Cassagnoles area

Côtes de Gascogne winesArmagnacGascogne floccuspacerHigh Environmental Value (French Environmental Label)


Operating 60 hectares of vines under the High Environmental Value label, the Domaine des Cassagnoles was a pioneer of Côtes de Gascogne varietal wines and continues the traditional production of Armagnac and Floc de Gascogne.


Freshness and sincerity

In Côtes de Gascogne and Armagnac, the estates often draw their roots from family tradition. It is so at Cassagnoles area, where since 2010 Laure Baumann watches over the destiny of the vineyard. The torch was passed down to him by his father, Gilles Baumann, and his mother, Janine Cardeillac Baumann. Because his parents had ensured since 1974 the management of an area that was already exploited by previous generations. At that time, the production of Armagnac absorbed most of the wine production. Two years will mark the commitment to diversification: 1978 saw the birth of the first Gascogne floccu followed in 1980 by the first vinification of a 100% Colombard. With the advent of a single-varietal cuvée, innovative for the time, the style of Cassagnoles area settles down. It will therefore be a question of making sing with freshness and sincerity the emblematic grape varieties of the Gascony terroir.

Terroir and grape varieties

The vineyard Cassagnoles area runs on the surrounding hillsides. On this well-exposed terroir, Laure Baumann's first enterprise was to restructure and rejuvenate the vines. Determinants of the identity of the terroir, Gros Manseng and Colombard were established predominantly for the whites, accompanied by Ugni blanc, Sauvignon or Chardonnay. On the red side, with a more discreet vocation, Tannat is very present, supported by Merlot and Cabernet Sauvignon. From this palette emerges a bias: at Cassagnoles area the assembly principle is meant to be moderate. The full expression of each grape is indeed the foreground. A reason and a history govern this: the estate remains a precursor of single-varietal wines in Côtes de Gascogne. The tone is thus set: honor to the terroir and its ability to produce wines with full fruit.

Bouquet of flavors

Au Cassagnoles area the tasting cellar is traversed like an album. Each wine illustrates a page just as each Armagnac recounts its memory. Chardonnay et Gros Manseng open the white chapter first. The pleasure then thickens with a Burst of Sauvignon facing a Shard of Colombard. Each one makes a grape variety, a terroir, a season sparkle. The white chapter would be incomplete without the Sweetness of Autumn, where Gros Manseng and Ugni Blanc distill their aromatic sweetness. In the land of Gascony, the reds know how to counterpoint the bouquets of the whites. TheShard of Tannat, well structured, first slips in a rosé robe into the grape variety. Then he comes to spice up the story by taking the character of a Tannat Reserve that a neighbor Merlot in beautiful deep red dress. Elegance is the order of the day in each cuvée, with a touch of feminine attention that the assembly of Armagnac comes to support their deep and amber characters. Children of the Ténarèze, they express a pleasant and complex fruit which also suits Flocs of Gascony of the House. The rest of the story honors other delicacies such as Orange cassagnoles, a voluptuous citrus liqueur. It finally ends in delicacies, with refreshed fruit and candied with flavors of Armagnac, of which Laure Baumann has all the secret.

Côtes de Gascogne wines

The Côtes de Gascogne vineyard, typical of the Gers and the “wines of the South-West”, is also inseparable from the land of Armagnac.

French FR English EN

Domaine des Cassagnoles

Vins des Côtes de GascogneArmagnacFloc de GascognespacerHaute Valeur Environnementale


Exploitant 60 hectares de vignes sous le label Haute Valeur Environnementale, le Domaine des Cassagnoles a été un précurseur des vins de cépages en Côtes de Gascogne et perpétue la production traditionnelle d’Armagnac et Floc de Gascogne.


Fraîcheur et sincérité

En Côtes de Gascogne et Armagnac, les domaines puisent souvent racine dans la tradition familiale. Il en est ainsi au Domaine des Cassagnoles, où depuis 2010 Laure Baumann veille à la destinée du vignoble. Le flambeau lui a été transmis par son père, Gilles Baumann, et sa mère, Janine Cardeillac Baumann. Car ses parents assuraient depuis 1974 la conduite d’un domaine qu’exploitaient déjà les générations antérieures. À cette époque, la production d’Armagnac absorbait l’essentiel de la production viticole. Deux années vont marquer l’engagement dans la diversification : 1978 voit naître le premier Floc de Gascogne suivi en 1980 par la première vinification d’un 100 % Colombard. Avec l’avènement d’une cuvée monocépage, innovante pour l’époque, le style du Domaine des Cassagnoles s’établit. Il s’agira dès lors de faire chanter avec fraîcheur et sincérité les cépages emblématiques du terroir de Gascogne.

Terroir et cépages

Le vignoble du Domaine des Cassagnoles court sur les coteaux environnants. Sur ce terroir bien exposé, la première entreprise de Laure Baumann fut de restructurer et rajeunir les vignes. Déterminants de l’identité du terroir, Gros Manseng et Colombard furent établis en dominante pour les blancs, accompagnés par l’Ugni blanc, le Sauvignon ou le Chardonnay. Côté rouge, à vocation plus discrète, le Tannat est bien présent, épaulé par le Merlot et le Cabernet Sauvignon. De cette palette se dégage un parti-pris : au Domaine des Cassagnoles le principe d’assemblage se veut modéré. La pleine expression de chaque cépage tient en effet le premier plan. Une raison et une histoire président à cela : le Domaine des Cassagnoles reste un précurseur des vins de monocépage en Côtes de Gascogne. Le ton est ainsi donné : honneur au terroir et à son aptitude à produire des vins de plein fruit.

Bouquet de saveurs

Au Domaine des Cassagnoles le caveau de dégustation se parcourt comme un album. Chaque vin en illustre une page tout comme chaque Armagnac en conte la mémoire. Chardonnay et Gros Manseng ouvrent en premier le chapitre des blancs. Le plaisir se corse ensuite avec un Éclat de Sauvignon faisant vis-à-vis à un Éclat de Colombard. Chacun fait étinceler un cépage, un terroir, une saison. Le chapitre des blancs serait incomplet sans la Douceur d’Automne, où Gros Manseng et Ugni Blanc distillent leurs aromatiques sucrosités. En terre de Gascogne, les rouges savent faire contrepoint aux bouquets des blancs. L’Éclat de Tannat, bien structuré, se glisse d’abord en robe de rosé dans le bal des cépages. Puis il vient corser l’histoire en prenant le caractère trempé d’un Tannat Réserve que voisine un Merlot en belle robe rouge soutenue. L’élégance est de mise dans chaque cuvée, avec une touche d’attention féminine que l’assemblée des Armagnacs vient soutenir de leurs caractères profonds et ambrés. Enfants de la Ténarèze, ils expriment un fruit plaisant et complexe qui sied également aux Flocs de Gascogne de la maison. La suite de l’histoire fait honneur à d’autres délices comme le Cassagnoles Orange, une voluptueuse liqueur d’agrume. Elle se conclue enfin en gourmandises, avec les fruits rafraîchis et confits aux saveurs d’Armagnac dont Laure Baumann a tout le secret.

http://domaine-des-cassagnoles.com/


Domaine des Cassagnoleslocaliser Situer sur la carte
D931
32330 Gondrin

telephone 05 62 28 40 57