contribuent à l’expression pleine et respectueuse des jus.

Entre noblesse et tradition

À l’exception des vins primeurs, Château Lastours signe des vins tranquilles en rouge, blanc ou rosé, ainsi qu’un Gaillac perlé et une méthode ancestrale. L’assemblage est de rigueur dans la maison et s’attache à produire des vinifications qui cherchent un équilibre cohérent, bien inscrit dans l’AOC. En blanc, la cuvée Les Graviers distinguée au Concours Général Agricole 2017 et 2018 marie Loin de l’Œil, Sauvignon, Muscadelle, Sémillon et Mauzac. Le rouge Tradition 2015 convoque en concert aromatique les vertus de la Syrah et du Braucol alliés aux qualités du Merlot et du Cabernet Sauvignon. Un délicieux rosé Les Graviers, bien marqué par l’éclat des fruits rouges et du bonbon anglais, fait chanter en duo Duras et Syrah. Issu d’un élevage en fût, le rouge Sélection 2014 laisse s’exprimer en tanins discrets et bouche ample le quatuor des Braucol, Merlot, Syrah et Duras. Dans une maison historique, on se doit d’exprimer la grande tradition du Gaillac. Château Lastours s’y attache parfaitement, avec l’élégance et la convivialité naturelles que Louis de Faramond sait lui apporter.

Louis de Faramond - Château Lastours
Louis de Faramond – Château Lastours – Vignoble de Gaillac

logo chateau www.chateau-lastours.com/


Château Lastourslocaliser Situer sur la carte
81310 Lisle-sur-Tarn, France

telephone +33 (0)5 63 57 07 09


visiter les Vignobles d'Occitanie